We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Good clean, comfortable accommodation in Blantyre with the bonus of an excellent restaurant. Also very helpful staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing Casa Mia, we try very hard to make sure that everybody has a comfortable stay with us and its very reassurring for both Management and staff when we are appreciated in a very positive. If you think we can improve in any way please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

A week in Casa Mia was very pleasant - and much better - and better value - than where i previously have stayed in Blantyre.
The room was just right for my needs - and the food in the restaurant was very good too. All the staff were every helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBMCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Casa Mia the "hotel" is a group of rooms tagged onto the restaurant which is reputed to be one of Blantyre's best. For $85-100 you don't get much beyond the basics so manage expectations. For anyone wanting anything remotely luxurious, you will have to look to Mount Soche. While the dinners/lunches in the restaurant were nice (some starters were excellent) the breakfast was quite dissapointing. The management is very responsive either via email correspondance or in person. As accomodation, it does not pretend to be anything more than what it is - rooms joined to a restaurant which is clearly the main show. Manage expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you very much for reviewing Casa Mia, your input is appreciated and we will endeavour to improve our service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

just one of these places that do pay attention, really nice, keep it up!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

spent 4 nights at Casa Mia. great little place with very friendly staff, excellent host Peter, that will accomodate all your requests. definitely be back again.

Room Tip: take a room furthest from the ice machine
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Many thanks for your review, it is very important to us. Rest assured your comments are noted and acted upon, we already had a similar comment from another guest last week, and have taken measures to move the offending ice machine.
Thank you and best regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Very good value for money, cosy quiet rooms (except #1), great affordable food, friendly staff - my favourite accommodation in Blantyre

Room Tip: Do not take room #1 - it's close to a noisy ice-making machine. Deluxe (=Standard rooms) are al...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thanks very much for your review and comments on Casa Mia, we appreciate your taking time to do this. Your point about the ice machine is noted and in fact we have already made plans to relocate it nearer to the kitchen, where the noise will not bother guests of room #1.

Once again, thanks for the review and for choosing to stay at Casa Mia, you are always most welcome.

Kind regards
Peter Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We took a wedding anniversary weekend break in Blantyre while working at a hospital elsewhere in Malawi, and had heard good reports of Casa Mia - and its restaurant in particular. They were entirely justified.
Anyone who has travelled in Malawi will know that restaurants, friendly and keen though they may be, are pretty limited in what they can offer. Not many get beyond chicken/beef/chambo (fish) with nsima/rice/chips. Casa Mia could survue in central London, such is the quality of its menu, its cooking and its wine list. It is owned by a British couple and their chef is Malawian (though trained in the UK). Incidentally, don't assume it's Italian - the menu is more French!
My wife and I had an excellent meal by any standards. I had calamari rings in a chilli vegetable sauce, followed by a mouthwatering sirloin steak and chips - perfectly cooked. My wife had home-made prawn ravioli with mussels, followed by a prawn risotto. We concluded with chocolate fondant and pannacotta. We chose a Nederburg Pinotage 2007 from the excellent wine list (MK4,500), bringing the total cost of the meal to MK14,500 (around £60 for the two of us). We went back for more the following evening and ate almost as well. And the service is great - friendly (as Malawi always is!) and skillfully professional too.
This place must be unique in Malawi. Don't feel guilty that you are eating imported food - sadly, that is the reality if you want something different. Buy local for the rest of your stay, but go for this while you can!
The rooms are pretty good too - clean, well appointed, en suite, with (limited) satellite TV - we lay on the bed and watched Wimbledon - and tea/coffee making equipment. Pricey but good.
We shall return - it really is exceptional. Don't even consider anywhere else in Blantyre!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank smog32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikwese, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you very much for the positive review that you gave to Casa Mia through Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. it is always useful when we get feedback from our guests (whether positive or negative) This helps us to rectify any problems and boosts moral when we get a pat on the back.

Once again thank you for the review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future

Best regards

Peter Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Kabula Hill Road, Blantyre 3, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia offers accommodation, conferencing and a first class restaurant. Situated in the heart of Blantyre we are a stone's throw from shops, banks and other amenities. Our well trained staff will do there utmost to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Lodge And Restaurant
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing