We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babel

Babel
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Dbayeh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Babel is a gourmet restaurant for the traditional lebanese cuisine. The place itself is gorgeous! The architecture is epic! The food was outstanding! Every dish was mouthwatering. The presentation of the food is very eye catching. Friendly and professional staff. Babel is definitely a place to visit for a great lebanese food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek C, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ms Tamara,
Thank you so much for your complimentary review on Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey in term of food and the service you received from our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    75
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
246 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Moody waiters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have been hearing great reviews about this restaurant since it opened and it was time to go try it. It was for a dinner with friends. The whole experience was not impressing. The waiters seemed very grumpy and were almost throwing food on the table. It was rainy and cold outside and due to their behaviour it was not that cosy imside, although it could ve been: amazing setting;the olivetree in the middle, the cieling, even restrooms, all details are well thought off, but the most important should be training the waiters because in their hand to mess the whole thing. Anyway as for food it was mainly delcious: m7amara, kibbi, assortments of nayyi, tajen, hommos, fatush and tabuli, warm delcious bread... The only disappointing thing was the taouk, it was over cooked, not seasoned and mainly reheated. I hope you take into consideration this issue because they were able to spoil a very good evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HARBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, Sales & Marketing coordinator at Babel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear HARbeirut

We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to Babel Dbayeh. The team will be very happy to welcome you back and are always happy to assist. Our 5 star rating is one reason and your delightful feedback is the other to thrive to deliver the best performance. your comment regarding the bad service was taken into consideration and transferred to the operational team who will monitor the performance and apply corrective measure when found suitable.
We appreciate your kind recognition of our services provided and have shared your feedback with the whole team!
We look forward to welcoming you soon in our restaurant.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Reception professional, service and waiters are excellent, but the food was very disappointing . Unbelievably oily, very heavy, almost everything. And some very obvious cheap ingredients. Sorry guys, it was very obvious. I cannot recommend this restaurant, just for the setup and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek C, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mr Rachid,
I would like to thank you for your honest feedback on TripAdvisor.
We take feedbacks very seriously, and as such, our Managers have noted down the aspects that we can work to improve on.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Babel in the future.
Kindly send us your contact via email if possible: TarekChalhoub@afkarholding.co (.co not .com)
Sincerely,
Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Original Lebanese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent Lebanese food with imaginative presentation in a good atmosphere and good service. The playground for the kids is an excellent option for the family.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek C, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Lebmajor,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on TripAdvisor after your last visit to Babel Dbayeh.
It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your journey & our facilities for your kids were up to your expectations. Our aim is to always provide our guests with the finest service possible in order to ensure they have a memorable stay.
Once again, thank you for choosing Babel Dbayeht and for your straight forward post that says it all.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING & UNIQUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Babel, is for granted one of the best restaurants I have ever visited, with its very special and unique menu of food, and the exceptional taste you have in each and every platter it presents.The excellent variety in food is which makes him so special. It also has a very fast service, as well as a great hospitality. The atmosphere is great, its prices are a bit expensive but it deserves it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafih H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, Sales & Marketing coordinator at Babel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Rafih H

We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to Babel Dbayeh. The team will be very happy to welcome you back and are always happy to assist. Our 5 star rating is one reason and your delightful feedback is the other to thrive to deliver the best performance.
We appreciate your kind recognition of our services provided and have shared your feedback with the whole team!
We look forward to welcoming you soon in our restaurant.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babel also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Amchit, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 
Dbayeh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing