We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of africa stay”
Review of Samburu Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Veere, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“out of africa stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we just returned from a 8 day safari in kenia and stayed in 5 different hotels and parks. we found the stay in Samburu Sopa Lodge the most enjoyable in terms of having constantly the feel of being in the bush while dining in the open, or sitting on the little terrace after our lodge watching the dikdik passing by, spotting the most beautifull hornbills and other special birds while walking to the reception, and this all combined with the luxury of a good shower, comfy beds and clean crips sheets. we liked also the staff the best, they were friendly without being eager on having us drinking bottles of wine instead of glasses, and without chasing for the luggage to get tips as in almost all the other -expensive- lodges. also the park was great, we spotted all sorts of antilopes, the little dikdik being our favourite, the mighty lions, elegant giraffes, elephants, all kind of beautifull birds and even a leopard.

Room Tip: any room is in the open wild with a terrace from where you can have a nice view and if lucky see som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariska129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    108
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Samburu. The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable. Like several people mentioned, there are no ceiling fans and electricity is shot several hours during the day and night. This was not a big issue, as during part of the morning and later in the afternoon, we were out on game drive and later at night we were sleeping! It was hot during the day but the thatched roof helped cool down the room and the beautiful pool felt great during the afternoon heat.

The food was good and plenty, with many choices. I personally was not keen of the desserts, but that is personal taste. From the dining area we could enjoy the wildlife, since there is a waterhole. We saw several hornbillsand a few antelopes.

The architeture and layout of the lodge was very pleasant as well as the service. There is a small gift shop near the lobby with very good prices.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same!! The only difference is that some are closer to the entrance and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Samburu Sopa Lodge and felt it was excellent value for money compared with some of the Lodges we stayed. The rooms are large, comfortable & clean with ventilation just below the thatched roofs the worked really well at keeping the room cool although our first night we did share the room with a bat that added to the wild feel! The small private verandah was cute and we had daily lizards visit us, along with lots of birds. Good hot showers even with the power off.
The restaurant location was great over looking the water hole with plenty of birds, warthog and Impala when we had our meals, this was the only hotel we spent some time in the pool which was great, with the bar just by the side. The staff really were excellent, really friendly and attentive without being over the top, the manager even went round the tables in the evening to check everything was OK. At breakfast the pancakes and the omelet were very good and the puddings here were are favorite.
Samburu itself seemed quite for wildlife after the Masai Mara but it was great to see some unique wildlife we had not seen else where like the Gerenuk, Reticulated Giraffe and Grevy Zebra. We were also lucky to see a Leopard on top of a huge bush along with wild dog and a couple of massive herds of Elephant, and we have never seen so many cute Dik Dik's we saw them every where, but no Lion or Cheetah it was very dry & dusty but definitely worth the trip so glad we saw Samburu and the road too and from Nairobi is great.
This lodge is away from the river but we thought it was a good location and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room near to the pool area it can be long walk as its laid out in a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Samburu Sopa at the start of our safari and it was a great introduction to the safari experience. The rooms were large and comfortable and a reasonable sized bathroom. The rooms were not luxurious they were clean and naturally ventilated which was a surreal experience.

Like with some lodges, electricity is limited to certain hours in the morning and evening so I would recommend using this to charge up as many batteries as you can. There were tons of plugpoints in the rooms for this.

The public areas were beautiful with a lovely large restaurant and bar overlooking the jungle and watering hole. The food was good and covered a range of cuisines and the staff service was amazing and could not be faulted.

Would recommend this lodge if you are looking for a well located lodge with comfortable facilities.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms as a bit of walk from the main spaces (3 mins max) but its not far and use this ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essex_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Samburu can be very warm during the days and chilly in the mornings. There are no fans in the cottages and, anyway, they don't have electricity through most of the day (and from midnight to 4 am in the night) so the fans wouldn't have helped. But for this inconvenience and the fact that the food is not as good as at the Amboseli Sopa, the property would have got a "very good" rating.
On the other hand the Samburu Sopa Lodge has several positives.
The restaurant staff are invariably smiling and helpful. The restaurant is also very well situated and we were able to photograph some interesting bird-life while at breakfast. It has a counter for free tea and coffee which provide a welcome prelude to the early morning game drives.
The cottages themselves are very well designed with a cute private sit-out. The rooms are huge and there are two double beds to a room. There is thus no no shortage of space though there is an obvious shortage of illumination when the electricity is cut at night. You need to make sure the torch provided in the room is working (ours wasn't) when there is still enough light and time to change it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first hotel setting in the "bush" while in Kenya. We had nothing to compare it with at that point. However, we have had other locations to compare. Getting to the Samburu Reserve require some rough roads but the place is full of marvelous wildlife and there are some species seen here and nowhere else in Kenya. The replica huts are fine for rooms and space. The dining was also fine but not exceptional. The service was excellent. Think we would try one of the several other lodges with higer ratings next time around, should there be the opportunity to return to Kenya.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

ROOM: Room is huge with a veranda out looking the water hole and wildlife.
BATHROOM: Small but clean.
FOOD: Food is excellent nice and good to taste. Though the Indian section is not top notch. Well thought out menus. Do not miss the chocolate eclair.
STAFF: Very attentive. Has a personnel touch, the reception is very responsive, the waiting staff like Abdi is very good and fast.
Electricity is timed since it runs on generator but you will hardly miss it since the timings are well organized.
Wifi is available but only in the sitting and dinning area.
AMBIANCE: This Sopa lodge is situated inside the reserve, the dinning area and the entire property is teeming with wildlife. The Pool area with the background of wildernest is a perfect place to spend the afternoon.
The Dinning area overlooks the water hole which has regular visitors like Dik-Dik, Impala and many birds. The rooms and the dinning area have a hut sort of a theme, which goes well with the arid habitat of Samburu.
BIRDING and other wildlife: Expect regular visits from Eastern Yellow-billed and Red-billed Hornbill, Common Bulbul, Swifts, Superb Starling, Sparrow Weaver, Pale Chanting Goshawk Gunther's Dik-Dik, Impala and occasional elephants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception, since the walk can be long if you have one of the last rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khanasif36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
13.4 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
470 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
#15 of 41 in Naivasha
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Sopa Lodge

Property: Samburu Sopa Lodge
Address: Samburu National Reserve 60302, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samburu Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Sopa Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Sopa Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing