We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food.... Overpriced”

Hong Kong Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 50 Restaurants in Blantyre
Restaurant details
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible food.... Overpriced”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The waiters are very sweet and friendly. The owners however don't seem to care. The food is greasy and not full of flavor. The only saviours are the sweet n sour chicken and ants on the tree. Bathrooms are awful with PINK toilet paper n a smell. Overall not a great experience and NO value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraM0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubmanberg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Quality”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Although the staff was very attentive and sweet, my husband and I have tried on a couple occasions; once because we'd never been there and once because we were asked to go out and both times the food was VERY poor quality. We tried different meal choices both times and both times were extremely disappointed. The food was extremely greasy and the taste was awful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed results overall a winner”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place I have used only as a takeway, on three occasions. It has a large seating area with plentiful and attentive waiters. The meals are good sizes, always a winner with men and my personal favourite is the chicken with macadamia nuts. Can be up & down in terms of food quality but overall a definite winner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dark and greasy”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Outside it looks nice... but it is all about greasy food in a very dark room... service is good but the chinese food was far from being ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food OK but tried the 'we've got no change' trick”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The place is well located, has some atmosphere, plenty of parking, etc. but the menu was uninspired the food just OK (not fresh or crisp) and when it came to paying the bill though I only needed a few $ change (1,000MKW in local currency) they tried the sorry we have no change trick to extort cash. I was alone and I think it was a try-on. It took a lot of insistence to resolve this to my satisfaction. I question their honesty.
OK to get fed not suitable for a celebration. Watch the bill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Restaurant also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to Hong Kong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing