We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp - but very few guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great camp - but very few guests”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at Intrepids with 2 boys aged 9 and 15 in a family tent - ie. 2 tents with a common area in between. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the staff to be lovely and helpful. Ken our waiter was delightful.

The food was ok but nothing special. There were also renovations going on around the decking area which didn't look particularly appealing but did not disturb either. The boys only swam in the pool once.

Francis, the Samburu warrior, was funny and spent quite a lot of time with the boys teaching them how to use a bow and arrow as well as the slingshot. He did the evening talks about the animals & culture of the Samburu.

There were very few guests with only about 3 or 4 of the 25 tents being used. This was the case everywhere we stayed. January is not high season but it usually doesn't get quiet until April so this would be disturbing for the camps.

Overall though we did enjoy our stay here. Probably would not drive from Nairobi again as this is a full day (not 5 hours as we were told).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    71
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
154
150
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from our Heritage flying safari, we stayed at
Samburu Intrepids for 2 nights, tents are very private,with lovely thatch roofs not like tents
at all, lovely walk in shower fully tiled and proper loo seperate. Beds are lovely four poster
and are very comfy had no problem sleeping here and so long as you tie them up
properly the monkeys will keep out! Staff here are very friendly, Francis is very interesting and took us on a bush walk showed us how to make a toothbrush and also
took us to village which makes you realise how lucky you are. Food here is good but not
as good as the Mara Intrepids, it was very quiet when we went only few people here.
Would like to go back again to both Intrepid camps.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JunieCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We were not sure what to expect and for what it's worth this is the only safari we've ever been on but this facility is amazing! The staff is friendly, the food is excellent and plentiful and we had fun staying in a luxury tent which was spotless. Dominic was our guide and he did everything he could to make sure we enjoyed the drives. Viewing the scenery was just as enjoyable as seeing the animals.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandRiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We had three nights here in October and were just amazed by the location, accomodation and the friendliness and service provided by all the staff.
Their attention to detail made our stay really memorable.
In just three days we felt like part of the family and were sad to have to move on.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldsOldbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in lats Sept. We were booked here by our safari operator Eastern & Southern Safaris in Nairobi. We absolutely loved Intrepids. In no time we knew everyone by name and they knew us, including the manager, Edwin.

Tents were just grand, food was excellent, service was of the highest level. Our game driver, Dom, was excellent. The vehicle was the high, opensided Landrover type, perfect.

One of the best things that we did was have a picnic breakfast at the spring in Buffalo Spring NP. A beautiful setting with the most colorful birds flitting about begging for crumbs and animals coming to the water downstream to drink.

A word on the drought. Kenya is currently having a very severe drought. The river in front of Intrepids is totally dry and has been for months, but when you are at Intrepids you don't feel like you are in drought conditions, everything is shady, green, and cool. The monkeys are everywhere and the genet cats visit the restaurant in the evening. The park itself was very dry, but it is always dry. There were plenty of animals and they were obviously healthy, but I hope it soon rains enough to get the river flowing again. There was water flowing in the river down in the Buffalo Springs area.

We loved Samburu and Intrepids and had a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Wonderful camp with great food & great service. You could want for nothing in this camp; we had come from the Presidential Suite at Sabi Sabi which we gave 6 stars but with a camp & surrounds in severe drought we gave Intrepids 5 stars for s stay we would not have wanted to miss! The chef is to be complimented on variety, presentation & imagination + excellent staff in every category.
We could never have imagined the country side to be so terribly dry; the river was just sand with elephants & baboons digging for water & village people herding their starving goats along the edges in the vain hope of a little grass.

The lions made kills and just ate the heart, liver & entrails as food was so plentiful with so many animals weak from hunger & thirst. Neither the vultures nor hyena were much interested in picking over the bones as there were so many fresh carcasses to look over!

There were plenty of herd animals but the cats were outstanding, lions fat & lazy with many cubs & in large prides, cheetah roaming about also with either a half grown sons or daughters, leopard were numerous too and all of them 'up close & personal' The cats were of course in great condition, shiny coats & bright eyes flowing manes just all the other grass/water dependant animals were so very thin & lack luster it made us all really very sad.....the staff said they have had no rain for over a year now, most don't remember it ever being this bad - if the rains don't come soon it will be utter devastation for the village people and the camps!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieCouple226-228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
363 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We enjoyed 3 nights at Samburu Intrepids. It was a relaxed a comfortable lodge sitting above the river. The park itself was wonderful, with so many species unique to Samburu. The other factor that we enjoyed was that it wasn't too crowded.

The rooms are permanent tents sitting on platforms above the river bank. The rooms are cool, shaded by large trees. The beds were comfortable with ceiling fans to take the edge of the afternoon heat. The bathrooms, whilst not large were fine. We didn't want for anything by way of amenity. Do watch out as the local monkeys have become very skilled at unzipping the tents.

The key difference at this lodge were the staff. Just so cheerful, helpful and informative. The evening talks, by local Samburu warriors came to life with their knowledge and enthusiam. In addition to the morning and evening game drives we took a guided walk with one of the Samburu warriors which opened a new dimension to a better understanding the eco system that makes up the park.

On one of these walks, my wife had a very long thorn penetrate the thick sole of her boot. The staff couldn't have been more concerned and helpful in rendering first aid and ensuring that she was fine.

The meals were a notch above the standard we had expected in these safari lodges - less buffets and more cooked to order (even in the buffets there were cooked to order dishes). The staff were all very happy and genuinely friendly, addressing you my name in the majority of instances. You were made to feel very welcome.

Our only minor complaint was that the swimming pool closed too early each evening (6pm). We would have loved a post safari swim at around 6.30pm

This is a lodge that goes out of its way to give you a warm welcome and to ensure that you leave with fond memories. We rate it very highly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
344 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
323 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#12 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing