We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Morondava
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez maggie remote river expeditions the owner swimming pool his wife seafood food was great our honeymoon air con laid back watching the sunset south african wine bar restaurant a lovely place to stay stayed for one night day trip white sandy beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 388 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We staid there for 3 nights and enjoyed the place. Though it may have known better days, the place is well run with a nice and beautifull garden close to the beach where you can go by feet (although the sea is not at its best in that area due to strong currents and a closeby estuary). The swimming pool is clean and nice, the team smiling and the restaurant serves a good dinner or lunch whilst the breakfast is good by Madagascaran standards.
A nice place to stay at and Garry the US owner is a nice chap, very knowledgable on the surroundings, as far as the Tsiribiniha and the Bemahara tsingys.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stéphane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

I'd give the setting a higher rating than the rooms - stone paths, good shaded seating, nice view of the ocean, but I found the rooms and food both fairly mediocre for the price. Granted, everything nice(ish) on the beach is a little pricey, but we had a room twice as good for half the price across the street (but no beach access!) Friendly staff, helped organize ride up to Tsingy - it's more expensive going through them than places in the center, but they also felt more organized. Didn't regret paying more to ensure we left on time.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kuruma135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

we stayed at Chez Maggie for two nights. first of all the place itself is really nice and homey, there are plants everywhere and a really nice pool with beach chairs around it. there is a path to the beach straight from the hotel and couches on the way, were my husband and I watched the sun set on the water. it's obvious that the whole place is taken care of and there is constent upkeep, all the chairs and sofas were being cleaned when we were there.
The bungalow we stayed in (no. 14) was charming and big. the bed was huge and comfortable (it was the first night my husband actually managed to sleep for 8 hours straight). The bed had a nice net covering it. The room and bathroom were very clean.
the food in the restaurant was amazing, we are vegetarian and they were willing to make anything that met our needs. my advice is to order in advance and schedule a time to come for the meal, the food was served to us very quickly that way.
above all that, the manager and staff are so nice, caring and friendly. our flight from Morondava to Antananarivo was rescheduled and we could not get on the earlier flight, the manager right away suggested the express taxi-brousse to Tana and even went to buy us the last two tickets that were available. they even ordered a taxi for us for 4am without us having to ask. above all, they prepared a very very early breakfast for us, so we could manage to make sandwiches before we leave. it was obvious that they really wanted to help out of thier kind heart, and they did way beyond what we could ever ask for. thank you!!
Even though our flight was cancelled we had a great weekend in Chez Maggie just hanging around, eating and walking on the beach. we really recommend staying there.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gcraimer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We stayed here twice - before and after our Trip to Grand Tsingi, and got 2 different rooms. Both comfortable, but that was about the only similar trait! I like the individuality here, the sense that nothing needs to conform to a set style.
The beach was very close (outside the back gate) & the sea was warm. The owner, Gary, told fascinating stories and the food was good. Overall, I enjoyed the experience.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettabedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

After an exhausting trip to Tsingy and Kirindy, this hotel felt like heaven. The rooms were very clean, the shower was hot and strong and the bed was sooo cozy! Also, we had an amazing crab for dinner and enjoyed the sunset right in front of our bungalow... Can't get any better than that!!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews