We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants round for tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a magnificent three night stay in tent No.12 (the furthers tent along). I use the term 'tent' rather loosely however, more of a uber-luxury bedroom and ensuit with a light cover over the flagstone shower. Apart from the obvious beautiful surroundings and elephants that walk past your tent daily, I particularly enjoyed the attention to detail of having my freshly filtered coffee and biscuits brought to our tent at 5:30am to wake us up for the early morning game drive. The staff are fab and take care of you better than your own mother after a hefty and painful fall at the age of 3.

Would go back tomorrow if flights were free.

Room Tip: Ask for tent 12, its the furthest along so you catch the sunrise with no other tent in view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 339 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

This luxury tented camp deserves high praise for many things but I want to stress the excellence of the service provided and the attention received from all the members of the personnel. Joseph, the general manager, obviously knows what he is doing because of all the camps we habe been to (five in all over five years), this one tops them all. The teamwork is exemplary - everyone pitches in to make sure we are happy, taken care of, smiled at and generally pampered. Two of us were sick on this stay and the personnal attention was touching. They will go out of their way to make you something special and will regularly inquire to make sure things are better. The chef is always around to answer questions and take special requests. The camp is not fenced and elephants roam freely on the grounds. While this can cause small inconveniences, the experience of wildlife so close is just extraordinary. Security mesures are very good and at no time did we feel in any danger. The tents are very confortable and well kept. Julius, our driver and guide, is a real gem. Funny, great sense of humor and a very good guide. Samburu reserve is not the Mara and the animal density is niot very high. However, the whole experience is more rugged and less commercial. Less jeeps on the trails. We did see a leopart with baby, cheetahs, elephants, lions, giraffes, gazelles, birds, etc.
We loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jschry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just came back from spending 3 nights at this camp with my husband and family members visiting us from Canada, and had an amazing time. The camp itself is in a stunning location, with elephants roaming around day and night (but with watchmen there around the clock to look after us). The staff at Elephant Bedroom are nothing short of excellent - they were friendly and attentive, and made sure that we always had what we needed. We had sick travelers, and they made sure their stay was as comfortable as possible, and showed genuine concern for them. The food was excellent and varied, and for my birthday the chef even made a special cake, which you would have been impressed to see in any pastry shop in Nairobi. There were 6 of us staying there and we have nothing but praise for the camp and its staff. The park itself was beautiful - you might not see as much game as in other parks in Kenya, but the scenery is stunning, and the whole experience was fabulous. We definitely plan on going back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in Elephant Bedroom for 2 nights in jan 2013 as part of a photography safari tour (so while I travelled solo I was sharing the tent and part of a group of 8). The staff were lovely and friendly, the food was delicious and plentiful. We had amazing wildlife viewing experiences in Samburu. The tent had a private plunge pool on its deck with a view to the river, and elephants can (and did) walk just out the back (they could be heard during the night). Would LOVE to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had tent 11 - I think tent 10 is probably even better as the path trekked by the elephants brings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Kenya and our first safari.
First was the friendliness and welcome from all staff including manager Joseph.
Our first night was in tent number 1. Adequately equipped and furnished.
Our driver and guide for the duration was local Julius who clearly knew and was able to show and tell us about all the wild life. Excellent host, communicator and Ambassador for the locality.
The camp is delightfully situated on the banks of the river with plenty of activity to watch either from the balcony of the main building or our own tent.
Food was plentiful and under the charge of most enthusiastic chef who was very keen to please. It was delightful sitting outside under stars listening to the noises of nature before retiring to the lounge bar for a nightcap. We were then taken home by a guide/guard - the latter were needed as the Elephants would all but come into the tent at night!
The worse part was getting up in the dark for the early morning drive - but the result was certainly worthwhile!
For our second night we were transferred to one of the newer tents built up on stilts - very much nicer and the plunge pool was certainly welcome as the heat built up.
During dinner on the last night we were told that safari link had cancelled our direct flight to the Maasai Mara for lunch and would instead later on take us to Nairobi for lunch and to Maasai for the evening! this was NOT Elephant Bedroom problem but to their great credit they and Southern Cross tours took the matter up and at early next morning a flight was, at the last minute, restored!

Lasting impression was friendly efficient staff in great surrounding.
We are unable to comment on Value as this part of an overall tour and sleep quality was our problem from new climate on the first night

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our stay in Elephant Bedroom was the real safari. Nice tent and the most friendly staff. Twice we had to pause our lunch to make room for an elephant. The staff allways made us feel safe. Food was great!!! A wonderfull experience.

Room Tip: Only 12 tents and all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuntje18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Elephant Bedroom is a in stunning location on the banks of the river, and as a low impact place (12 tents, very set apart) feels a great calm place to soak up the huge landscapes.

Elephant Bedroom isn't fenced in, so elephants wander at will through the camp (though there are guards all over the place to warn you to take a different route to your tent, if needed). Very relaxed, extremely spacious tents, individual plunge pools for each tent, great massage (outside on our tent's veranda, with 5 minute pause as elephant passed by, quite unique).

Really good management which isn't the case in every Kenyan lodge, flexible and offering a range of solutions to meet our needs, and a seemingly very happy staff team. Excellent game spotting with Julius and James, but were also offered the (free) option of borrowing a guide to show us round the park as we did a self drive in our car.

We stayed two nights with our children, aged 10 and 13, and the only downside was there wasn't much for them to do. But just after Christmas that isn't too much of a hassle, but that would be something to work on I'd suggest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordPeterWimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
8.9 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
362 reviews
7.8 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
486 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
251 reviews
9.6 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Bedroom Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Bedroom Camp

Address: Pio Gama Pinto Road | Westlands, Samburu National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: $552 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elephant Bedroom Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Bedroom Camp offers luxury in a setting of breathtaking beauty. It is set along the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River and shaded by doum palms and other trees that make up this green belt of riverine forest in Samburu National Reserve. The surrounding Samburu National Reserve is an area of spectacular scenery; its dry plains bisected by the meandering river, with the backdrop of Africa's dramatic mountains, including Mt Kenya. The spacious tents have rustic and colourful African touches, offering all the comforts; including a private plunge pool on the deck, hot and cold running water, electricity (and complimentary herbal shower and bath products.)​ The lounge and dining area is decorated with vibrant safari style, its soft intimate lighting assuring that this is the ultimate place to relax in between exciting game drives. Elephant, Monkeys, Impalas are amongst the camp's many regular wild visitors, whilst Samburu National Reserve has a good number of lions and leopards and offers the opportunity to see many species endemic to northern Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Bedroom Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Bedroom Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Elephant Bedroom Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing