We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an unforgettable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babel

Babel
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Dbayeh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an unforgettable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

In an awesome environment with the live instrumental music to accentuate the experience we had an unforgettable dinner, sampling more than a dozen lebanese delicacies, served by immaculate and polite waiters.To complete our dinner we tasted the kataif with kaimak icecream which was delicious and of course the fresh fruit from the basket!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank visitor189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teecee911, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear visitor189400,

I highly appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at Babel, and I am pleased to know that you had a completely satisfying moments.

How delightful it is to hear that you enjoyed our service, food and specially deserts.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Babel.

Sincerely,

Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    75
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I think Babel is one of the must see restaurants in Lebanon. Its great. The design from outside and inside is awesome. The name suits it perfectly. Everything on the menu is delicious. Their specialties should definately be ordered because they're one of a kind. It might be considered on the expensive side of restaurants but it is worth the splurge to experience once at least.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teecee911, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ms Nada,

I would like to take this opportunity to really thank you for such generous words you shared with everyone of Tripadvisor, complimenting our Restaurant.

We are very happy to know that you had an unforgettable experience at Babel, and we look forward to welcome you back again for greater experiences!

Sincerely,

Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lebanese atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Dining in a luxurious castle, food presentation, cleanliness and taste are perfect. Music in the background is lebanese oldies which is great with the mood. The nice cieling which is a look a like sky with stars is lovely. Always a good experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitor202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teecee911, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear visitor 202,

I greatly appreciate your feedback and am pleased you had great moments in our restaurant, enjoying the food and the architectural aspects.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Babel again.

Sincerely,

Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to Babel with friends and was impressed from the moment we walked in. Very large, tall olive tree in the centre and 5 star service.

The food is Lebanese with a twist. Whilst most other restaurants in Lebanon serve the same food, Babel is serving the same food with twist. Flavours and colours are played with to create a different taste and look.

The staff could not do enough for us and spoke good English.

A warning though re the Arak. Glasses are removed before you finish and replaced without asking with a full glass. Our hosts explained that it is because it was probably all water so that is why is it being replaced. Not sure.

The bread was also removed before we finished eating it as we were told it would fill us up before the meal. Again not sure.

Despite that would highly recommended a visit whilst in Lebanon. You will be pleasantly
surprised.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teecee911, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Andrew_and_Mary,
I highly appreciate your feedback regarding your visit. All guest's feedback offer us the opportunity to improve our services and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I am delighted to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to missed, Outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As soon as you enter, you will feel that you have entered to some castle. Its huge. Music is grt. Staff is at their charming best. And the icing on the cake was the food. So yummy and delicious. We ordered mostly vegetarian stuff and to our surprise there were many. And each n everything was great. There are lot complimentry breads. And they ended with complimentary fruit platter. Something very unique and grt. Not to be missed. Price wise also very gud.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teecee911, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Ms / Mr rmshukla,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your journey at Babel Dbayeh.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Tarek Chalhoub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babel also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Amchit, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 
Dbayeh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Dbayeh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
Jounieh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 

Been to Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing