We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but don't expect four-star service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kuwait City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Kuwait City
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dasman
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Good value but don't expect four-star service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

It's really the little things that make the difference between an 'OK' hotel and a great one.

Although the Courtyard hotel, which is operated by Marriott, scores points for being good value (we paid KD 67 per night for a decent-sized double room - roughly US$200) it doesn't manage to pull off the little things that would make me recommend it to a friend. That isn't to say that I wouldn't stay here again - it's conveniently located, the rates are good, it's clean etc etc.

But here are a few examples of the sorts of things that strike me as 'fumbles'.

When we arrived and were checking in, I asked the desk if there was a razor provided in the room. A great hotel would have said, "no sir but we'll have one sent up". This hotel said "no sir, call service and they'll send you one". With the result that by the time I'd unpacked I'd forgotten I needed one. When I called service the following morning to request one again, I had to wait 45mins and chase them before the razor arrived - by which time I was late for my breakfast meeting.

Talking of breakfast - the buffet was quite good, with the usual array of fresh fruit, cooked and so forth. However, when we were offered tea & coffee, that's all we were given.... no milk. A great hotel would have asked if we needed milk; this hotel waited until we had noticed there was none on the table, so we had to go get it ourselves.

The room itself was fine - a typical mid-range hotel room with bed, desk, decent-sized wardrobe, reasonable bathroom and so forth. All looked quite new, as did the common areas of the hotel.

The restaurant served a tasty lunch. Staff were generally helpful, arranging cars for us and allowing a late checkout for no charge.

All in all, not bad for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    107
    35
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
10
30
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Kuwait. After experiencing many hotels including the Courtyard, now I do not stay in any other hotel when traveling to Kuwait. Everything in this hotel is excellent. The location, rooms, service, cleanliness, price, etc.

It even has a small shopping mall beneath it known as Al-Raya. So if you feel bored and do not want to go far, just relax in any of the coffee shops or restaurants of the mall.

The breakfast of the hotel is very good, they have a big selection of food and it all tastes great. I would never think of going to another hotel in Kuwait as long as they keep their prices reasonable as it is now.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

In the centre of the city, this is a good place to stay. liked the ambience and food. Nice crowd and good staff

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Following a very disappointing stay in another hotel in Kuwait I checked into Courtyard for 3 nights. From A to Z a positive experience. I had never stayed in a Courtyard before, and the definitely exceeded my expectations on various levels. The room was comfortable and practical, the bed was sheer bliss, dinner at the italian restaurant authentic and delicious. Housekeeping requests were met promptly. Most impressive however, I found the genuine friendlyness and caring attitude of staff, particularly at the front office.

Small points on the negative side: W-lan internet in the room would have made my business more convenient, and the airport transfer schedule did not meet my needs.

Final verdict: I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saluki_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed a weekend in Q8 with my wife
Check in and check out was fast and smooth
our Room was in 18th floor over looking the sea
Our room was a Guest room, with a King size bed, bed from Courtyard was very comfortable, the room was equipped with all basic and necessary thing you may need, but it will be much better if they have LCD TV instead of the old ones
All rooms with a Free High Speed Internet in addition to a free wireless Internet in public areas,
Breakfast at Atrium Restaurant was great, the food was will selected with a variety of choices and location of the restaurant was just great
Since my wife rent a car it was great that the Hotel offers a Complimentary valet parking
Over all experience was great and I will come back again to the same place next time I visit Q8

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatswood, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Kuwait is not very exciting, to say the least. I would say I quite enjoyed the hotel, which is very comfortable. The restaurant is also quite good. To be honest I have no complaints, which is quite difficult for me to do.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Great business hotel located in the Sharq area just 10 minutes run from the sea and Kuwait Towers. Located at a cape so that you have the sea in two directions. Great friendly staff. Has a pool located at one of the roof tops (10th floor) long enough to get some exercise and nicely decorated with trees in pot. Good Gym and just 10 minutes run and crossing some highways ... and you are at the sea where you can be jogging along the shore (at least in February/March). Great breakfast and you have good restaurants both in the hotel and in the Arraya shopping mall. On the corner across the street you have a great street kebab and grill place where you get a feast for 3 KD.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dasman
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
#13 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#1 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
6.1 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Salmiya
Ibis Salmiya
#14 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kuwait City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kuwait City

Property: Courtyard Kuwait City
Address: Al Shuhada Street, Dasman 15463, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Dasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Kuwait City 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Kuwait City is a high rise modern building located in the heart of Kuwait City. With its 313 rooms, it offers modern facilities and services including high speed internet access, business centre, and 24 hour rooms service. The hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle service. Dining options at the hotel include The Atrium, an International all day restaurant and lounge; Il Forno, an Italian restaurant; and Tiramisu, the lobby lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Kuwait City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kuwait City Hotel Dasman
Kuwait City Marriott
Kuwait City Courtyard
Courtyard Kuwait City Dasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing