We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
83
63
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
63
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amber mountain montagne d'ambre national park great view one night loved to stay longer large shower daily menu hot water peaceful setting countryside lodge madagascar wifi diego roads nature
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 156 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Close to the National Parc of Montagne d'Ambre, located in North Madagascar this is an oasis in an are where most locals have neither electricity or running water. Each Bungalow is well appointed and comfortable. The main dining area has an extra relaxing seating area for enjoying a libation after spending the day traversing through the park looking for chameleons and lemurs. The staff was very cordial and attentive.

Room tip: ask for a room overlooking the gorge area for the best view.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLION51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Loved every bit of our stay here. Food was very good particularly my vegetarian entree of ratatouille. I would order it again in a heartbeat.
The common areas are airy and beautifully appointed. We loved sitting in the bar area and watching the sun go down. Bungalows are spacious and very clean.
Only complaint is WiFi did not work any of the three days that we were there.

Room tip: Ask for Rooms 7-12 overlooking the crevice. Sadly my bungalow just looked out at bushes that had blocked the view.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank esemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Perfect situation to explore the reserve at the nearby Amber Mountain. The view was fantastic, rooms very clean and food very good. Perfect for a short stopover. Recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quakershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

In Short: it’s okay but I’m not sure we’d return. Accommodation was good but the staff were really really lacking. Read on if you want.
Warts N All: The owner/manager made no effort to welcome you. The two Main girls in the bar/restaurant were so overworked the service ended up pretty poor, and they didn’t seem that friendly to us English. Their manner with the French and German visitors was noticeably more friendly. Ordering food was painful and the daily menu (Once again if you’re averse to shell fish) was really limited. So as usual it was pretty much shell fish or ZEBU - the poor Old zebu does seem to get a raw deal in Madagascar. Prices were fine. Complimentary water in the room. Flushing toilets blah, all good. They proudly advertise Wi-fi but in 3 days we never managed to get into it once! Basically assume they don’t have Wi-fi. The grounds are nice and the cabins functional.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentheredonethatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie R, Manager at Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Hi,
I am the manager of Nature Lodge, my name is Nathalie.
I was on duty during the 2 last weeks at Nature Lodge I thank you so much for your selecting our lodge in Amber Montain.

I am sorry if you felt apart during your stay at our lodge. Ihave nothing against english people. I love your language. We have a good reputation as being friendly not only with french or german but with everybody

We are not used to receive such bad feed back so i don't understand when you noted our place as not clean I verify all chalets to be sure that everything is ok before the guest come, it is why we receive our guest at their room in the afternoon

People coming to Madagascar eat zébu or fish or shrimps . If you are vegetarian you can ask for vegetarian meal, we prepare it very well.

As far as wifi is concerned, when it is cloudy or raining, we do not have network, Joffre -ville is at 30 km away from Diego , we are actually in touch with our network provider TELMA to find a solution about that. we are principally working with this network to be in contact with our principal office where we receive our booking so yes we have network it is not made to upload movies but just to receive and send message to our guest families

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Madagascar and go back home safely,
Kind regards,
Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Amazing views, great food, comfortable and clean.
We were here for one night, would have loved to stay longer.
Nearby Amber Mountain was pretty, great place to hike.
Very welcoming people, lots of places to sit and relax.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews