We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood.”
Review of Le Melville

Le Melville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: part of Hotel Allamanda
Reviewed November 13, 2018

Nice food along the sea view.
Had grilled calamar, and it was so nice.
Price is okay. Servers are nice but need to be improved little more.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jpack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Very neat place for a lunch on the seaside. Less impressive at night as there is no view and mosquitoes are on the hunt.
Staff very nice and extremely fresh food, the croquettes de crevettes (shrimp croquette) are the best I have ever tasted! Less impressed by the fried calamari and the Malgasy dish Iva toto(pork with manioc leaves and coco)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MiVaYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is in a lovely situation, with a terrace overlooking the sea, however from 18:00 all you will know about that is the sound of the waves as it’s too dark to see anything.

The staff are nice, the building is lovely, the food is very well presented and fairly priced.

However, you will find tastier food in most of the restaurants on Rue Colbert. But then you will have the noise of the traffic, and hawkers and possibly plastic chairs.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank yachtmasterjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Read the great reviews on Le Melville and decided to go there for dinner whilst visiting Diego.
There location and decor was lovely but we were told we were not able to eat outside even though there was multiple tables free.
We ordered fish and zebu medallions, both were nice but nothing spectacular.
We had the brownie for dessert but it was very dry and didn’t taste like dark chocolate.
The service was ok but our server wasn’t particularly attentive.
Once finished we asked for a taxi to be called to enable us to return to the town centre, as it is quite isolated and not safe to walk at night. She said she would call however we were left standing outside waiting for 20 minutes before deciding to walk towards the town.
It was an overall average experience which was disappointing as it is ranked as the best restaurant in Diego.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank auroraemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

Set by the sea, Le Melville is tastefully decorates and exudes atmosphere. The food is magnificent with best seafood in Madagascar. I will be back

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Melville also viewed

Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
 
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
 
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
 

Been to Le Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing