We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Morondava
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez maggie remote river expeditions the owner swimming pool his wife seafood food was great our honeymoon air con laid back watching the sunset south african wine bar restaurant a lovely place to stay stayed for one night day trip white sandy beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 388 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Staying 4 days here. Have made some arduous road journeys in Madagascar, and this is a very laid back town in which to kick back. If you are after the bright lights and glitz, it's not your bag, but it reminds me of some of the oases we used to come across after hard travel years ago. Comfortable, given the location. Warm and welcoming. Beautiful seafood and delicious food. Well stocked bar. Spacious rooms, very clean and neat. Pool and room to relax in a lovely garden. Recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DianaL167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Initially planned to stay a few nights, ended up staying for a week!

We had bungalow 11 just behind the restaurant which I believe was one of the smallest ones (other bungalows had 2 floors) but it was great still; clean, mosquito net over the bed, warm water for showers, powerful fans so not too hot during the day etc. Wifi is mainly in the restaurant area but it does stretch to some of the bungalows nearby.

The staff at Maggies are lovely, Bobo (Michel) and others speak french but Gary the co-owner is american which was handy for us. Very helpful when arranging onward travel to antanarivo etc.

The food was amazing (try the crab gratin!) as was the drink selection. We found a nice spot just in front of the beach at the end of Maggie's property, a blue bench with shade from a tree, and had many sundowner cocktails there highly recommended! Good spot for sunbathing too as nice breeze coming in from the beach.

From this spot we could hear/see a couple of goats further down the beach (not owned by Maggie's) so for any other animal-lover guests: the goats appreciate having their water bowl re-filled and a bit of TLC!

Overall a lovely place to stay and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We stayed at Chez Maggie for 2 separate nights, in room 1 and then a few days later in room 5. Room 1 was our preference, 'the hobbit house' as we nicknamed it! In the case of both rooms, the bathroom was disappointing. Rooms seemed dated, although were clean. A mosquito net in both rooms but no safe in either.

The food was mixed, some meals of a good standard and others less so.

The owner Gary, was friendly and chatty and made us feel welcome. Good proximity to the beach. WIFI available in the bar area only.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic_p7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2016

We stayed only one night. Small rooms, little night light, lack of fresh water. The price is high compared to what they give, and at the last moment they charge 5% more for taxes. The restourant is expensive and the breackfas costs double than elsewere.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcapulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016

A little slice of paradise is a good way to start. Super cute hotel, with winding paths, friendly staff smiles and very unique rooms. This is no Holiday Inn - expect the creatively unexpected. The food was the best I had in Madagascar (get the Spaghetti and Crab). The owner, Gary, and his wife were extremely hospitable with stories to tell. The beach is close, the sunsets are INCREDIBLE and excursions are a few hours within reach.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanclarkdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews