We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steakhouse in town”

21 Grill on Hannover
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in town”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A nice, quiet, intimate setting with soft local musicians playing on the weekends. I had the Jack Daniels steak and it was stunning. For starters I tried the crispy prawns which I really enjoyed. I dined alone once or twice and the staff were attentive and yet not intrusive. A good variety on the menu so as not to get bored.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the full dining experience more than once that 21 Grill has to offer.

I’m glad you enjoyed the Jack Daniels Steak and Crispy prawns both are favorite dishes of mine.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    90
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good night out with a colleague”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having been in Malawi foe six weeks I was desperate for a decent steak and I was not disappointed at Grill 21. I had the Grill 21 Special - grilled sirloin medium rare and that was exactly as it came. Presentation and service was really good. Wine complemented the steak perfectly. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. We really appreciate your positive comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed the 21 Grill sirloin and wine.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are other alternatives”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have eaten there a couple times and I can unfortunately say that my satisfaction rate has been only 20%. Although the setting is stylish and quite, it will not be my first choice of restourant in Blantyre. The food on most occasions has been very average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill.

We appreciate your feedback , it really assists us in striving to improve our product so that we can maintain excellence and consistency.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Usually 5 Stars but one disappointment this time!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

21 Grill is usually an excellent place for lunch and especially dinner with excellent food and service with a lovely spot to have a pre-dinner drink. Nice to get there a bit earlier than your booking so that you can have that drink! On this occasion the chicken I ordered was not cooked through and my wife ended up eating her dinner before mine was returned. On its return the chicken was not recognisable as the same as I had sent back. The veggies were missing as well and when I asked for them I received a fraction of what I originally had. All in all, most disappointing. That said it is an excellent restaurant and we will most definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill.

We appreciate your feedback on the areas that need to be worked on, it really assists us in striving to improve our product so that we can maintain excellence and consistency.

My apologies for the chicken dish.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dining experience!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

21 Grill is definitely the best restaurant in Blantyre, if not Malawi. The seting is fantastic and the food is good. The quality is better than most other restaurants but you can be dissappointed if you are a frequent traveller and accustomed to really high fine dining standards. You are bound to receive friendly service with a smile but be prepared to pay for it. The wine list is quite extensive and expensive but most times be prepared to settle for your second choice or whatever is available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed the full dining experience 21 Grill has to offer , we strive and work hard to maintain consistency and excellence.

Thank you for your support we really appreciate it.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Grill on Hannover also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to 21 Grill on Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing