We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel In Malawi bar none”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, WA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best Hotel In Malawi bar none”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Travel in central Africa can be hit and miss but the Ryalls in Blantyre is right on target. The African Hardwood in th desk in the room was so beautiful I wondered if It would fit in my trunk. After weak water pressure at other locations the bath was beyond luxurious. The 21 Grill though Cher was a throw back to the colonial era in presentation, service, preparation. Not the Mount Kenya Safari Club but close.
Caters to travelling Governnent and NGO's and the prices reflect European per diem rates

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YawarMailku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    122
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
13
18
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Protea Ryalls is an excellent hotel in terms of quality of rooms, the location and the facilties. Food and speciality resteraunts are also one of the best in Blantyre. I moved here from Sunbird Mount Soche due to the bad service in Mount Soche. While room quality, food was much better, the quality of service suffered from very poor quality. We were lucky enough to speak to the maanger of the hotel who helped us with the services.
There was a billing error - overcharging for the last 2 days of my stay. Got away again, due to the manager's intervention

  • Liked — Quality of rooms, food
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirayuwadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I stayed at the Ryalls twice within a week, different rooms but within the same category.

I have nothing bad to say about the first stay, although the rates are quite steep given the destination and also compared to the local competition (US$ 215 and US$ 200 per night respectively).

The hotel is clean and the rooms are of a reasonable standard, probably best compared to your average Holiday Inn.

An o.k. buffet dinner will set you back by a further MWK 3,200 (approx. $ 23) which is good value for money by European or American standards. Please consider a small tip for the buffet girls who prepare the fresh food for you. I think they deserve it.

The second stay was blighted by the attitude of the reception staff, which for Malawi came totally unexpected. If you have been to Malawi in the past, you will know how friendly and generally cheerful people there tend to be (if you haven't been yet, I urge you to go and experience it!). I was using a debit card to pay and, unlike a couple of days earlier, they insisted on full advance payment, telling me rules had changed (!). The check-in process and later dealings with the two ladies on duty was marked by a complete absence of friendliness. The final straw was their announcement that they would charge a phone call for a taxi to my room. Come on now, seriously!

I leave it to you to judge whether I was too particular, but for the sort of money I paid I expect good service and a smile. A complaint to the Duty Manager resulted in a written apology assuring me the matter had been taken up with the staff concerned. A complimentary bottle of wine was thrown in.
Oh, and a broken light in my room was fixed as well.

Finally, I attach a photo of the bathroom for your amusement. While my first room was perfectly o.k., I can only assume the plumber was drunk when he installed the toilet half-way underneath the wash basin. May I suggest that if you are over 50 and/or over 200 pounds and you are not a contortionist, you check out your bathroom before you accept the room ...

Notwithstanding all of the above, the Ryalls is probably still the top place to stay in Blantyre.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeflonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Protea is a great hotel to stay at in Blantyre, it is beautifully set up and the rooms are very comfortable. The decor of the entire hotel is really excellent. I loved their breakfast and I found their coffee to be a great start in the morning. I got my hair done at the hotel because they have a lovely hair salon in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. Blantyre is a very nice place but Malawi is a very poor country so it is a bit disheartening to stay at such a lovely hotel that is gated to see how poor a lot of Malawians are. I was there on business and found everything at the hotel to be very efficient and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in Blantyre.

  • Liked — The breakfast was fabulous
  • Disliked — I could not find anything wrong with this hotel
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Everything about this hotel was good from the staff, to room quality to accessibility, there was nothing to complain about. For me there is only one choice in Blantyre andit is this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

From the pictures on the website I wasn't expecting more than a clean business hotel, but this is a really terrific place. Very well maintained, modern, beautiful finish in both the rooms and all the public places - quite a bit more 5 star than I expected. The bar is beautiful and the breakfast is good and abundant. I can't find a fault with this place - really beautiful and compared to prices for this kind of hotel in other places it's very reasonable. Blantyre is full of life and is a great city for a visit - I was there for business, but would love to have had more time!

Helpful?
7 Thank peewoddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#5 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Address: 2 Hannover Avenue, Blantyre, Malawi (Formerly Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls)
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the central business district of Blantyre, the commercial capital of Malawi, Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls is perfectly suited for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. This district has become the financial hub of Malawi and the hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. The hotel accommodation is spacious, elegant and comfortable, comprising of air-conditioned and en-suite rooms, with satellite TV amongst its facilities, as well as up to 500MB free wireless internet access per day. Protea Hotel Ryalls is the most technologically-advanced hotel in the country - the hotel for any result-orientated executive. After a hard and stressful day, you can either relax at the pool or work up a sweat in the Fitness Centre. Blantyre Sports Club, just down the road, offers the use of additional sporting activities such as golf, tennis, squash and bowls. Wining and dining facilities are available in the hotel and in town, plus an ideal venue for conferencing and banquets, offering world class facilities unique to the Malawi market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing