We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, didn't feel like a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I got a free one-night stay at the Intercontinental as a wedding gift through our registry. The gift included a Standard Room with breakfast and access to gym etc. Upon arrival, we were told we had been upgraded (we had requested an upgrade if one were available) to a Premium room. We were grateful and excited.
The room itself was disappointing... Having stayed at '5 star' hotels elsewhere, we were expecting a little more. The little touches were there; the rose petals on the bed and a piece of heart-shaped cake. But from the bowl of lifeless looking fruit on the table, to the size and quality of the room itself, it was...anticlimactic. The room was very small and the facilities were not up to the '5 star' standard. All was clean and neat but not impressive and nothing to be excited about. We even had a missing, unrepaired light in our bathroom ceiling. Our toilet in our room was clogged (plumbing in general was a bit iffy). When we informed the management, a plumber visited our room and plunged the toilet while we were sitting in the room... Not very romantic. Normal procedure would be to offer us another room. Especially being that it wasn't high season and the hotel was relatively empty.
Room service was good. The food was well presented and delicious. This was a plus!
We went down to the lower levels for entertainment and couldn't find anyone to open the bowling lanes for us. We went looking and found a man who was almost hiding from us in the arcade alongside the bowling alley. He was taciturn and lukewarm. He obviously wasn't happy about us being there. We paid 20$ for one game of bowling for 2 people. We felt this was a little excessive for a 20 minute game. In general, all extras seemed overpriced at this hotel. This would be understandable if it had felt like a 5-star hotel in all aspects. But the only place we felt the grandeur of the hotel was in the main lobby!
To sum up, the most impressive thing about this hotel was the friendly staff (with the exception of the man in the bowling alley) and good food. But for the prices they charge for even a Standard room at this place, I feel that it's not up to par. I don't feel like this hotel meets '5-star' standards and I think a little more can be done to remedy that. The facilities in the rooms need to be modernized and a little more effort put into decoration in general. Plumbing should be checked as well! Seems like a lot of hype and prestige for the 'best hotel' in the area. We might be happier just staying at a nearby cheaper place that isn't as pretentious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gihan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a business stay for 1 night with a full package of breakfeast, lunch at refuge and dinner at khaymet hour , it is my third stay at mzar , it is very nice hotel to stay in during high season and low season, the view of roses, green everywhere is so nice, as well as snow in high season, it is very luxurious hotel, the breakfeast had everything and have lot of variety, had only disturbance from the ac, it was working but seems the hotel adjusted to a certain degree and felt bit hot but the experience was very intresting , the location for an abroad travelr may seems far from beirut, but who want to have intimacy and calm, it is the right place

Room Tip: we had a room at the 5th floor, the view from there is wow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niss n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am a regular guest at Mzaar since more than 4 years. There is no equivalent for it as a Mountain resort in Lebanon and the whole Middle East area. The environment is very relaxing with a superb garden, a very nice swimming pool and one of the most beautiful lobbies I have ever visited.
Food is very nice and tasty. Staff are extremely nice and helpful. Over the years I have become a friend of many of their managers and they are all extremely kind.

Mzaar is unique and I recommend every one to visit it.

Mazen Rashidi
Beirut, Lebanon

Room Tip: I like rooms 411 & 511 and 316 & 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazen325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just spent the weekend there and well I must say it does stand up to the "Intercontinental Hotels" standards: clean rooms (eventhough standard double rooms can be a bit small), friendly staff and cosy atmosphere..
As I said earlier, the stay is better enjoyed during winter season!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunnyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed there lately for the Eid vacation.

In general, definitely recommended in winter, but not in summer.

Staff: In general friendly, welcoming, and smiling
Food: Didn't try the restaurants there since I preferred to explore nearby restaurants, by breakfast is really good and well-diversified.
Rooms: require renovation. Still have the 90's look and feel. When I made the reservation, I was told that I was given the most premium and expensive rooms since they were the only ones available. However, balcony is soo small and room size is also small. I do not want to imagine the size of the other standard rooms if that was the most premium room in the hotel.
Bed: not comfortable. Instead of giving us a 1 king-sized bed, they gave us 2 queen sized bed joint together, and you can imagine what it feels like when you sleep all night just in between the 2 beds. it's a back-killer.
Cleanliness: In general acceptable i would say.
Outdoor Activities: shooting and ATV are available, but are ridiculously expensive. They should definitely re-consider pricing of outdoor activities in the summer. It just pissed me off how expensive they way.

There is no outdoor pool, only indoors which is also disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HASSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon on August 21. They surprised us with red roses and a chocolate cake upon arrival which we thought was very considerate and generous.

Good: This hotel is a great getaway for a few days, situated up in Faraya away from the stresses of modern life. The rooms are moderate in size and are warm and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is one of the most amazing that we have ever had -- Kudos to culinary team. Ther sevice level is high and the team is nice, polite and always willing to help. Price is very much acceptable

Bad: Room service kept called us in the morning to vacate the room so they could clean. We thought this to be rude. Most other 5-star hotels have a switch which you turn on when you leave the room to indicate that the room is ready to be serviced

We will definitely be visiting for long weekends from time to time

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor, though it had a slanted roof, we do recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonySaouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent one night as a part of our 3rd Lebanon HOG tour . The hotel has a classic style that impressed me, we were more than 250 bikes with everything organized within minutes. Lunch was served to all of us after a long trips on the bikes. Would love to repeat again soon when I return back to Lebanon

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kfardebian
13.7 mi away
Pineland Hotel and Health Resort
1.8 mi away
TerreBrune Hotel
TerreBrune Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kfardebian
40 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mist Hotel and Spa by Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bay Lodge Boutique Hotel
Bay Lodge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 29 in Jounieh
54 reviews
15.6 mi away
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Beit Mery
58 reviews
14.6 mi away
Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: Ouyoun El Simane, Kfardebian, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Kfardebian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Price Range: $190 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the peaks of Mount Lebanon, InterContinental Mountain Resort & Spa, Mzaar is a family-friendly getaway offering year-round recreation. Skiing, snowmobiling, climbing, hiking, biking, rafting and ATV ing join a long list of sightseeing musts such as the Fagra ruins, the Jeita Grotto, the Phoenician temple and the famed Casino du Liban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Hotel Kfardebian
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Resort And Spa
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa Lebanon/Kfardebian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing