We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for our wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de France
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blantyre
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Thank you for our wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a must see place in Blantyre. The owner is probably the biggest attraction in the city, the food is superb and the accomodation is a whole lot better than the other places we visited. The price-quality is excellent. The view from the restaurant/swimming pool over Blantyre is spectacular. The swimming pool is immaculately clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
14
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here twice and both times was made very welcome. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is always tasty and generous portions. Evening meal great too.
Its nice to sit out by the pool for breakfast.
Reasonably priced rooms and I will return again sometime.
Also not far from Blantyre city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophieLiverpool_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel is basic though scrupulously clean with very good food and fabulous views accross the valley from the pool and garden drinking/eating areas. It is decorated with French posters and nick naks in addition to the owners piece de resistance - national flags - these are hung by your table at dinner by the highly entertaining owner Michel.

I have to say that Michel and his Italian wife turn a good but vin ordinare establishment into a really fun experience. Highly engaging and very upbeat we were made to feel most welcome and looked after.

In addition when we told Michel that we had a problem with our truck (we travelled overland from the UK) he pulled out all the stops - calling his friends to find us a reliable mechanic.

If you sense of fun is fully intact you really should treat yourself to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week in the fall of 2009. This place is good value for money. The rooms are comfortable for the price. The location is good for those driving and acceptable especially if using public transport. The breakfast portions were amazing generaous and healthy. Service was outstanding. The owners sure know how to make guests at home. There is a flag for every country and you can have one at the table during a meal! Am planning on going back in March of 2010 and I will sure stay here again. Well done "Frenchman" & hats off to the local employed at the hotel for their humble and welcoming demenour. One has to watch the step into the bathroom and the water tends to drain slowly - so, please take short showers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here for a month in July/Aug.

Good points:
- Food at the restaurant is fantastic!! Granted we only ate the steak if we ate there. But definably good food for a good price!
- Owners are very pleasant and happy to help. Workers very polite and courteous too. (Especially Charlie!)
- Dogs looks scary but are really friendly!
- The monkey visitors in the trees were awesome!
- The place was secure and always felt safe.
- Pool area kept clean and tidy. Very nice (just wish it was hotter to use it more often)
- Room was good. We had the large studio on the corner (Room 1) with the kitchenette. - Cleaned well. any problems or if you need anything - they'll sort it for you. Good TV.
- Many people have commented the towels and bedding. Yeah it wasn’t 5 star bedding or towels but they never claimed a 5 star hotel! You get what you pay for I say!
They weren’t new but they were clean – if you’re so bothered bout that, bring your own! It’s cheaper than a travel inn in the UK so get over it!
- Theres an area to do your own (hand) washing (which is quite the novelty – at first lol) nd there is an laundry option for a small fee.

Bad points:
- A little too far from the city centre, was under the impression it was closer – could be a good point if that’s what you wanted.
- The Wi-fi was extra, and it wasn’t cheap either. 8,000mk for a week! (£32 = £128 for the month - quite an unexpected cost) Didnt work in the room either.
- The “gym” is not what you’d expect. Yes there is gym equipment but they’re not exactly worth getting excited about.
- Although the resturant has good food, the lighting in the evening is quite dim. Potentially romantic but i travelled with a colleague, not my partner so not for me really.

General points
- The wifi connection and electricity (which is the same everywhere in Malawi) is temperamental – that’s not their fault but it’s worth knowing!
- The pictures of the rooms are quite misleading. As various pictures are displayed on the websites of the rooms are not clear of which rooms the pictures are of as some of them are very different. Perhaps it would be worth updating the pictures with an accurate description of the rooms.
- Beware of the rip off taxi drivers!! Alex is one! There’s a good one called Unita or William.
- Make sure you buy set of candles when u go to shoprite or peoples... you'll need them. Bloody escom!!!

Tips for the budget traveller!
Check out Chiguni Hills in Limonde national park (rather than Muvu camp), its rustic and perfect for budget travellers. If u’ve got money and want luxury go to Muvu, if u was a good laugh with interesting people check out Chiguni (and you must get a minibus from Limbe to limonde and try the bicycle taxi!! Mucho fun!!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

I visited Blantyre for work, and due to a lack of space in the business-oriented hotels, I stayed at the Hostellerie de France. The hotel is well kept, with dedicated owners, and has great views when sitting at the patio. It's also reasonably priced. It's an old building, and furniture is dated, but that was not a problem. For business-oriented stays, it is good to know that it does not have phones in the rooms or a business center. It's also a bit removed from the center of the city (10 minutes by car). It has wifi paid by card on the standard Malawi skynet. The hotel only accepts cash, so it's good for travelers to be prepared.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tailor001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

This is a wonderful establishment, which I thoroughly recommend to any visitor to Blantyre. We have recently arrive, after 8 years in Zimbabwe, and were welcome with open arms by the proprietor, Michel, and his wife. They have been enormously helpful in getting us organised.
I do not think that there is any comparable gesut house in Blantyre: it is the only place that is both excellent and reasonably priced. The ambience is great, the rooms are fine, and the food is delicious French cuisine.
We plan to stay in Malawi for many years. We will return here frequently: both ourselves (for the food) and our many visitors, to whom w will recommend this as the only place to stay....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helpful52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 3 in Blantyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 19 in Blantyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#5 of 19 in Blantyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de France

Property: Hostellerie de France
Address: Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie de France is only situated 2 minutes drive from Blantyre City Centre just off Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road. The House is set in tranquil spacious gardens with fantastic views and a large swimming pool salt water and Spa. On offer B&B: Executive room ,70us$, standard room 50/60 us$,family room 100 us$ B&B (4peoples), self catering:Flats 25/30/40/50 us$, Apartment 100 us$2 bedroom (4 people) ,apartment 130 us$ 3 bedroom (6 people) restaurant,bar,gym and Conference room.wifi, Bus at 20 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostellerie de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De France Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing