We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent service and value!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'm right now about to leave Casa Mia after another superb visit! The Lodge has nice comfortable rooms, the restaurant is one of the best in Blantyre, and probably in the whole of Malawi, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The English breakfast, included in the rate, is good.

The owner, Peter, is just the best! This time around my suitcase did not arrive at the same time as me. Peter took care of everything, and arranged for the suitcase to be collected at the airport when it arrived.

The pool area is a very nice place to rest after a long day working or sightseeing in Blantyre. Enjoying the sunset at the pool is highly recommended!

There are some minor issues - it can take some time to get the right temperature in the showers, not all the rooms have a fridge, but that is not really important.

I've stayed here four or five times now, and I will return again and again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
17
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This has been the third time that I stayed at Casa Mia in Blantyre while on a business trip. The rooms are spacious and neat and the sleep quality is good. The food from the very popular restaurant is very good and the coffee excellent! the full English breakfast is also very good value for money - included in the B&B rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay at Casa Mia. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and clean. The food was outstanding, both the dinners and breakfast. The staff were relatively helpful, although a bit slow in service. You do you have to pay for internet access. Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa Mia is a fairly small B&B with a busy restaurant. I got good service from reception and housekeeping but quite variable service from the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner - some good and some poor. My room was fine with nice dark drapes to keep out the early morning sun. I made use of the pool and pool deck and have no complaint about this area, unlike some reviews.

It is located somewhat away from the city centre. Since I did not have access to a car, I had to use a taxi or walk 10 minutes. As a white person, I felt a little nervous walking even during the day.

We had great expectations of the restaurant but were disappointed. Only the calamari trio was good - everything else was mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SesterGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed fourteen days at Casa Mia, and enjoyed it thorughly. Great food, good, clean and nice rooms, nice little pool (should have had a shade or two and cleaner sun Chairs :-)) the staff was service minded and pleasant and made our stay Worth remebering. We really felt welcome at Casa Mia and will not hesitate to give or best recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Casa mia for two nights. The place is well located close to Blantyre business centre and Hanover str where you can find restaurants and shops. The food at the lodge is good and not too expensive. The rooms are a bit small but there is a nice pool (with no shade though). There is wifi but you have to purchase internet cards to use it - although the price is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks very much for your review, its really appreciated. As rule our rooms are about 25sq mtrs, but 2 of them are a little smaller. We are about to start expanding our lodge to 20 rooms and those will all be larger. We really try to be affordable and also offer a great standard and we are so pleased that you appreciate this. Be assured that we value all revues and will continue to try to exceed expectations. Thank you so much!
Cathy
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived from Lilongwe on Friday evening having booked a room for our family of 5. They were very accommodating in their email to us and said that we could all fit into one room. When we arrived however the room was not prepared and we had to request the kids' bed to be made. When we asked for a mosquito net the staff were not very willing to oblige. After about an hour of saying we will not sleep there if all the beds did not have nets, they reluctantly provided one and my husband screwed it to the ceiling. At $150 per night for a queen size bed and a 3/4 sleeping couch I expected nets. So we did complain and a very nice gentleman, Gracious, gave us an additional discount.
The bed was comfortable. The bathroom clean and shower very nice. No mosquito nets on the windows. Lots of mosquitos in the room. Aircon was efficient. Floor mats not clean. Bed linen crisp white and clean. The gym that was advertised on the website consisted of a bike and another machine which were both worn and dusty standing in the sun next to the pool. Not in a state for use. The poolside bar and furniture around the pool was extremely dusty and the sunbeds were dirty. There was no bar service around the pool.
We had a good stay but we expected more from the website.
The restaurant was excellent. Some of the best food I have had in Malawi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We take our business very seriously and pay attention to all our reviews, good or not so good. However from time to time we do get reviews that are not contructive/correct. We must therefore respond appropriately.
At Casa Mia we DO NOT have family rooms niether are they advertised on Tripadvisor or our website. We can accommodate a child sharing with parents and we would normally charge half the lowest room rate for this.
In your case at the time of booking you indicated that your youngest child could share your bed and so we initially agreed to charge you MK64000 ($164) and we offered you a 10% discount bring the total to Mk57600 ($147.60) for 5 guests ( average $29.52 per person including breakfast) At checkout because of your complaint I authorised another 10% discount bringing the total to Mk51840 ($132.92 or $26.59 per person)including breakfast
During this time of year we always fumigate for mosquitos, and in fact this was done within the week that you stayed with us. Although the rooms do have mosquito nets, nowhwere on our literature does it say that they are there. Most people find that they are not neccessary as the rooms are airconditioned.
Before the rains is a very dusty time of year, the pool area and pool are serviced at 7 am everyday, i am sorry for the dust, but we are surrounded by trees and if the wind blows, of course dust will fall.
We do not provide poolside service or room service as a rule, however if you ask, our staff are always willing to assist.
Finally regarding the issue of floor mats not being clean. All rooms are serviced everyday. i think it is fair to say that if there are children running around the garden and pool, small feet will muddy the carpet. Afrter you had checked out we did give the room a thorough spring clean.
I do wish you had raised your concerns at breakfast after your first night, when it would have been much easier to address and rectify where appropriate. We still thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blantyre hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
1.3 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#5 of 20 in Blantyre
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Home Up Guesthouse
Home Up Guesthouse
#8 of 20 in Blantyre
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Kabula Hill Road, Blantyre 3, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia offers accommodation, conferencing and a first class restaurant. Situated in the heart of Blantyre we are a stone's throw from shops, banks and other amenities. Our well trained staff will do there utmost to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Lodge And Restaurant
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing