We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature lodge stay was great!”
Review of Nature Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a wonderful lodge and worth the travel out to it (it was quite a distance from the entrance of the Ankarana Reserve). We were greeted by the friendly staff with a wonderful and refreshing welcome drink that we sipped on the lodge's porch that overlooked a gorgeous lake that was aflutter with birds. Our rooms were exotic. The bungalows are modern with excellent ambiance. You should know that the walls to the bungalows are not entirely enclosed, so you will need to rely on your mosquito net and keep your bags off of the floor and zipped up at night as it would be very easy for critter to crawl in (I didn't see this as a detractor). The food was great and the atmosphere laid back and relaxing. I enjoyed getting up early and watching the birds that flitted around the vegetation on the shore of the pond.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved staying at the Nature Lodge. It was so peaceful and beautiful to sit on your cottage's balcony and stare out at the valley below, and the bays in the distance. The sunsets were amazing. Overall great place and awesome location. The rooms were nice, bathrooms nice, lodge nice. Food was decent, but not anything to rave about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dclemurgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Nature Lodge was one of the best places we stayed in Madagascar and highly recommended. It is a little pricey, but in our opinion, well worth it. The natural setting is superb, situated on the edge of the hills of Joffreville with views all the way down to the sea at Diego Suarez. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and the bungalows are all very widely spaced and private. The whole lodge appears to be very well run and managed. The lodge is about 2km from Joffreville and about 6km from the Montagne D’Ambre national park office.

The wooden bungalows are spacious with huge bathroom areas, wooden floors and walls with lots of windows. They are bright and sunny by day but could use a little more lighting at night as it was a bit too dim to read easily. The lodge has a generator for electricity and it is only turned on from 6-10pm. The weather is so nice and cool at this altitude that fans and AC are not required. The rooms have safes and mosquito nets, but we didn’t even see a mosquito when we were there. The showers were nice and hot. All the bungalows have nice wooden verandas with comfy chairs, drenched in afternoon sun – really an enjoyable place to relax and read a book. The restaurant area is beautifully decorated and furnished and the food served there was quite good. The staff and management were all very friendly and helpful.

We were really impressed with this lodge and would definitely like to come back. We highly recommend this lodge to all travelers looking for a really nice place to spend a day or two. At about $80, we felt it was good value, one of our best memories of northern Madagascar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a basic well run lodge but it has many amenities which others do not such as main lodge for drinks after trip. It has the same limited electricity supply as most places ie only 6 till 10 but there are plenty of sockets to charge cameras, phones, etc.

The lodges themselves are furnished simply but very functional and in good condition. The curtains are very light so expected to woken with the sun if you are a light sleeper. The windows don’t have mosi nets on them apart from in the bathroom so you can’t leave them open to get a breeze without the room filling with flying insects which can be a bit annoying.
There is a good supply of water and most of the time it was hot. At night it is peaceful apart from the dogs from nearby houses barking lots and the cockerel crowing in the morning. When we were there it was very very windy and the Lodge sounded like it may blow away which obviously it didn't but it was very noisy.

The main lodge is a lovely big space with amazing views down the valley and to the sea. The bar and restaurant is here and it makes a good place to have a drink and chill out after your trip in the rainforest and before dinner. They even do cocktails which were quite cheap by uk standards.

The food seemed to vary in quality quite a lot and I would say we have some of the best and some of the worse food here we had on our trip. You have the option from three starters, three mains and three desserts. I don't eat shellfish but there was always something I could eat. All priced 10,000 to 15,000 local currency. They also do lunch here but we didn't have it choosing instead to have picnic lunch with our guide.

Remember it is cooler here than on the coast so a jumper or cardigan maybe needed for dinner dependent on how hardy you are.
They do not accept Visa here but do accept Euros.

We were here in May and it only rained twice both times in the evening so did not affect us.

Location wise it is very close to the Amber Mountain enterance it took about 30mins to get there on some very bumpy roads, 4x4 needed.

Also it is in the middle of nowhere so there is no where else to eat unless you have your own transport to drive to other hotels/lodges.

Room Tip: Lodges 7-12 seemed to have better views down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We like the place. Clean and comfortable. Great views from terrace! Conveniently located, but the quantity of food is, let's say, limited. Go there for nature and relaxation, but not for culinary higghlights. Madagascar has better offers than this hotel when it comes to cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RingoKringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Concept very well realized with a perfeçt balance between the sceneric view, the bungalow rustic but comfortable and the lodge common space and smiling service

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillesMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I did not actually stay here, but I did have lunch here. The setting is beautiful, with views out over the Ambre Mountain forest. It is close to the park entrance, so it is very convenient if you want to spend time in the park. The main building is very nice and well kept. I asked to see a room and it was also very nice. The restaurant serves quality food, with very attentive staff. I wish I had been able to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) hotels
15.1 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
#5 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
46 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
112 reviews
15.9 mi away
Allamanda Hotel
Allamanda Hotel
#1 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Sakalava
Royal Sakalava
#14 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
48 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#7 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
28 reviews
0 mi away
Kartiffa Hotel
Kartiffa Hotel
#8 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Address: Road of Joffreville, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) 201, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Madagascar/Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing