We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Shaba National Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Saw most animals except lions. Other people saw them but unfortunatley not us. It stayed dry and sunny for 3 days despite the heavy rain all round the edge of the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    36
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On the trip from the airstrip to Larsen's Camp, we saw a Greve's Zebra, numerous giraffe, Gerenuk, gazelle's, Oryx. Our first evening game run we saw a female Leopard and her cub! Lots of elephants, a lion, Jackels, the list goes on. Wonderful experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Safari and 60th Birthday”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything the food the view and the company superb, the lodge was situated within game reserve, hidden away from the animals in the park. Swimming pool, the local Samburu Warriors would arrange simly games and go on walks with you. The food was fantastic and the staff and service was brilliant would recommend to anybody going on safari.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Samburu National Reserve”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Like many of the reserves in Kenya Samburu has something different to offer. Being north of equator it is hotter than most, but the wildlife is amazing, including the bird life. You are never short of elephants, impala, kirk's dik dik, which although can be seen in other places, are common in Samburu. Grevy's zebra can also be found in numbers, although you may have to cross the river to Buffalo Springs to see them. Lion, leopard and the giraffe antelope, the gerenuk, which is not found elsewhere. The light at Samburu is wonderful for photography and if you stay at the Samburu Game Lodge an evening visit by courting greater kudu is not uncommon. A place not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Samburu NR is the most beautiful wild place on Earth”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in Samburu NR about 20 times in the last 25 years. We never tire of it, the scenery is fantastic, the animals are plentiful and the local people are the most friendly we have found anywhere in this world. Samburu is home to several endemic species, Grevies Zebra, Reticulated Giraffe, Oryx, Greater and Lesser Kudu, Gerenuk, Somali ostrich, pancake tortoise and many other animals like Elephant, Lion, Leopard, Cheetah, Buffalo, Common Zebra etc etc. If you are very lucky you may just see a wild dog or two! Their is also around 450 different species of birds. If you can get your driver to take you to Archers Post their is several schools and Samburu Villages that welcome visitors. A beer in the local Hotel?? the Acacia behind the Butchers shop is an experience not to be missed. Kenya has a two tiered charging system for drink, Western Hotels etc can charge what they like but locals pay a figure set by central government so it is a good idea to stock up outside the parks. We have hired the same driver for most of our visits a great guy called Simon Ndururi from Migration East Africa. What he doesn't know about everything isn't worth knowing. He always goes the extra miles to ensure guests have a wonderful time. He is on Facebook and his email is sstndururi@yahoo.com. Warning If you catch the bug you will keep going back I promise you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaba National Reserve also viewed

Samburu National Reserve, Samburu District
 

Been to Shaba National Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing