We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for Beirut” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Riyadh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Looking for Beirut”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

The drive up to the Hotel Mzaar Lebanon Mountain Resort & SPA takes around an hour of cab driving. So it’s very far away from Beirut and only a place to relax within summer times. There is nothing more you can do within the mountains instead of driving with a quad which you can rent.
The hotel itself is very large but also kind of oldfashioned. Like the hotel also the breakfast is very big, but not overwhelming. Going to Mzaar within the summer time is probably not so a good idea, except you really want to sleep and calm down from work. In the winter time I think it will be better, because the place is known as ski resort.
There is still a lot of work to do on the hotel to make it attractive. So also no Internet is included within the room rate, and honestly, even if I hate not having a connection to the rest of the world, I’m not paying 15$ for an hour of a network connection that does not even really works.
Also the room rate was pretty expensive around 200$ a day, keeping in mind that it was off session. A guess it was my first weekend trip, next time I for sure stay in Beirut Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BI-Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    44
    27
    29
See reviews for
76
71
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

The location is wonderful ,, the food was great ,,

Rooms were clean and warm ,, great for snowey weather,,

make sure to book a slope view room ,,

For ski poeple the hotel has its own private ski slope ,,

The only problem that it was a little too expensive ,, but its the only 5 star hotel in the area,,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villebon-sur-Yvette, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Bad ans inefficient service, hotel dirty and old. We booked a junior suite for 3 nights, expected 2 extra beds for kids which were not in the room when we arrived at midnight (waited 45 mn to get them), the door to the balcony stayed closed for one day despite many telephone calls to the reception. Be careful, the cinema only opens on week-ends, and the bowling is closed, half the arcade games are broken and the playground is a shame for a 5 star hotel. Also careful about the list of "room service" as it not updated (had to argue because I didn't want to pay 39.000 LL when the written price was 35.000). Service at the 3 restaurants nice but inefficient. Long wait at the refuge terrasse for 2 pizzas which were given to another table. Good point thought for the big indoor swimming pool, the ski rental shops and the slopes ski slopes just outside the hotel, also for the (very expensive 16.500 LL, 10 USD) sisha while contemplating the mountains . Managers seem only care about the rich saudi clients who don't discuss the bill.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kfardebian hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Great Location but that is about it. This is a hotel in desperate need for the management to get a grip. I am not sure it could be passed off as a Holiday Inn let alone an Intercon property more like a hostel.

Check in - Disinterested, unfriendly and room not ready until 1700 with no apology. They really could not have cared less.

Rooms - we were put in the basement of the annexe, the rooms were dark, cleanish but to an absolute minimum standard(dust in corners, under beds etc), many carpet stains, missing bed head lights, the ceiling was leaking apparently due to the snow melting which had resulted in a huge damp patch with obvious previous repair attempts and in the afternoons there was dripping water from the leak. The management offered to move us on the 2nd night but they failed to follow up by which time we had lost interest, the front desk manager had offered to move us and he said he was "going the extra mile", yeah right for US$500 per night or whatever outrageous price they are charging.

Restaurants - the breakfast is ok if you are prepared to pay US$35 plus per person. The other restaurants are thoroughly overpriced - buffet lunch US$45 plus, a la carte is available but it is expensive. The service is ok but some of the waiters were utterly clueless.

Housekeeping - I am not sure how they have got this so wrong. Our rooms were not cleaned until 4pm(we left the rooms at 0700), the common areas of the annexe were filthy with food ground into carpets, accumulated dust, stained carpets, room service trays uncleared for lengthy periods and stained and scuffed walls. The main hotel was better. Maybe they push the housekeepers too hard or are trying to protect the margin by limiting hk expense but it has spectacularly backfired, the hotel or certainly the annexe is an absolute disgrace.(do they mention an Annexe in the blurb?)

Overall - Either the management team are lacking, there is little sign of leadership or they have it so good that they dont care. Maybe there is a problem between the owner and the operator but whatever it is this hotel falls well below the Intercon standard. I was glad to check out of the place and will never venture back, the problem is of course that apart from the Chalet 11 and one other hotel, its the only show in town and they know it.

If you live in the Gulf and are weighing up staying at this hotel and skiiing against going to Europe and skiing, take the extra flight time hit and go to Europe.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustBinHadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We were told that this resort was a perfect destination for families. And thats what we thought!
As we arrived, we were greeted in a very friendly and professional way. We were given specific insights about what we could do and where to go in the region.
We spent our 1st day skiing as this was the main purpose of our trip. Unfortunately, on the 2nd day the weather was disastrous as there was a huge storm! so we decided to stay in and relax. While my husband and i were enjoying a relaxing treatment in the Spa, our children (6 year old and 9 year old) went at the in-house cinema to watch a latest kids movie. Thenwe had an early dinner at La Tavola, an exquisite Italien restaurant. Our kids went back to the games area on level -1 and enjoyed their time while we were sipping a warm cup of hot chocolate in the cozy lobby lounge. the morning after we had an amazing breakfast (the buffet offered the best selection we've ever seen in a breakfast). Then, we went to have a swim and enjoyed a great view on the outdoor snowy scenery!
Now it is true that the rooms are not cheap but compared to our stay of last year (same time) we noticed lots of added values. Their concierge told us they just went through a full renovation of the rooms, carpet, walls etc... and extended their lobby into a more cozy space. At the end of our stay we booked the same dates for next year as we only come once a year to Lebanon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonyNehme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

This is what bad management does to a hotel that could be nice and probably once was. Everything is run down. In our room, one light bulb was out, one lamp broken off the wall. The walls are scratched, the lobby and other public areas have lots of empty retail space, shops and cafes are not there any more. But the signs advertising them are still there. Take the word family friendly literally - the lobby abounds with screaming kids. There is not a single corner where you can relax, especially if the weather is bad and you cannot go skiing. The food in the restaurant is mediocre, the service is poor. On a Sunday during lunch, the buffet is raided by day tourists and looks like a battlefield. The spa is a bunker without windows. I could continue with more details...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpro289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peralada, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

The initial impression of the hotel was good. This was immediately shattered by the unhelpful and rude manner from the staff at check in. The swimming pool was closed due to a private event, we had not been informed of this, the response was simply 'tough'! a compromise was promised in the form of a free 'Jacuzzi' visit, this however proved impossible to achieve. The accommodation was substandard for a hotel of this star grading. Throughout my 3 day stay, all the staff were found to be rude and unhelpful. The ski resort is excellent, unfortunately its a shame the same cannot be said of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kfardebian
0.0 mi away
TerreBrune Hotel
TerreBrune Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kfardebian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pineland Hotel and Health Resort
0.0 mi away
Merab Hotel
Merab Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kfardebian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Cherry Blossom Boutique Hotel
20.7 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotel - Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: Ouyoun El Simane, Kfardebian, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Kfardebian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the peaks of Mount Lebanon, InterContinental Mountain Resort & Spa, Mzaar is a family-friendly getaway offering year-round recreation. Skiing, snowmobiling, climbing, hiking, biking, rafting and ATV ing join a long list of sightseeing musts such as the Fagra ruins, the Jeita Grotto, the Phoenician temple and the famed Casino du Liban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Hotel Kfardebian
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa Lebanon/Kfardebian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing