We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation & great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation & great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Functional, clean, well equipped (DsTv, pay-as-you-go WiFi, powerful aircon) room. Basic bathroom with shower in bathtub. Nice outside sitting area,. Great breakfast selection and excellent restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Make sure to confirm rate upfront as it seems to fluctuate on a daily basis?!

Room Tip: Room 10 windows face courtyard (= noise from neighbours and no privacy when curtains are open).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello there, thanks very much for staying at Casa Mia and taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had a pleasurable stay and enjoyed our restaurant.
I would like to explain on your comment about the room rate. In fact a couple of days prior to your arrival we had a price increase on our room rates. The Malawi Kwacha, being a soft currency, is depreciating rapidly at the moment, meaning that it is difficult for us to hold our prices locally, if we wish to maintain standards. Therefore, we, like many hotels locally, have chosen to use a hard currency like the USD, our website and TA does quote this way. It is quite likely then that the room rate in Kwacha could change reasonably often. (In May this year $1 = Mk198, today it buys you Mk315) I think you can understand the problem. If you are paying by credit card or in forex, usually you will benefit, as we are always behind the bank quoted rate.
Having said that, I know you raised this issue during your stay, I did check your booking and found that we quoted in Malawi Kwacha. I instructed the reception to hold the price which you were quoted, and this I think they did.
On the tip, you made for other travellers, your point is noted and I have already arranged to have some shear curtains fitted to obscure the view from outside.
Once again, thanks for the review and for staying at Casa Mia, it was our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    57
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
18
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have done my fair share of travelling and have worked within the hospitality industry for over 10 years. I have experienced everything from silver service, rosette standard food to 5 star hotels which at times makes me quite a hard customer to please or impress. I have stayed at Casa Mia several times over the past few years and have truly seen the restaurant and lodge go from strength to strength.
The food is fresh, very well presented and of top quality, which is prepared by a team who obviously have a passion for great food and service. The dining experience, whether it be dinner in the restaurant or breakfast on the terrace is always fantastic.
The accommodation is very good and of a high standard. There are spacious, well furnished and comfortable rooms that are all well kept. The rooms have all the usual amenities as well as air conditioning which is gladly welcomed during the hotter months! In terms of location it is perfect for business and just as good for a quiet getaway. Close enough to everything you need in Blantyre yet out of the way enough to get some peace from it all.
Peter and Veronica Curtis do a superb job at Casa Mia Lodge and Restaurant which is great value for money and always a pleasure to stay at. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. They should all be very proud of Casa Mia! I will definitely be staying again and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Well spread out and all the rooms a good with the same high standard. Closer to the pool in the hott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harriet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow, everybody at Casa Mia will be blown away with this review, thank you so much! All of us at Casa Mia try so hard to do a good job and this makes it all worth while. The fact that we are not so big ensures that we can give our best to all our guests. At the same time we are developing the business to be the best in a very competitive market.
Once again, thanks very much for your kind review and assure you that we will not rest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights in September 2012 at Casa Mia Lodge in Blantyre, Malawi.
Booking and communication by e-mail with the lodge before our arrival was easy and quick.
Our room was spacious and clean, with coffee and tea making facilities.
Breakfast: good and plenty.
Location: short walk from the city center. Beautiful environment!
Wi-fi in room was of good quality. Price: 2200 Mk (ca 7 USD) for 200MB and Mk700 (ca 2 USD) for 50 MB.
For dinner at the restaurant, try mustard brushed grilled tilapia! Delicious!
Everyone in the staff we met was helpful, informative and friendly.
The morning we checked out we had to catch a bus to Harare, and Peter drove us to the bus rank.
The kitchen staff had prepared breakfast boxes with easy to handle sandwiches, fruit and water for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripsQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We also thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests, All the reviews that we get are printed and distributed to all the staff, including the guards and gardeners. We love it when we get positive reviews and use it as a motivational tool on the occasions when we don't get it quite right. I hope all went well on your bus trip to Harare, in fact you helped us there, as it motivated us to get more info on the coach services and prices.
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Casamia is absolutely home away from home, actually more than home. I have gone around many places and eaten different kinds/dishes but its only Casamia where I found a unique menu. Its food is so delicious, serving superb and the environment is so nice that I never thought one could get a nice accommodation right close to town and yet so quiet. After dinner you now experience the very best affordable rooms in the city. It’s indeed value for money. Now with the swimming pool added it adds more beauty and fun. Peter and your team, you are really doing a great job.

We love casamia, we love their food and we love their service and best accommodation right in the city of Blantyre. Definitely Casa is the place to be while in the city of Blantyre

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Situated near to Blantyre city centre, this is a small, well run restaurant with rooms. I have travelled and eaten extensively in Malawi, and I can honestly say this is the best food I've ever had. Peter and his staff take local, seasonal food and use their imagination to make wonderful meals. The included breakfast is diverse, delicious and plentiful, we didn't have lunch, but dinner was also refreshingly varied and comparable to any good restaurant in the UK. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. There is a sparkling pool, and best of all the staff are very accommodating and helpful. We fed back to Peter about lack of lounging space, and he has told us he is shortly to get sun loungers by the pool. All in all, very comfortable, great food and a really friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your review, and your positive feedback. we are all so happy when guests enjoy their stay at Casa Mia.
A bit more feedback for you, the new sun loungers will be delivered this week and we are about to finish the changing rooms/bar by the poolside. more recent guests are now enjoying the pool, with the warmer weather we are having.
Once again thanks for the review and we hope to have the pleasure of you visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The last time I was in Malawi was in 2009; I wasn't expecting too much owing to the recent trials and tribulations over the past few years. However, working outwards to inwards I found the country in pretty stable condition. Fuel prices had levelled out, the exchange rate was good (450:1) using the carlsberg green index that's about 66p a bottle. There was also a couple of luxury buses leaving Lilongwe to Blantyre and back twice a day for (5000/6000/7000 MK). Blantyre Sports Club looked in good shape and the greens at Limbe were very good. All in all the infrastructure wasn't in bad nick. There were a few problems with load shedding and water, which wash't helped by the water board strike but things were looking up. Now to the inward bit, I stayed at Casa Mia in Blantyre and I can assure you will not find better service, food, selection of wines and accommodation anywhere between Nairobi and Jo'bourg!! The accommodation I would class as a British 3/4***/****. The highlights for me was breakfast time sat on the veranda, the smell of fresh coffee watching the tropical birds dance in and out of the pond. There is no place like it in Malawi well worth a visit even if it's only for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have used Casa Mia Lodge in Blantyre as a base for conducting business. High quality & value for money facilities to host business meetings - quiet first class surroundings and very close to the central businss district, so it's easy to get to the lodge from the centre of town. Their varied menu offers options when entertaining clients and business contacts - they have a special quick business lunch menu which is great value for money & ideal for people with not much time for lunch. I'd recommend Casa Mia Lodge to all business visitors.

Room Tip: rooms near the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
96 reviews
150.1 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Kabula Hill Road, Blantyre 3, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia offers accommodation, conferencing and a first class restaurant. Situated in the heart of Blantyre we are a stone's throw from shops, banks and other amenities. Our well trained staff will do there utmost to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Lodge And Restaurant
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing