We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!”
Review of Mount Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Pleasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at Mount Pleasant Inn for four nights. It is a small guesthouse where you are treated like family. Nothing posh, but very decent and incredibly inclusive and friendly. Nothing was a problem. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Food was like home cooked, nothing fancy but very good. Ordering something that was not on the meny was not a problem, either. Cook Patricia made perfect Curry on request! The owner gave us plenty of good advise and lots of interesting stories along the way, and he was even our guide on a safari trip. What a treat! If I go to Blantyre again, I would not ever dream of staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HWitsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are looking for an all-singing, all-dancing plastic bar and flashing light experience then this is not the place for you. If however, you are looking for excellent friendly service, where nothing is too much trouble, clean rooms, comfortable beds and good food then look no further. All staff from the manager to the cleaners go out of their way to ensure your stay is pleasurable whether they be serving you your meals or picking up your laundry everything is done to a high standard of excellence. I first stayed here in September 2006 for work and this was my first visit to Malawi. It was an experience I shall treasure for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious with comfortable furnishings. All equipped with full nets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuttytartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Nothing is too much for the team at the Mount Pleasant. I often had to ask for breakfast before it opened and dinner after it closed and every request was confirmed with a smile. Would stay again.

The accommodation is of a good standard by Malawi standards and it is well situated for many local amenities.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed at the Mount Pleasant Inn for 3 nights. The hotel is a more like a lodge/ huge colonial house with 10 rooms. The rooms are huge with verandas, TV, aircon (in some rooms) and a common internet PC close to the lobby.

The check in was smooth. The housekeeping was pretty good and attentive. If there was anything lacking it was fixed immediately with both Peter, the manager, and owner being very hands on.

The bathrooms are huge!

The food was good. Since it is a small hotel they are more than willing to go beyond the menu to please you. The staff are so helpful that one day a couple of business associates landed up after dinner hours were over but the staff went out of their way to prepare and serve drinks and dinner with smiles on their faces never letting us feel that we were imposing on them in any way.

The place has a swimming pool and the manager is more than willing to arrange pick and drop to town.

Since I am a frequest traveller Mount Pleasant Inn was a refreshing change from the routine hotel experience and I hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: The new wing has air con though it was very pleasant weather when I was there and never flt the need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justanomad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very good accommodation. Excellent Food. Very nice place for business and family relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Him C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A colleague and I stayed here for three nights earlier this month when we were in Blantyre on business.

The cost per room was US$117.50, which is high for what one gets but is, relatively speaking, a bargain compared to the room rate of US$222.00 for the Protea Ryalls.

The Inn was very clean but the rooms are somewhat spartan, although some evidence of upgrading is there. However, the air-conditioning did not work and there were also problems with the TVs and the 'phones.

We ate breakfast once (my colleage then confined herself to a bowl of cereal thereafter), It was adequate, but although jam and honey were advertised on the menu, we were told that "we have run out".

Peter, the manager on duty, on the day we checked in and was extremely professional and helpful. However, his woman colleague, who appears to alternate with him, was supremely lethargic.

There is a driver available but when we booked him to take us to Casa Mia Restaurant in town one evening, he did not know where it was and kept on driving around talking to himself - presumably seeking to find inspiration as to just where this restaurant might be. (We eventually ended up at 21 on Hannover because he had driven past it more than once. (This restaurant was very good - much better (and cheaper) than the restaurant in the adjoining Ryalls Hotel, by the way)).

Averaging out the service, we would therefore only rate it as average.

I appreciate that Malawi is experiencing all sorts of challenges at present, but, given that Blantyre is the commercial centre of Malawi, we expected more of the Mount Pleasant Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siamcat1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blantyre hotels
1.8 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#3 of 6 in Blantyre
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 19 in Blantyre
26 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#2 of 19 in Blantyre
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Inn

Address: Staffordshire Lane | Off Leslie Road, Mount Pleasant, Blantyre, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mount Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing