We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez maggie remote river expeditions the owner swimming pool his wife seafood food was great our honeymoon air con laid back watching the sunset south african wine bar restaurant a lovely place to stay stayed for one night day trip white sandy beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 388 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2015

Gorgeous little place with well appointed large rooms. Food is basic but fine. Good wifi connection in lobby area. It is located right on the beach, so can go for a walk before breakfast in the morning!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComboIsl, Owner at Chez Maggie Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Greetings from Morondava and thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. Very glad you enjoyed your time with us. FYI: We're happy to report that we recently added several WiFi repeaters and the signal now reaches more of the property and garden areas. Thank you and we hope to see you again at the Chez Maggie. Best Regards, Gary & Baholy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Chez Maggie is a very nice little hotel in Morondava and our stay there was overall good. We spent there two nights, one in the bungalow and on in chalet n.3. Mainly due to the electricity shortages that are unfortunately common in the area, I must say that the bungalow is much more enjoyable. With its simplicity and the way you can control how to air the space, even without air con, we had a really good sleep. The chalet instead gets much hotter without air con, and made it harder for us to control temperature when the electricity went down.
Unfortunately, on the nights we stayed the restaurant was missing the most traditional dishes and therefore we opted for eating elsewhere, but they do very nice fresh fruit juices and we did enjoy watching the sunset from the seats by the beach. The WiFi is free, but it it much faster if used by the common areas.
The staff was helpful and they were very understanding when we had to cancel one night due to Air Madagascar related troubles.

Room tip: From Chalet n.2 you can see the sunset by the sea, but for the reasons explained in my review I would recommend the bungalows.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Super_Gilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in Morondava, one here and one at Sun Beach Hotel. Can easily recommend Sun Beach over Chez Maggie given the similar price bracket.

Arrived to find all windows/doors of hut open. So, the giant cockroach that I woke up with on my face at 5am may seem somewhat expected (we did have the bug net secured around our bed, so not sure how it got in. Bug net does not zip up). The rooms were dark once the windows were closed (no fly screens) and we could barely see anything at night. Compounded by the fact that there was a water and power outage when we woke up (we had been warned about the electricity outages). The shower had a tiny stream, would be insufficient to wash long hair. Also, the drain was not draining properly and I found myself standing in a pool of gross shower water. Furniture was old, towels were thin, small and smelt bad. No safe in room. No pillows (only two cushions), bedding was 2 sheets only.

Wifi adequate, not fast, worked only around restaurant. Pool was murky. A glimpse inside the restaurant, which was continuous with the outdoors, was enough to stop me ordering any meals. Admin took a long time to respond to emails.

Positive things - no charge for airport transfer. Essentially beach front, but beach had human poo everywhere.

We understand the is Madagascar, but given the price of this accommodation, a lot needs to be improved.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MariaN232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015

Hotel is on the beach and has a nice view from the back. Room #4 was decent however the air conditioning worked only half the time (it can get very warm and humid). No electricity or water in the morning. Food at the restaurant was basic (very few options for vegetarians). There was a foul smell (sewer) near the restaurant which made it uncomfortable. Staff was very friendly. Wifi was excellent and worked only at the reception. Hotel is on the pricier side for what you get in Madagascar. Therefore I believe it's overrated.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillemLeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We stayed at Chez Maggie 2 nights. The hotel restaurant was very good and the included breakfast also good. Although power was interrupted because of unreliable power in the town, the hotel has a generator to provide power as a back-up. The pool was very nice and the room was a suite, clean and quiet with air-conditioning (only on municipal power, not on generator which is typical in Madagascar.)

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank calypso1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComboIsl, Owner at Chez Maggie Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the positive comments. We hope the rest of your time in Madagascar was great and the trip home smooth. And of course we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Gary & Baholy / CM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews