We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option, quieter than Rue Colbert but near”
Review of Hotel Emeraude

Hotel Emeraude
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Emeraude
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A good option, quieter than Rue Colbert but near”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staff are welcoming and helpful with local information, travel and organizing tours. The airport pickup is a great service, though the airport isn't very far from town. Diego has a nice vibe, and lots of dining options. The Emeraude is just a couple of block from bustling Rue Colbert and an easy walk to shops and restaurants along it. The Emeraude's restaurant has very well done Vietnamese selections--a nice surprise. Wifi is available but sketchy--best from the breakfast terrace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Clean rooms, good wifi and safes, friendly staff, 5 minute walk to downtown. Above all, quiet location which will ensure a good night's sleep as opposed to other places. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice96236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our group stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was very basic but the bed was acceptably comfortable. The air-con was not strong enough as even the remote control showed temperature at 16 degrees Celsius, the actual temperature felt like at least 26 degrees. There were only 3-4 TV channels with 1 movie channel but all were in French or local language. There was free WiFi at the terrace area on 1/F where the breakfast was also served there. Although the staff spoke limited to no English, they were very efficient and helpful.

Although breakfast was very simple with 1 cup of mango juice, tea or coffee, 1 French baguette, 1 croissant,1 Danish pastry and omlette, they were all very tasty as the mango juice was freshly squeezed and the baguette/croissant were freshly baked and crispy.

Location of the hotel was very near the only shopping street in that town, it was only about 300 meters away and only took 5-10 minutes by foot. The post office was located on the left just before the shopping street started.

We ate at the Vietnamese restaurant next door for 3 meals. Their vermicelli soup with crab meat was excellent but the other dishes were nothing special and the portion was quite small. We once had rice with fishes and it turned out only 3 pieces of grilled fish with size of 1 1/2 square inches each. However, air-con in the restaurant was not strong enough even with all the fans turned on.

We experienced electricity cutoff which happened quite often in this town. The hotel has its own electricity generator but it was not strong enough to support all the aircons in the hotel. For guests staying at this hotel, be prepared there could be no air-con in your room. It was rather breezy at night but you might also be visited by mosquitoes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed four nights here and it was a great place to go on different trips to visit places around diego. it is a nice comfortable hotel with a friendly Manager who will do everything to make sure you have a good stay, arrange transport and even let us use his computer to go on Internet. Ask for a discount as it is a 3 star hotel and we were given 30 per cent discount. Eat breakfast in the cafe next to the hotel as it is cheaper and eat in the Vietnamese restaurant next door, which is really good.
free transport to airport

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juuz_oohllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

One of the pricier options in Diego, the first impression was not that great but the place grew on us. The front desk was extremely helpful and helped arrange excursions/taxi etc in the area. Diego is not a huge place by an means and all pubs/restaurants are within walking distance. The rooms are nice and large but dont expect anything too luxurious or extravagant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucozade_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allamanda Hotel
Allamanda Hotel
#1 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
#5 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Lakana Ramena
Hotel Lakana Ramena
#3 of 29 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#12 of 29 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
16 reviews
3.6 mi away
AR Sun Hotel
AR Sun Hotel
#10 of 29 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude

Property: Hotel Emeraude
Address: Angle Rues Rivault et Gauche, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) 201, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Emeraude Madagascar/Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing