We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Dark Africa”
Review of Samburu Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Dark Africa”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Samburu Sopa lodge is in the middle of the national reserve. The rooms are small cottages. The roofs of the rooms are partly open (with gaze) for freshness. There is no village or anything else in the neighbourhood, so during the night it is really dark arond and it gives you the real Out of Africa feeling.
The employees are all ver friendly and helpful. In the evening you are escorted to our room.
All other lodges in Samburu are close to the river, which makes it easier to see animals. But Samburu Sopa Lodge has its own charmes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    107
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
101
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

You are in the middle of the park (inside). This complex is nice because is like part of the natural scenery. When you arrive you are a little bit surprise because you can not see a kind of hotel, till you are approaching and seeing the large pool. The room are a kind of ´camp duplex .

The service is good. There is a nice bar and the buffet formula is great.

The only restriction is due to the fact that is hotel is a complex of 60 camps duplex, depending of your number you can have to walk to go to the main camp for pool, lunch, dinner etc..

Room Tip: Ask for a camp close to the main
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is highly recommended. The staff was attentive and were quick to assist us every time we needed something. The food was superb and the rooms were very comfortable. Be sure to bring a tripod to take pictures of the stars at night.

Tips for future travelers: ask for a lodge that is close to the reception. Mine was Lodge 50 and it took at least 3 minutes to get to my lodge from the main entrance.

Room Tip: Tips for future travelers: ask for a lodge that is close to the reception. Mine was Lodge 50 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojojojotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a 14 night tour of Kenya. It may not be as exclusive as some but then it is not pricey and seems to absorb the larger number of guests comfortably. The room was huge, clean and comfortable, The swimming pool is also clean and well maintained. The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you. They were always willing & keem to hear everyone's excited tales of what they had seen on safari that day even though they must have heard it all many times before! The only criticism I have is the food could have been a little better and the beer was the most expensive we came across but then I suppose we were in the middle of nowhere. I have read criticisms of the location of this lodge. Certainly it would be more scenic by the river and perhaps there would be more to see but they have a waterhole which had its fair share of visitors.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same but some will be quite a long walk from the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_addictReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the first out of 4 lodges we stayed at during our Kenyan safari. We have never been on safari before and we unsure what to expect but were totally blown away by this place. Our room was HUGE with a sort of open ceiling that are covered in mesh so it gives u a feeling of being outdoors whilst offering the protection against Mosquitos and other bugs. Food was amazing, I am a fussy vegetarian and had no problem. Good variety and excellent service. Wifi bit slow but ok for 200ksh for the length of your stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was at Samburu Sopa Lodge for 4 nights a few weeks ago and cannot recommend it highly enough! Fred the Manager there is attentative as are all the staff there. From the moment I arrived, all the staff knew my name and the man on the security gate is quite simply the happiest, proudest man I have met in Kenya to date. The food is some of the very best I have had at any lodge in 4 years of travelling to Kenya. Everyday the staff made me feel special and I miss them all already. Peter the Barman, Nicholas the Pool attendant and all the others.

There are some myths associated to coming to Kenya in the 'Long Rains' - no wildlife, raining all the time etc... This is simply not true! Indeed it does rain....but it is nomally for a few hours and then it clears....mostly it is at night. The weather was hot and the rains do not spoil the Safaris as far as I am concerned. As for the wildlife not being there...this again is not true....where do they go? They do not take a flight to another country. They are there all year round and i took thousands of photos to qualify this.
Please go and visit this amazing lodge and region and put your fears aside. After all this is probably the best place to see the eluusive Leopard!
To all the staff at the lodge - Thank you my friends...I cannot wait to return.
Cheers!
G

Room Tip: I had room number 3 if my memory serves me well. It is near the main Lodge and has wonderful views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gesit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in early April which was low season by then. Only 11 guests were there so the staff ratio to guest was high. The staff were attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the pool very much one hot midday. Still, the pool needs some attention as the tiles are stained. They do clean it, just needs some refreshing. The same is true about the furniture in the huts. Both beds squeaked and resonated a strange hum. Someone needs new beds. However, the place is immaculately clean. Same is true for the dining room, super clean. The food was okay but not inspired although I loved the crepes for breakfast. The meat was tough at dinner and lunch and you could tell they had recycled the meat from dinner the night before in a new guise... or disguise. Vegetables were tasty and fresh. Soups were from a mix and the consomme was again recycled from dinner to lunch... just some different name and seasoning added. I'm not saying to waste food, but maybe having less food to match the number of guests and then making fresh is an idea?
The manager stopped by to make sure we were happy which overall we were. It was a pretty place but not up to the usual Sopa standards. We stayed at the Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Amboseli Sopas before this one, so there is a basis for comparison.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
13.4 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
462 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fisi Camp
Fisi Camp
#2 of 20 in Narok
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Sopa Lodge

Property: Samburu Sopa Lodge
Address: Samburu National Reserve 60302, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samburu Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Sopa Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Sopa Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing