We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Blantyre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunbird Mount Soche
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Blantyre”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

5 nights in September 2013. Decent room, good restaurant, clean but a little small. The only hiccup I had was on check out when the front desk was confused about whether or not my company had prepaid. Isn't that so irritating? But overall worth staying if you are in Blantyre. Right in the heart of town so easy distance to all offices, and amenities, but still good sound-proofing. For where you are it is pretty good service. Helpful staff mostly, especially in the restaurant. Security good with a guard on every floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gam8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
9
4
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Prime location, cheaper than Pretoria but not worth the money. Value for money is near to zero. Rooms are small. Hardly any space to move inside the room. Restaurant Food is overpriced. But they give frequent upgrades which is good. Hotel is safe. Staffs are responsive and reliable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in Blantyre with a great restaurant and courteous staff. Order the local fish and nsima dishes and try the locally made watermelon sorbet. The rooms are ok and the service is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I arrived at this hotel after a fairly long drive. The reception was very nice, well lit and clean. The receptionist were welcoming and friendly and we were shown to our rooms and our luggage taken up to the rooms by the porters. The rooms are not very big but its not a deal breaker. The linen was clean and towels were nice and soft. Housekeeping was very quick - i asked for an iron and within 3 minutes it was there. I stayed one night here but didn't have dinner in the hotel. Breakfast was very decent - a nice spread and everything looked fresh. Gardens were lovely. The no free wifi was a downside especially in this day and age when wifi should be free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Average hotel within city center, gardens at the back with a small swimming pool.
Rooms are not spacious if you demand a lot of that. Traditional food and and a decent bar in house with parking facilities

Only let down like ALL other Sunbirds i have visited, NO INTERNET provided by the hotel, the independent supplier of wi-fi sometimes does not have the tokens! can be a let down especially for business oriented traveller

Room Tip: get a room facing the gardens not the city if you love the garden, and they are quieter. go with hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel room was comfortable and my room had an incredible view of the sunrise if you are up early enough. Breakfast was good and I cannot think of anything they could do better. The trip from Lilongwe to Blantyre was a good introduction to Malawi where bicycles are the preferred mode of transport and the road is in excellent condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed one night here on a business trip as the Protea Ryalls is being renovated. Room was ok, fairly small, but did the job. Swimming pool was dirty when I used it, but if cleaned could be quite pleasant. Breakfast buffet is included in the price, but beware, coffee from the espresso machine is not, I asked for a cappuccino, which took ten minutes to arrive and when it arrived was bitter to taste and watery. Was then presented 5 minutes later with a separate bill for it, when I questioned why I was not told about this before, or why there was no sign up the waitress just shrugged and wandered off. For the price Sunbird charges they need to up the game.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the back side, they have a better view. Higher up is quieter, but ensure the lift is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85-East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Up Guesthouse
Home Up Guesthouse
#6 of 20 in Blantyre
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Mount Soche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Mount Soche

Property: Sunbird Mount Soche
Address: Glyn Jones Road, Blantyre, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Mount Soche)
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Mount Soche 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunbird Mount Soche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Mount Soche Hotel Blantyre
Sunbird Mount Soche Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing