We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Morondava
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
129
63
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez maggie remote river expeditions the owner swimming pool his wife seafood food was great our honeymoon air con laid back watching the sunset south african wine bar restaurant a lovely place to stay stayed for one night day trip white sandy beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 388 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2015

We slept in a beach hut. The room was very small, we could not fit our bags into it (not if we wanted to reach the bed) and had to put some in the bathroom. The bathroom smelled like urine, was relatively clean though. The front window kept opening in the middle of the night, with an unpleasant breeze blowing through it. The mosquito net had holes in it (with 2 mosquitos inside of the closed net), and, worst of all, there were like 50 small insects walking on my bed. I didn't sleep all night and was so happy that we only had to spend 1 night there. The pool is dirty and I can't imagine swimming in it. The beach itself is nice, but the "private" beach is overgrown with plants and the furniture is worn out. In fact, everything looks worn out.
Diner was good, the owners come to personally welcome you, but it felt anything but spontaneous. Breakfast was poor, but comparable to other hotels we stayed at.
There's free wifi.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie_DBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015

The room was not very clean. The sleeping arrangement is ridiculous with the double bed crammed into a low ceilinged loft. The food is not good. The staff seem to be untrained. The service is extremely slow and although only a couple of people in the dining room we only received our meal about 2 hours after ordering. We mentioned our dissatisfaction to the wife of the owner, whereupon the owner reacted in an extremely unpleasant and irrational manner. We changed hotels after spending only the one night.

she ignored us, but the owner

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights before and after a tsingy trip. The beach bungalows are nice, set in a lovely garden with ample relaxation areas and a pool. The bar/restaurant is nice, food was good, especially the seafood (prawns were massive!). Free wifi worked well but it in the bar. Located on the beach but the fenced beach area was a bit overgrown with shrubbery, it's nicer to sit in the gardens.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed here two nights and had a really nice time. The bungalows have a lot of character and it's right on the beach so very easy to sneak out for a swim or walk on the beach.

The food at the restaurant was amazing and everyone was very friendly. The hotel is also along a busy strip so it's easy to walk out and sample other restaurants along the road as well.

We didn't get a chance to check out other hotels in Morondava so there may be nicer choices, but we really enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

I stayed here for one night only after a long and sweaty day at Kirindy Forest and a sunset drive through Allee des Baobabs. Arriving here as it was dark already, having a long shower and nice dinner felt like real treat!

The atmosphere at Chez Maggie is very friendly and chilled, and all staff were courteous and professional.

The bungalow was clean, comfortable, and spacious.

I only had one dinner here, and food was delicious. Wi-Fi works in the restaurant area only.

Chez Maggie is right on the beach, which I only saw early in the morning, while the locals went about their business (fishing, mostly).

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews