We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a true 4 star hotel. The staff was generous and helpful. They went out of their way to help when someone fell ill and we needed some complex plans made. The hotel dinner & breakfast was excellent. They served a mix of western and local foods (including bird & grasshopper).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beany_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed our dinner , breakfast and our Malawian theme night buffet .

Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is great. I am a business traveler, and it was what I expected and more from this hotel. My luggage was lost for days, and the front desk was very helpful in advising me where to go to get by. I very much recommend this hotel. Bonus, it has a great restaurant right next door.

Room Tip: The elevator is broken in October 2013, so get a room close to the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback.

We are glad that we meet and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My two months in Malawi had tribulations, and the only way out of Malawi was to take a bus from Blantyre to Lilongwe, (since the domestic air connection between the two cities went away with the recent bankruptcy of Air Malawi.) I decided to first spend a therapeutic night in a really good hotel -- and this was a great one. The Protea was spotless, the staff courteous and professional, the restaurant awesome. The decor was understated elegance, with many historical photos from the colonial past. The Protea took my international credit card (first and only time I used it in Malawi) and the National Bus station was half a block away, downhill, so my morning escape to Lilongwe was painless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback and we are extremely happy you enjoyed everything that PH Ryalls has to offer.

We do our best to make sure that the history ,heritage & the story of PH Ryalls is always maintained and accurate , we are glad that you enjoyed the historical photos.

Thank you for your support, we look forward to seeing you again in the future .

Regards
Mischa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a decent hotel in the centre of Blantyre, and I can imagine that its the best, but its not the cheapest (about £100 per night). Everything works - internet, swimming pool, fitness room, bar, tv - but nothing is outstanding, and everything has a glitch (internet is slow, pool is on the wrong side and surrounded by concrete, etc). Given the history of the hotel (evident from the artefacts and pictures) the atmosphere is bland. The only outstanding feature is the breakfast, which is fit for 3 kings. So this is a safe option, but a couple of months later and you will be struggling to remember what it was like.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls.

We appreciate your feedback on the areas that need to be worked on, it really assist us in striving to improve our product so that we can maintain excellence and consistency.

We are glad that you enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The rooms were clean and spacious. The food was excellent, a good combination of continental and Malawian cuisine. Staff were friendly and courteous. The surroundings were also very pleasant, a good combination of old charm, and modernity. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Blantyre, for any purpose, as it is centrally located, and easy to find. A must for everyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. We really appreciate the positive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed all of our services we have to offer at PH Ryalls.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future .

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Protea Hotels Ryalls is a very good hotel, with clean rooms with very friendly front desk staff and potters. They food is very good as well - a mixture of western cuisine and Malawian traditional food. Each time i have gone to Malawi for business I have always made Protea Hotel Ryalls my home away from home. They just need to continue retraining their staff in the latest trends in customer service as some of their staff were found wanting - particularly the waiters in the 21st Grill restaurant who I find to be rather casual in their service delivery to customers.
The gym attendants also need to be well trained as they were never ever present each time I used the gym.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipango M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls & the 21Grill. We are very happy that you enjoyed your entire stay with us at PH Ryalls and that you experienced all of what we have to offer.

We really appreciate the feedback it really assists us in striving to improve our product so that we can maintain excellency and consistency always.

Thank you for your support, we look forward to seeing you again in the future .

Regards
Mischa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Mount Soche, where service and food were both excellent, but decided one evening to try dinner at what was supposed to be the best restaurant in Blantyre. After standing around unattended for about 10 minutes, we went up to a waiter asking for a table. Another 10 minutes passed until we called someone over to order a drink. Ten more minutes, we called a 3rd waiter over to ask for a menu. We asked him to not leave, we will order immediately, but he was not willing to do so. Called waitress no. 4, by now starving. We ask for some bread and give our order. 10 minutes later I got up to take left-over bread from another table. Having specifically asked that there should be no onions in my meal, we start waiting an hour - my food arrived, covered in onions. No apology. My worst restaurant experience ever.

Room Tip: I cant comment on their rooms, but suggest you avoid the place and stay at Mount Soche - great servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Illse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Restaurant.

I sincerely apologies for the experience that you had. Would you be so kind as to email me a contact number or email address so that I may personally apologies for your experience you had and to get more detailed information about that night.

Regards
Mischa : mischa@proteamalawi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.4 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#3 of 6 in Blantyre
106 reviews
0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lilongwe
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 19 in Blantyre
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#2 of 19 in Blantyre
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls

Address: 2 Hannover Avenue, Blantyre, Malawi (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls)
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range: $191 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the central business district of Blantyre, the commercial capital of Malawi, Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls is perfectly suited for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. This district has become the financial hub of Malawi and the hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. The hotel accommodation is spacious, elegant and comfortable, comprising of air-conditioned and en-suite rooms, with satellite TV amongst its facilities, as well as up to 500MB free wireless internet access per day. Protea Hotel Ryalls is the most technologically-advanced hotel in the country - the hotel for any result-orientated executive. After a hard and stressful day, you can either relax at the pool or work up a sweat in the Fitness Centre. Blantyre Sports Club, just down the road, offers the use of additional sporting activities such as golf, tennis, squash and bowls. Wining and dining facilities are available in the hotel and in town, plus an ideal venue for conferencing and banquets, offering world class facilities unique to the Malawi market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing