We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, convenient to Ambre Mountain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Lodge
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Great setting, convenient to Ambre Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I did not actually stay here, but I did have lunch here. The setting is beautiful, with views out over the Ambre Mountain forest. It is close to the park entrance, so it is very convenient if you want to spend time in the park. The main building is very nice and well kept. I asked to see a room and it was also very nice. The restaurant serves quality food, with very attentive staff. I wish I had been able to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rivergaro
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Unfortunately I spent only one night here, but I wanted to stay more!
The Lodge is located in a beautiful setting, just in front of the Amber Mountain.
The bungalow are cosy and clean and have a balcony with a great view on the forest.
You can have a nice warm shower after a hike on the park and dine "french style" in the great dining room.
Very good time here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mmwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

stayed only one night but oh, what a view! and cute neon green geckos all over the patio, wonderful dinner with so many nice spots inside and outside to sit that we could not decide, great bungalow and so nice and conveniently located near the park

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

There aren't many places to stay in this area and Nature Lodge knows it, so they rip you off at every chance possible. They charge exorbitant rates for transportation to Amber Park. The cleaning standards at the bungalows were ridiculous - they didn't empty out the trash cans or pick up dirty glasses. I think all they did was make the bed. There is electricity only from 6-10 pm. The views are lovely, but thats about all this place has going for it. Don't bother.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redskins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Spent 3 nights here and thought it was delightful until the end when they expected us to pay in cash! What ensued was nothing less than time wasting and frustrating. Shame

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Rooms a bit spartan compared to others on our trip. Food was adequate but, again, not as good as other hotels we experienced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspiredron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Our stay here was perfect. The beauty and serenity (and amazing views of the night stars) were unreal. The food was really quite good - ask them to pack you a lunch for your hiking in Montagne d'Ambre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliemacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kartiffa Hotel
Kartiffa Hotel
#7 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lakana Ramena
Hotel Lakana Ramena
#3 of 25 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
15.4 mi away
La Belle Aventure
La Belle Aventure
#4 of 25 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Property: Nature Lodge
Address: Road of Joffreville, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) 201, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Madagascar/Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing