We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel in Morondova”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morondava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Although pricey compared to the other accommodation in the area (€100 a night including breakfast) it is really worth it. Clean, spacious, beautiful bungalows with amazing bathrooms, fridge and aircon. Each one has a spacious verandah and faces the sea. Highlight for me was the beautiful pool where you can lie and watch the ocean if you don't feel up for the 50 m walk to the sea. Very quiet. Helpful staff who speak English, after some days of roughing it it was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertraveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Palissandre Cote Ouest Hotel is absolutely the number one in Morondave for me! We've had a very good experience, from start (welcome - calling us to see when we would arrive, if we needed transportation) to the actual stay. The bungalows are lovely, and the A/C is very welcomed in December when it's actually really hot.

The swimming pool is one of the best features of this hotel, and no other hotel in Morondave has a pool this size and quality. The food is good but you may not want to have dinner at the hotel each night (we went for Bed/Breakfast) because of the prices. For the price of one bottle of wine you can have 4 meals in the nearby restaurants, Its location is good, walking distance to many tasty restaurants. Seafood ofcourse! Do not miss the Cafe Coleur Local, Chez Alain or the Baobab cafe on the Mangrove site.

We took a trip in a Pirogue with a guide through the Mangroves, made us feel like being in the Everglades, Almost, ha ha.

I would stay here again, have perhaps one evening meal there and enjoy the other places in the evening!

One little word of caution, Hotel room prices are in Euro but you will pay in Ariary...hotel-exchange rates!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DutchinMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our second time here and we enjoy it immensely. While it is priced at a rather "premium" level, the service and accommodation are excellent. We are here at the hottest time of year but have slept comfortably in the chic little bungalows. Very nice food and close to other nice places to eat. Morondava is a sleepy little town with stunning sunsets and close to the Alley of Baobabs and near some Vezo fishing villages. Our only beef is that the internet is poor, which may be simply a factor of Morondava's isolation. The only other warning is, if you are coming with Air Madagascar, prepare for last minute flight changes. Fortunately the people at Palissandre seem to understand the lack of reliability of their national airline.

Room Tip: Get a seaside bungalow to enjoy the onshore ocean breeze.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night on our way back from seeing the "Tsingy" in Bekopaka. However, it was perfect after the tiring and long journey.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished and the bathrooms are amazing (want to have a shower like that back at home now!)
The restaurant served really good food, however on a windy night its not quite sheltered enough.

The staff were very polite and made sure that everything we needed was well looked after.
Its not a cheap hotel - but its perfect for a one night splurge after a long journey. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a bungalow back from the beach - it gets pretty windy at night time.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Wey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a long drive from Tsingy this is the place to relax. We were only able to stay one night unfortunately and we arrived in the dark with a trek over dark sand to our room from reception. The beach thatched room was excellent all constructed from the beautiful dark pallisandre wood. The bathroom was palatial with an amazing shower where water just disappeared down through the strips of the pallidandre wood floor. Food was served in a friendly restaurant almost overlooking the pool and drummers played as we ate. An early dawn morning start at 5.30am did not mean that we missed breakfast and the transfer to the airport was on time and efficient. Our only misgiving was the way to the rooms through the sand, fortunately we didn't have much to carry. It was quite hard going particularly at night with little illumination.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordOwlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After a long photo session at Baobab Valley or Tsingy trip, if your you re looking for a Hotel to treat yourself, this is the place to stay. Very clean, rooms are next the sandy beach, room service is excellent. Front desk was quite useful to arrange 4x4 drive and a driver for my daily trips.

Stay up early to take wonderful pictures of fisherman and their characteristic sailing boats.

Room Tip: all bungalows has a sea view, air-con, telephone, etc.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Savas-Unsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. There is a flight out of Antananarivo, Madagascar on Saturdays if one wants to get away for a long weekend to Morondava. We had arranged with the hotel for a airport/hotel transfer and wasn't disappointed when we arrived at the airport to see the guy waiting for us. Hassle free drive to the hotel and being greeted with a welcome drink.

It was a painless check in and we were showed to our bungalow that overlooked the beach. Walking through the deep sand to our bungalow was a bit uncomfortable and it did bother me by the 3rd day of our stay.
Surely they can have a footpath made to and from the bungalows? After all we did see a groundsman sweeping and raking the sand every morning and I am sure he could also do the footpaths as well?

The bathroom was large with small gaps on the wooden floor boards for water to drain. A tip here would be to be careful when handling any personal things from the safe that could be small enough to fall through the floor boards. The safe is located inside the closet in the bathroom area.

Turn down service should be done approximately 7pm as it is frustrating when they come around 4pm to shut the windows and put the mosquito net down. This prevents us from making ourselves comfortable on the bed while waiting for sun down and dinner. Yes, we watched the TV through our mosquito nets even after we retired to our room for the night.

Dressing for dinner but then I had to wear flip flops as we had to trudge through the sand to get to the dinning room.The dinner was great. Tasty, well presented meals every evening. Breakfast was good as well although by the time we came in for it the pastries were cold. Cooked eggs as you like them were offered every morning.

Lovely pool but it was too cold to use it while we were there. Lovely view of the Mozambique Channel from the pool deck or from the bungalows.

Hotel can organise the Baobab tour for the evening or a pirogue ( a canoe) to the fishing village. Tip here would be not to give money for taking photos of the people in the village. We found this some what spoilt our tour to the village. They are willing to have their photos taken but then they demand some money for their trouble.

I had a great massage by Asmina.I now wished I could have had a massage every day that I was there!
The staff were very friendly and non intrusive. If you are looking for a relaxing and a couple of tours
then I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request sea side bungalows!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morondava
233.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#10 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maeva
Hotel Maeva
#5 of 8 in Morondava
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cheval De Mer
La Cheval De Mer
#3 of 8 in Morondava
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
Hotel H1 Antsirabe
#4 of 24 in Antsirabe
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antsirabe Hotel
Antsirabe Hotel
#3 of 24 in Antsirabe
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa

Address: Nosy Kely Morondava, Morondava 619, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Morondava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morondava
Price Range: $180 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coast Palissandre in Madagascar Nosy Kelly is located on the beach of Morondava, 30 minutes from the legendary Walk of Baobab trees. An ideal place to relax or to storm Tsingy Bemaraha! The Palissandre Hotel West Coast offers thirty bungalows built in materials from Madagascar: granite stone, rosewood and roof mokotry. They are spacious (30m2) and all have a private terrace with sea view In each room you will find a great comfort in a popular area of Madagascar also declined. Air conditioning, mosquito net, mini bar, bathroom with shower, hairdryer, satellite TV and even wifi. The Rosewood West Coast also offers a nice pool next to the bar and restaurant (whose leader has had several great restaurants in Antananarivo). Enjoy the spa massages, this particular on your return from the long road of Tsingy ... sweet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palissandre Cote Ouest Resort - Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing