We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable camp of all”
Review of Larsens Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larsens Camp
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at this camp this past August. As soon as we arrived we realized that two nights was way too short of a time for the beauty and the enchantment of the place. It is a camp spread over, under lovely vegetation, the banks of a river where hippos and crocodiles abound. The colors of the sand on the river's banks, the milder climate of the Samburu region, and the overall feeling of openness and ease all contributed to our falling in love with it. We had an amazing driver (Jeremy who is no longer there) who was able to show us every possible animal one can imagine. He knew where to spot one of the only two leopards in the area, he knew at what time exactly entire families of elephants would bathe in the river and make fools of themselves while the babies (elephants) sought refuge under mama's legs for fear of attacks. In short, our two days at this camp and in this area were something that we will never forget. As for the cheeky monkeys, yes, they were everywhere, but as long as we kept the tent zipped up there were no problems. In fact, it was quite a cute thing to wake up and find them on our porch (really, how many times do we have such an experience in our overbuilt. societies?). The quality and the preparation of the food also belonged in a much higher class. Carefully prepared, it was varied and succulent. The wait staff and the helpers were also genuinely some of the nicest people we've ever met. To this day, I still correspond over facebook with one of their waiter (Franco), a guy with a crack-up sense of humor and a sincere desire to make your stay wonderful. I can't say anymore, other than I would like to go back soon. The safari company I used, Shoor Travel in Nairobi, was also splendid in securing our stays in the most delectable and unique places and we are most grateful to them for this particular arrangement.
While some people

Room Tip: They are all wonderful! You can't go wrong...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lzucchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Larsens Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Larsen's is a bit larger than some of the camps we stayed in while on safari, but not huge by any stretch of the imagination. What I liked so much about this camp was the setting under shade trees right next to the Uaso Nyiro River. Here you might find elephants or baboons next to your tent in the morning. You will definitely find the little vervet monkeys "everywhere." In fact you are warned from the moment you arrive not to feed them or leave your tent unzipped or you may not like the results. There is a wonderful breeze through the camp many times of the day. It is hard to believe how cool it gets at night, yet how hot it can be during the day. The variety of birds here is remarkable. For birders, this is a great camp. One of the best parts about this camp is that there are hair dryers in your bathroom. The permanent tents seem to be a bit larger than the other camps we stayed at as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great stay for several days in August, 2012, as the first stop on our Kenya safari. The setting of the camp is beautiful - right on the river with a lot of large nice trees providing shade and a place for the vervet monkeys to play. The sun comes up just across the river - so it made a neat backdrop for some very early morning sunrise photos. This is truly a tented camp experience, so make sure you're ready for that - a large canvas tent permanently mounted on an elevated platform. The rooms are very nice, and the beds are extremely comfortable. You do have to get adjusted to a bit of a lack of privacy being in a tent (which was new for us). We also found out that the monkeys are very smart - they figured out how to open the tents and come in looking for the morning cookies. We had a hilarious start to one day with a monkey "visitor" in our room. We shooed him away with no difficulties and it added to the great stories we will tell for years to come. The food is offered in a communal style - it is quite good with a number of selections - and the staff is excellent. The dining manager and the beverage manager were wonderful. There are people on guard against the monkeys at all times so you can dine in peace in a truly rustic, natural setting.

The game drives were excellent - we saw a ton of different animals, including some we had never seen before like the gerenuks (which are totally cool!). The reticulated giraffe are beautiful! And, of course, as you would expect in Samburu, there are elephants everywhere.

We had a lot of fun during our stay at Larsen's Camp - it was a great way to start the trip, and really helped us disconnect from the day to day of our "real" lives.

Room Tip: We were in Flycatchers which is a great location - very close to the main tent and an easy walk to t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank engine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at this Tented Camp as part of our African safari in July. Not only were the tents well appointed with every amenity one would expect in a luxury hotel, but the staff was equally top drawer. Meals were very tasty and were served with flourish. It was clear that they wanted to meet the standards of the Small Luxury Hotel chain. We stayed at other tent camps as well as regular lodges during our 2 week trip. This was by far our favorite accommodation!

Room Tip: All the tents are the same and located facing the river. We enjoyed being nearest the swimming pool...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kandeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The property is listed with the small luxury hotels of the world which is my bible when I travel anywhere they have properties listed. It is a luxury tented camp with all amenities you should desire (including Molton Brown bathroom products) and personalized service. The service is indeed impeccable, the food is tasty and they will cater to any particular dietary requirements. The game rides are personally tailored - no group excursions - with professional and knowledgeable guides/trackers. You are fully immersed in the wild, I cannot think of a better location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 68WorldTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Most importantly the tents are large and very spacious with excellent bathroom facilities. Wooden floors and a nice deck overlooking the Ewaso Njiro river.

The main bar and restayurant are slightkly dukll and impersonal but most meals were eaten on the deck overlooking the river with one waiter and one askari acting as monkey chasers (the monkeys can steal a piece of food off your fork!).

Their safari vehicles are also pretty good (i did not use theirs but they looked in good condition) but can not comment on the quliaty of their driver guides as we did not use them. This is a key part of a safari and can make or break it for you.

Food was not bad at all, nothing totally memorable but nothing I would not want to eat again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Larsen’s late last December. We had wanted to see the more arid region of Samburu and the different species that live there. However, there had been extensive rainfall following a long period of drought and when the rains came they were so torrential that the Ewaso Nyiro River had flooded. The camp had only re - opened 4 days prior to our arrival. If it hadn’t been for the remains of two of their permanent tents that had been washed away and slightly dusty paths you wouldn’t have known. This also meant that the normally arid and dry Samburu National reserve was covered in grass and wildflowers and it looked absolutely beautiful. When this happens the wildlife is not as plentiful as they do not need to go out into the open to find food/water. Nevertheless, we saw a huge number of Elephant, reticulated giraffe and various Antelopes. The camp is an amazing place to stay. The spacious tents are very comfortable with every amenity provided including flush toilets and permanently hot showers. The restaurant which for lunch & dinner is outside on a deck by the river if weather conditions allow provides excellent food and service. The tariff includes the food and soft drinks/water/ house wine & beer. There is a mini bar in the room with soft drinks & beers that is also included in the room rate. With the lunch & Dinner there is a choice of 2 appetisers, 4 main courses and a couple of Desserts. We enjoyed all the meals we had here and we are fussy eaters. The menu changed daily. The one aspect of our stay here that really shone out was the staff. Everyone we encountered treated us like royalty. We had an excellent waiter and wine steward that we became friendly with and even the Maasai “monkey chaser” who had the delightful job of scaring the vervet monkeys off with a bamboo stick if they came too close to you at meals was a nice and highly intelligent young guy. For our last breakfast here the wine steward poured us each a glass of champagne (on the house) to wish us bon voyage! The 6 hour drive from Nairobi to Larsen’s is on an excellent highway until you reach Samburu then it is an average gravel road for about 12 kms to the camp. There is a reception centre, a gift shop next door and across from these buildings is the restaurant. We had our lunches & dinners down on the deck over the river; sometimes here the Elephants come across the river & feed from the trees surrounding the deck. We saw Elephants crossing the river just in front of our tent. We couldn’t believe our eyes, it was an amazing spectacle & we took many photos & videos of it. You can see them if you wish at www.flickr.com/photos/kiwiexplorer you would have to click on sets & look for the Samburu set. On our last morning I heard a noise in our tent & walked out from the bathroom & there sitting in the middle of the tent was a monkey. I opened the tent flap & scared it off but couldn’t understand how it had got in. Later on there were more in the tent and we discovered they open not the tent zip but a section of Velcro near the zip & slip in. When you leave the tent if you rest a corner of the heavy doormat up against the main vertical zip they will not be able to get in. No one will tell you about this but you do not want these guys in your tent whilst you are not there, believe me!! The camp has a very nice new looking pool and a spa in an elevated room next to it but we did not avail ourselves of either. To sum up we absolutely loved Larsen's camp & hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river but the further from reception the more likely you will be to spot wild...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
11.9 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
359 reviews
4.3 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
479 reviews
3.6 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
242 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
339 reviews
8.0 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsens Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsens Camp

Address: Uaso Nyiro River, Samburu National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Larsens Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Larsens Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsens Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Larsens Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing