We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Okay”
Review of Madisson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madisson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Jounieh
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall Okay”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Well, this is my first time at this hotel. The hotel exterier looks more like an apartment building than a hotel, but once inside it, it looks more glamorous like a hotel with shiny marble floors and and decorative walls.
The female staff at the reception are not friendly at all. I found them rather cold and hostile (not nice for a so-called 4 star hotel). The male staff however were generally friendly and accomodating. They kept making jokes and laughing with me.
The hotel overall is not bad, but the food is less than average considering that Lebanese food in general is simply delicious regardless of which country you come from.
The gym is very small, and I never saw the sauna or steam workin. You have to turn them on before you enter (probably because I was there in the low season). The pool was also almost always closed and empty (sometimes before the official closing time).
The room was generally comfortable and nice, but the bathroom did stink (something to do with the sewage pipes I think) and there was a yellowish stain on the inside of the toilet bowl (gross). So were the carpet floors of the room which had what seemed to be either cigarette burns spread across several areas of the floor or simply black mud stains-again something I did not expect to see in a 4 star hotel.
My overall stay was a okay, the room had all the amenities and comforts which included a TV with many channels, AC, telephone (which didn't work from the first time I used it ) as apparently you have to dial the number quickly in order for it to go through otherwise, it would give me a continuous busy signal-I had that explained and shown to me by the bellboy who escorted me to my room to assist me with this issue. Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable, the minibar was quite nice, the view was alright mostly overlooking some buildings across the street except for the backside view which was amazing as it overlooked the beautiful green mountains of Lebanon where you could see the telefricks going up and down carrying people all the way to the Harissa (lady of lebanon) about 1000 meters high. The hotel is located in quite busy street with lots of shops and stores surrounding it and a taxi company readily available with its cars (though they overcharged me a couple of times when I found out that other taxi companies were actually charging me less money for the same distance).
There is a Thai massage service at the -1 floor, but I didn't try it as I thought 50 USD was a bit too much for a 1-hour session.
Anyway, try not to book a room next to the hotel as it does get quite noisy especially on the weekend mornings when you can hear basically everybody getting off and on the elevators especially the Ethiopian housekeeping staff- (no Lebanese people refuse to work in houskeeping positions amongst other low-paid jobs ) even though about half the people in the country are practically unemployed-talk about high arrogance and you get plenty of it in Lebanon even when they don't have money to feed themselves.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator and try booking a room that overlooks the mountains, it looks a lot nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisson_jounieh, General Manager at Madisson Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share with us your feedback on trip advisor. Guest’s feedback is very important to us. I have carefully read all your comments and glad to know that the overall experience has been satisfactory and that you appreciated the convenience of our rooms, comfort of the bed, amenities and decorations.
I was glad that you had a friendly relationship with our males staff and we will take more effective action to ensure the same service with the ladies receptionist.
I am very surprised that you found the food was not delicious, since we usually receive very positive comments on the quality and taste of our food.
I have shared your comments with the Executive Housekeeping and Maintenance Team regarding the cigarettes burns and the bathroom stink for their review and action
I have taken note of your comments regarding the SPA charges and I would like to reassure you that these are in line with the service given and those of other SPAs of same category.
Regarding the issue of steam bath and sauna we are sorry that you did not notice the instruction of how to turn it on, posted on the gym entrance .
We all looking forward to welcome you back to Madisson Hotel in the near future.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Rabih Kehdy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 4 days, everything was perfect, staff, easy access location near shopping area and night life,the morroccan bath in the spa was very relaxing, swimming pool perfect, delicious breakfast ( kenafe ) was excellent . the singria made by the barman jimmy in the piano bar was amazing number one cocktail
For sure i will visited one more time

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 907antony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisson_jounieh, General Manager at Madisson Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Madisson Hotel for your 4 days stay in Jounieh with your wife. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and your feedback is very much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our services, facilities and location.
I would like to thank you for your appreciation to our barman and the cocktails served at the Piano Bar
Thank you for your review and recommending the hotel, waiting to see you back soon at Madisson Hotel.
Best Regards,
Rabih Kehdy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansepolcro, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

my experience at the Madisson hotel has been amazing, everything is perfect: rooms, swimming pool, wi-fi, location, various services ..................a really suggestionable place to go in Lebanon, in Junieh not far from beirut, faraya

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisson_jounieh, General Manager at Madisson Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Stefano

Thank you for choosing Madisson Hotel for your stay in Lebanon
i am very pleased to see you have enjoyed our facilities , specially our swimming pool
and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel
We look forward to welcome you and all your guests in the near future
Best Regards
Rabih kehdy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Centrally located in jounieh , every thing walk distance , service very friendly ,good rooms and good food.tpuristic attactions such as jeita grotto,harissa ,casino du liban and the shops and cozy restaurants and bars of the old jounieh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Jounieh. An easy walk into the town with its shops, restaurants and bars.
The rooms are comfortable and well appointed although the distant thud of the Saturday night night-club in the basement could be a distraction if one was sensitive to night time noise.
The breakfast was a mix of European and Middle Eastern which meant we could create a meal that suited our needs.
Its location is such that it is possible to go skiing in the morning and swimming in the afternoon as well as being close to historic sites and venues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is one the best hotels in the Jounieh. It's located in the heart of jounieh and accessible to wherever you want to go, 5 minute walk to the coast, 10 minute walk to the main motorway to beirut, near the pubs, bars. 5 minute driving to casino du liban. 20 minute driving to beirut (City Mall, Downtown, ...) The breakfast was delicious and everything was available. The rooms were spacious enough. And you have your room cleaned every morning by the cleaning staff. Swiming pool is set on the top floor with an elegant view of Harisa, but it's a bit cramped.
The main problem was the receiptions, who couldn't speak english well to help you about what you want.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAkbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2011

this hotel is woderfull being located between the mountains and the city.
For any activity you want to go for ski or swim
few minutes of driving you reach the resources

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onome h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jounieh hotels
0.8 mi away
Bel Azur
Bel Azur
#6 of 29 in Jounieh
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Murjan Palace Hotel
Al Murjan Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Jounieh
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Princessa Hotel
Princessa Hotel
#3 of 29 in Jounieh
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Monte Cassino Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Reston Hotel
Reston Hotel
#4 of 29 in Jounieh
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portemilio Hotel And Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madisson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madisson Hotel

Property: Madisson Hotel
Address: Haret Sakhir Athenee Street, Jounieh, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Jounieh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jounieh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jounieh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madisson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madisson hotel a 4 stars hotel including 65 rooms, two restaurants (Café flore, whiskey a gogo piano bar), two conference halls (40 to 200pax), wedding venue (up to 275 pax) , spa (facial and massage), indoor swimming pool and a panoramic terrace, gym and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Madisson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisson Hotel Lebanon/Jounieh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing