We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canari de Byblos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ahiram Hotel(Byblos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
21
20
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
20
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townspectacular viewsfree wificastlebeirutconferencetoiletriessea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 54 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

very good location, nice and bright rooms, very clean, swimming pool, very good restaurant, very friendly service, good location in the center of modern, internet, all on a global level. I highly recommend! :) :) :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michal_osa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel was perfect for our needs during the time we stayed!
Staff were supper friendly and nice, rooms were clean, location was convenient too....
I will certainly stay there again .... however, I beleive for an area like byblos, they can do a lot of enhancements within the hotel and that will certainly add to their fans!
furniture for example can be upgraded in the rooms, also, adding some brochurs/flyers, maps and what's on magazine in the rooms can be helpful!
one last thing, Canari has to loose its chef :-) bad taste for basics and lots of salt!
Other than that it's a great hotel and had the potential to upgrade with such great staff, so WHY NOT!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Ms Nicolas,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We are happy that our location and services met your needs, and hope to serve you again. Our team will work on a flyer including a simplified map of the region which we hope will be ready by your next trip.

Kind regards,
Wassim Safi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

After Beirut walking around Byblos aka Jbeil was reasonably less nerve wracking. I had booked the King George which was badly maintained and too far out so walked into the Canari de Byblos and for a few dollars more got another world. True, it's a 10-15mins walk from the souk but it's very handy for all sorts of things: cash machine out the front, shopping centre down the road with a great cafe Moka & More, Bou Khalil supermarket close by, grocery market for fresh fruit across the road and a few takeaway shops and patisseries along the way.
Breakfast was generous for room service (1 of 2 rooms booked into the hotel) and buffet was fine. Laundry service was what you expect from a 4 star plus and no problems using the phone for calls (unlike Jordan). Room was a good size with a few minor scrapes around the room but very good condition, cleaning was great - no hassle to get out if you want to sleep in and a nice bathroom. TV channels were also good for an english speaker. Staff were really good at exchanging money and the service was very friendly and helpful.
As for Jbeil itself, quite a lively place, good souk souvenir shopping, lots of bars and cafes; courtyard is lovely with a lot of variety for food from cheap to expensive plus there's a busker near the gate of the castle. Old Port has fabulous views in the evenings although restaurants are a bit expensive at this end of the town but in the town centre itself there's an amazing family style restaurant that does scrumptious shish tawook and the fruit cocktails are out of this world. Pizza Napoli around the back of the souk on the way to the Old Port is the best pizza in Lebanon - Beirutis drive up there just for pizza!!!
Visited the public beach which is way cheaper than visiting Edde Sands (USD$20 entry): LLB £3 for a sunlounger and then you can order beer, soft drinks, nargile and food brought to you. It's not really all that sandy but there's a simple little open style cafe that's good for every taste where you can sit in the shade and have fast food or full cafe style Lebanese food cheaply. They do jet ski hire and have a shower with changing room too.
Internet at the hotel was not a problem for me as I was travelling laptop free and there's an internet cafe at CD Master across from the souk which is in a small shopping arcade with a gym downstairs; a bit hard to find but cheap and helpful with good connection and printing facilities.
Had a great stay for about 8 nights at Canari de Byblos and wished I could've stayed in Jbeil for longer. Less frantic than Beirut and definitely going back for the festival next year.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room then ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main street.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siomareli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked two rooms for three nights earlier this month. We bailed out after the first night. The location is horrible! You have to navigate major highways to get across before you get anywhere near the old town. It is not close at all.
The rooms are big, but there are no drawers, just a closet, and a long long table running the length of the room. Sure, there is a sea view in the distance, but you look out over one of the roads.
No tourist information at all,. and nothing in the rooms. I asked for a map, or information and the reception did not have anything, only a large book put out by the Tourism Ministry on all of Lebanon.
Breakfast was abominable and not fresh. The wi-fi rates were exhorbitant,
We navigated our way to the old town and went into the touristic information centre and the very helpful woman there rang Hotel Ahiram and arranged for us to go and look at rooms there. It was a very good move.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRSinYokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and liked it a lot. Our room was spacious, there was enough room for an extra bed. The hotel is within 7-10 min walk from 'the old city'. The hotel staff is very friendly and ready to help. The hotel is a good choice in terms of value for money, location (close to the key tourist attractions) and services.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizaveta3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews