We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean,well located and great value hotel with helpful hosts”
Review of Le Sun-Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morondava
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Sun-Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morondava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel has a really good location: very close to a very beautiful sand beach, close to downtown in a walking distance. The owners help you to arrange any kind of daily excursions / tours around Morondava. Food is great and offers Latin American wines in addition to the local and French ones. In Madagascar, it is difficult to get confirmation thru internet; but once you interact with Sun Beach Hotel , you get an immediate reply back.

Room Tip: make reservations earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ufuk_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently had 4 days to spend in Morondava. Based on really good reviews, we initially chose the Chez Maggie hotel, but we were really disappointed (very overpriced, dark bungalow, terrible service in the restaurant, room never cleaned - lots of small things, but all added up and should have happened given the standard they promise and charge for!). I then looked around to see where we could move. I visited the Palissandre (nice, but pricey!), Baobab Cafe (very expensive, but darkish and can be smelly from the nearby river), Trecicogne (similar to Baobab Cafe, but slightly cheaper) and Renala (very nice! and good value too - worth a look). In the end I went to Sun Beach as it was by far the cleanest and neatest of them all. I also paid only 40,000 Ariary (low season) per night for a double room, which was by far the cheapest of all the hotels I checked.

The hotel is situated very close to the beach, has a pleasant bar.restaurant and a bit of garden. There is laundry/drying facility (which we used and it was very efficient!). The rooms have Air Conditioning, which worked very well. Very clean and modern bathroom with hot water and strong pressure. There is no swimming pool (not that I would ever need one, given the amazing ocean on your doorstep).

Overall I found it the hotel all you could possibly want and the price I paid was better than expected, so a great deal there.

P.S. There are amazing pomegranate trees in the garden!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank kemot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank nosybarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oceanmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jpgcarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank vivianatorakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Sun-Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sun-Beach

Address: BP 22 Nosy-kely, Morondava 619, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Morondava
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morondava
Price Range: $25 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing