We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Lac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lac Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fianarantsoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A very quiet and beautiful place!
It is hard to get there since the road is a nightmare, but if you take the train you will be "delivered" right in front of the hotel.
The food is very good, the rooms beautiful and romantic. We stayed in June (cold season) but felt absolutely fine in this cosy small houses!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara-alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had one of the large, lovely and bright Chalets on stilts at the edge of the lake. It is wonderfully scenic! We dined out side in the lovely gardens and the food was very good. This hotel is about 20 km outside of Fianarantsoa and the road is terrible but we traveled there by train (the unique Micheline) which was itself a scenic adventure. The country side around the lake is pretty and there are several small villages in walking distance as well as the tea plantation.

Room Tip: The small Chalets are dark with little room. The Chalets on stilts over the lake are large, bright a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms to this hotel are of chalet type, many are situated on stilts in a lagoon. Inside they are very dark with very poor lighting, this isn't helped by the large amount of dark wood that is used everywhere. There are other rooms on land but the ones we saw were very small and pokey. The shower in our room was pitiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noonan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

First of all - mind it's not a hotel located in the centre of Fianarantsoa, but honestly I would rather take it as an advantage. Le Lac Hotel, as the name indicates is close to the lake about 20 km by dirt, bumpy road from the city. Bungalows look better from outside than inside, even these on stills are rather simple and ascetic, but neat and clean. The garden is stunning. Actually all surrounding is very peaceful and it's a great idea to wake up early and go for a lakeside walk. Food is great and as local as possible - the keep their own rabbits, pigs, hens and zebus, so you can be sure to get fresh, tasty meat (if you eat some). We didn't see too many mosquitoes, but repellent may be useful. Le Lac Hotel is very close to Shambavy, the only one tea plantation in Madagascar and also Shambavy train station where you can catch the train to Manakara.

Room Tip: there's not big difference between regular bungalows and these on stills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The way to the hotel is a nightmare. The standard bungalows where we stayed in the first night are 1star and that's it, the lake bungalows approach 3* and are much more pleasat. On a tour it is not worth lossing the time to reach it if you have to stay in the standard bungalows.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's one of the best hotel I have ever been to, for its location (by a lake), its chalets, its details, the warm fireplace in the restaurant room and the good food served in the restaurant. Our chalet was so romantic and cosy that we would have stayed longer! And all around a luxuriant garden with so many flowers and plants that I felt like Alice in Wonderland. The whole place is a wonderland, included the restaurant where a fireplace (needed! - it's cold up there in the highlands!) contributes to a confortable atmosphere. Food served at dinner and breakfast is delicious and rich. Don't miss a glass of rhum and, of course, a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiemontePiemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

It is a nice hotel on the shore of a lake in a very tiny village not far from Fiaranantsoa. I chose to sleep one night during my trip on the RN5 in this hotel and was not disappointed.
My stay was fine and it was quite cheap, even for magdagascar's standards.
The bungalows are quite nicely (anmd recently) decorated and kept very clean.
However, I was given a very small room on a tree (yes, a wooden little house on a tree!) which was fine for one night.
For longer stays I'd definitely opt for a bungalow however.
Everything was fine. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fianarantsoa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cotsoyannis
Hotel Cotsoyannis
#4 of 5 in Fianarantsoa
51 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rem Hotel
Rem Hotel
#16 of 20 in Fianarantsoa
4 reviews
11.5 mi away
Three Palms Fianar
Three Palms Fianar
#12 of 20 in Fianarantsoa
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chez Julienne et Patrick
Chez Julienne et Patrick
#4 of 20 in Fianarantsoa
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foret Australe
Foret Australe
#5 of 5 in Ranomafana
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Lac vert Les Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Hotel

Address: | Sahambavy, Fianarantsoa 301, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Fianarantsoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fianarantsoa
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Lac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Hotel Madagascar/Fianarantsoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing