We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Nearby Hotels
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
$171
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
$31
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
$130
$80
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
$44
$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
300
67
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
67
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolthe rivergame drivesguide anthonyon stiltssafe distanceeating breakfastelephants walkingwithin touching distancecool waterdining areaewaso nyiro riverlunch and dinnerluxury tentsgreat wildlifeeast africawildlife viewing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 372 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a beautiful camp, right on the river, with elephants and giraffes across the way as you eat breakfast or lunch on the riverbank. The plunge pool is a great idea. Tents are roomy and very comfortable, and the food was very good with a great selection of dishes.

Our guide Anthony was wonderful, and definitely one of our favorite guides during our African trip. We saw lions, elephants, zebras, giraffes, baboons, and even a leopard. We also loved the Samburu landscape; even though it's harder to see animals here than in the Mara, it's much more interesting. We actually wish we'd spent more time in Samburu and less in Mara.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Because of the rains when I was in camp in November we were not lucky enough to see any visiting elephants but we could see them on the banks of the river. I have stayed in several safari camps in Kenya but Elephant bedroom offered the biggest tent I have ever seen. The staff were friendly and courteous and the food was excellent. Game drives were professionally conducted and I would definitely return to Elephant Bedroom and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: All tents are extremely comfortable and have good views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The 12 tented bedrooms are spacious and beautifully finished combining Kenyan, Moroccan and Western touches. The ‘front door’ of each room is a zip which opens onto your private veranda and plunge pool (big enough for four people!) overlooking the rugged doum palm-lined banks of the on the Ewaso Nyiro River where you can see animals passing by unaware of their audience.

We saw lions, leopards and a cheetah thanks to our wonderful Elephant Bedroom Camp guides!

Each night we were joined by the other guests around the camp fire, swapping fresh and time-honoured wildlife stories over gin and tonics late into the night.

Before bed on night 2 one of us group spotted a tiny genet cat eating moths in a close-by tree!.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank SelfieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

fantastic camp - took awhile to find the lions but so worth the wait - elephants roaming round the camp day and night just added to the experience ! all of the staff were friendly and helpful and the ' sun downers ' went down a treat.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

What an amazing place! I highly recommend this camp for a fantastic safari experience. Our guides Anthony and James were friendly, interesting and knowledgable and made the safari experience unforgettable. We had excellent views of lion, leopard and cheetah during the trip, and there is plenty to see in addition to the superb game drives. On the first morning I was woken up by staff to be shown an elephant sleeping metres from our tent! During breakfast we had an amazing view of a herd of elephants and troop of baboons strolling along the other side of the river bank.
The staff were super helpful and polite and we also met other lovely guests. The choice and amount of food offered was great, and the quality was good. The bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious.....switch off the lights when you go to dinner in the evening to avoid attracting bugs though!
A magical experience and I hope that I get the opportunity to return in the future. Thanks to everyone at the camp!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews