We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay by the river”
Review of Samburu Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samburu Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Positioned right beside the Ewasa Nyaro, this lodge feels like paradise. It has a decently long track and I was able to get a few runs under my belt while we stayed here. The restaurant menu is a bit sparse though and the rooms also felt very basic. The staff also felt very amateurish, as they couldn't even take down simple instructions and do things like keeping keys safely.

I got a bit annoyed by Hector - I think he was the restaurant manager who kept heckling us to buy something from his bar. It was very irritating and downright patronising.

That apart, the lodge has several birds - an afternoon's nature walk should yield some great photographs. I strongly recommend either staying here or at the Larsen's camp.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumeet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited the lodge a week ago with a friend & was amazed with the scenic beauty of the place. Situated on the banks of Uaso Nyiro river it was a breathtaking sight to wake up in the morning to a peaceful, green setting to watch the birds, the crododiles lazing at the foot of the restaurant and the monkeys looking hungrily for food. Oh, but the promised crododile feeding at 7.00 p.m. never happened on both days we stayed as the staff said they did not have the meat/bones to feed them. Ah! what a shame to see all those crocs lying there in anticipation.

But the friendly staff, service & the vast choice on the buffet at all meals was amazing. Never realised Kenya offered so much Indian food on the menu. Enjoyed the Ugali & other Kenyan staples too.

The monkey-catchers dressed up brightly always on alert fascinated me.
The game drives were truly interesting as we saw not just herds but hordes of African elephants purposefully striding away to someplace! gorgeous sight! Spotted the reticulated giraffe, the Grevy Zebra, Dikdik who seemed to be everywhere, Impalas, Oryx. And yes at the end of the day it was nice to get back to a warm, cosy room to sip a glass of wine on the porch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river as scenic & easy to get to the restaurant too especially in the dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheelaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the property in May 2013 along with our children for 2 nights. The place was very beautiful, though Samburu was a lot hotter than the other places we visited in Kenya. Was shell shocked to hear that there is no power for about 8 hours a day broken into two 4 hour slots. When you are paying top dollar you don't expect this at all. The first night was terrible with no power no ventilation. None of us slept. The next day I called up my agent who spoke to the management who assured us that they would keep the generators on in the night.. Phew... much better... the property is very beautiful nestled along the river. You can spot several animals across the river banks, be it the giraffes, elephants, impala's etc..
The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and made it a point to interact with my children by their names. They even managed to organise some wonderful vegetarian meals.
Would revisit provided I am assured of 24x7 power...

Room Tip: Take a river facing room. Unfortunately the inter connecting family rooms are quite a distance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anant_Singhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I love this lodge so much, It was our third stay as we usually do the Leopard safari with Kuoni.

The rooms we were given on our last trip were fantastic they were further away from the main buildings with our own balcony over looking the river. There are lots of bugs here so make sure you take your spray.

The food is excellent and the highlight of the day is the crocodile feeding as they all start to gather on the bank a couple of hours before.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went here originally in 1988 for our honeymoon and returned for our silver anniversary.

It hadn't changed much except some new lodges of which we had an amazing one, quite a way from the main area, but that made it quiet and it was 5*. The food was brilliant and honestly there was always too much on offer, drinks prices were pretty okay and the pool was much improved from 1988 and was really clean and refreshing after a game drive.

They feed the crocs each night which is fun to watch, and yes there are monkeys about - don't panic too much they do their best to keep them at bay - DON'T feed them they are dangerous, we found if you mimic catapulting stones at them they back off sharpish! We got lessons from our "monkey man" in my picture. He was good fun.

Martin our waiter was a cutie and really lovely to us asking what we'd seen that day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Two night stay on our safari tour.

Comfortable beds and good en suite facilities set in huts around the main reception and dining area.

Good buffet style food but lots of flies so watch carefully what you eat.

A long and dusty driv fom Nairobi but worth it.

Crocs and hippos in the river and bird life are the attraction here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were given connected rooms, but they were far away from the reception & restaurant. We had problem with lights in the room and they took a lot of time to change us to a different room. We demanded for free drink as compensation and they agreed. That was a good part. They have crocodile feeding at 7:00 pm daily. The hotel has basic amenities. There are no intercoms. Wi-Fi is not available.

Room Tip: Get room closer to the reception & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
13.4 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
499 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
258 reviews
0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
27 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Game Lodge

Address: Samburu Game Reserve Near Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Samburu Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Game Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Game Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing