We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance”

21 Grill on Hannover
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The food here is divine and the portions are a good size. We had some wine too with our meal. It really can be rated as a 5 star restaurant. Service from waitrons was also very good. I rate this restaurant very high, food, decor, ambiance, service levels - all first world. When we went it was Greek night, so it was a little full but eventually the crowds tapered off. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed the full dinning experience 21 Grill has to offer , we strive and work hard to maintain consistency and excellence.

Thank you for your support we really appreciate it.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    93
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great restaurant with a great ambience. Food is very good, although expensive, but portions are also of good size. Attentive service, will be back asap.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 85-East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill.

We are glad that you enjoyed the portion sizes and the attentive service.

We appreciate the support and positive comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The food here is very good, the service is also very good. The drinks however are expensive. The setting is sophisticated though you could be anywhere in the world once you step inside the door. I highly recommend it for the food alone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill.

We appreciate the support and positive comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost there”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The decor and the ambience in this place is second to none. The food,however, has some catching up to do. The menu I was given was tattered and falling apart. The food was decent and well presented. My wife liked the grilled tilapia, but my steak was dry and chewy, and the greek salad was ordinary at best. The whole experience was, as they say, nothing to write home about, but we'll be back to try their other menu offerings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmithC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. I apologies for the steak being dry and chewy. We will work on the points raised so that we can improve to make your dining experience a more memorable one when you visit us again.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esch
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the best place in blantyre, but...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

nearly fine food, but nearly only... In every dish, there was at least a disapointing point. Servicing time very slow in a nearly empty restaurant. This is severe but anyhow out of the 5 or 6 places I tested in Blantyre, that was the most satisfactory.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hentou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mischa L, General Manager at 21 Grill on Hannover, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at 21 Grill. We appreciate the feedback and we will work on the areas mentioned.

Regards
Mischa Lehner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Grill on Hannover also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to 21 Grill on Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing