We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm!”
Review of Leslie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blantyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leslie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In Leslie Lodge, Lynne and Ray have created a most hospitable and beautiful B&B. Set away from the city centre, the Lodge enjoys total privacy behind high security gates, and no road noise.
The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, and the shower a dream! Breakfast scrumptious, the star being a freshly baked muffin. An evening meal is offered during the week, but at weekends there's a tasty restaurant just around the corner.

Both Lynne and Ray were most helpful; I found Leslie Lodge to be a rare treat, and incredibly good value. I wished I could have stayed longer!

Tony Clarke

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Leslie Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for a week -a mixture of business and pleasure. Through the electric gates and we could have been in Surrey -apart from the warning sign for wandering duiker (small antelope), 2 of which roam the well maintained gardens. Our room (No 7) was immaculate, decorated in shades of blue with its own private courtyard, kitchen area (with tea & coffee making facilities, table & chairs, flat screen tv and plenty of storage space. The large bathroom had a shower cabinet (with excellent shower) as well as a bath with shower attachment. Insects are kept away by mosquito nets and plug-in repellent.
Lynne & Ray (the owners) ensure attention to detail with Eva (an excellent cook) and Frank on hand to help in any way. Evening meals can be ordered Mon -Thurs -they are excellent & served in our room. There was always a delicious home-made soup, main course with organic veg and ice-cream dessert. Breakfasts are taken in a separate building and are mainly continental -fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts etc -although Eva will cook whatever you want.
If you need laundry doing, it's very reasonable and beautifully ironed.
A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Would think all the rooms are good -only know No 7.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

In all my travels, Leslie Lodge is the best I have stayed at. With it's warm and friendly atmosphere, it is easy to unwind after a busy day. I particualary enjoy the the privacy of your own garden off each room. The dining room and food is five star and the owners Lynne and Ray are welcoming and hospitable, making my experience there a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for any room, they are all excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I travel to Africa a few times a year and this is one of the best places I've had the pleasure of staying in. Nice fresh breakfast, large room where you can spread out and have room to work. Largest fridge I've ever had in a room.The water pressure was better than at home!

It is so rare to find a place where someone actually cares about the aesthetics of the room. Simply beautiful. Had one very minor issue with the shower and it was resolved in under five minutes. Try to get that kind of service in a hotel. I plan to stay there each time I'm in Blantyre. Can't recommend Leslie Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I am a young woman who travels to Malawi often for business, and I found the Leslie Lodge to be a wonderful place to stay. It's location is great, and it provides a peaceful and comfortable place to stay and to work in Blantyre. The lodge is a welcome break from the impersonal chain hotels, and the owners are accessible and friendly without being overbearing. I had plenty of space to work comfortably in the evenings. I'll definitely stay at Leslie Lodge on my next trip to Blantyre!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5, I believe, which had a great space for working. Also, the internet was incredibl...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

An attractive, English style house in a lovely part of Blanytre. Large, well furnished, clean and homely rooms. Good breakfast served by the lovely Evie. Leslie Lodge also provide dinner if requested. Lynne and Ray are very helpful.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a small lodge across from the medical college and a mile or so from Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Medical professionals doing work at the hospital or medical school often lodge here for short stays as do others in town on business. This establishment is a little like a large bed and breakfast with beautiful grounds and landscaping. The rooms are very nice with usual amenities. All have television, many have a microwave/refrigerator/ stovetop. All are air conditioned. Internet is available with an extra charge. Security is good. There is one decent restaurant down the main road, but not much else to walk to. Other places will deliver though. Leslie serves a nice breakfast and dinner can be served if you request it. You will need to drive to the downtown for other items. They do have an automobile available to rent for trips around Blantyre. There is no fitness center or spa. Over all, a better value than the hotels and much more charming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.0 mi away
Hotel Masongola
Hotel Masongola
#2 of 2 in Zomba
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leslie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leslie Lodge

Address: 2 Leslie Road | Mount Pleasant, Blantyre, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leslie Lodge is a highly reputable12 bedroom, well-established luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge located in the heart of Blantyre. It is 1.5kms from the Centre of Blantyre, and walking distance from the College of Medicine and Queen Elizabeth Hospital. It is more than your average bed & breakfast, as our aim is to create a HOME-AWAY-FROM-HOME environment. You can start off the day with an excellent fresh continental breakfast with cooked breakfast available to order. You can relax and unwind upon returning to your en-suite fully furnished room with your very own private patio and garden, with a fully stocked minibar, WIFI Internet access and DSTV satellite channels on offer. 10 of the 12 rooms even offer self-catering facilities. With lunch & 3-course evening meals available, Leslie Lodge is the ideal choice for both business professionals on short or long stays, and tourists on the go. The professional staff aims to attend to your every need in a relaxed, warm environment and hope to help you start the day right at breakfast and unwind after a busy day in the evening. The property is surrounded by luscious, tropical gardens that create a peaceful relaxing environment, and are even home to a pair of beautiful duikers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing