We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Watch Camp in Samburu Nature Reserve”

Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the semi arid North of Kenya, in a land of endless rugged beauty and untamed wilderness, Elephant Watch Safaris has established its camp on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in Samburu National Reserve. Oria Douglas-Hamilton, together with her husband, Iain, have been associated with elephants for more than 40 years, and have been pioneers in studying the intricate lives of elephants and their intelligent social behaviour. They have brought their scientific studies to the attention of the world, highlighting a well-organised family structure, with a conscious level of emmotions, pain, speech, and protection. Elephants form an integral part of the socio economic livelihood of the Samburu people who share the land with the elephants.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elephant Watch Camp in Samburu Nature Reserve”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This is quite the most magical place I've been too. The staff, namely Samburu warriors are just wonderful and the trackers/guides were phenomenal. Nothing was too much trouble for all of them. The sadness was the drought which was affecting all domestic animals and now the wildlife is struggling. The predators are having a field day. There is hope up in the swamp area which is still retaining some water. The actual camp is the brainchild of Oria Douglas-Hamilton, completely eco-friendly and naturally decorated. The actual tents are fixed structures and incredibly comfortable and Eli the chef is a past master with his skills. I couldn't recommend this more highly.

Helpful?
1 Thank lainey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Ianey64,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We are glad you appreciate our camp and our eco-friendly philosophy and that you had a great experience with the animals, guides and Samburu warriors.

Thank you for staying at Elephant Watch Camp and feel free to come again

Best Wishes,
Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing and intimate. Come to know elephant individuals and their families.”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Elephant Watch is an unrivaled experience. You are the guest of the Douglas-Hamiltons: world experts on elephants who continue their life's work nearby at Save the Elephants Foundation. In your jeep there is an ID book of the individual Elephant families so your safari is NOT "Oh look, an elephant!". Instead your guides help you to recognize individuals and families that they know well. Plenty of other wildlife as well, some (like Lions and Giraffes) also individually known.

Speaking of the guides, they are ALL amazing. Intelligent, educated, funny, caring and beautiful souls. The highest standard of guiding and the best customer service I have experienced anywhere; very personal.

The camp is serene and gorgeously appointed while maintaining the highest ecological standards. The food is delicious and tailored to your tastes. I could go anywhere in Africa and I am going back to Elephant Watch.

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing Team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
SaraJFisk,

Thank you for your review. we appreciate your feedback.

We are happy that you appreciate our customer service, ecological standards we adopt to run our camp and enjoyed the service from our guides.

We anticipate you coming back to visit Elephant Watch camp and relive your first experience.

Best Wishes,

Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extaordinary Elephant Watch - the best!”
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Totally Magical Place!!

A beatifully designed eco-friendly lodge with only 6 oversized tented rooms. Beautiful riverside setting, extraordinary design, great food and fabulous staff. Game drives are rich in variety, elephant encounters unrivalled anywhere in Africa.

Helpful?
1 Thank sng777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing Team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
sng777,

Thank you for your positive review.

We were happy to have hosted you and look forward to you visiting us again.

Best Wishes,

Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Elephant Watch is superb”
Reviewed August 27, 2007

A truly magical place with great tented rooms, fabulous setting, top-quality food and extraordinary game-viewing experience, especially the close-up encounters with huge numbers of elephant. Unsurpassable for those seeking a true eco-friendly safari experience. If you get Alfred and Sammy as your guides you will be very pleased!

Helpful?
Thank sng77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing Team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
sng 77,

Thank you for your positive review, we appreciate your feedback.

We appreciate you vouching for Elephant Watch Camp as a true eco-friendly safari experience.

We were glad to have hosted you and feel free to come again.

Best Wishes,

Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris also viewed

Samburu National Reserve, Samburu District
 

Been to Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing