We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Safari Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very comfortable tented camp/lodge experience with excellent game viewing and bird life.
Nice to have a pool area, meals and night time entertainment were excellent. Sound of the wild were mixed with sounds of Masai cattle bells, donkeys, and greetings because the other side of the river is communal land - but this did not detract from the overall experience which was wonderful.

Room Tip: Family orientated and child friendly so not a pristine wildlife experience if that is what you seek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hglynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at Samburu Intrepids Camp. It is our joy to know that you had a fantastic stay with us. I am glad you got to experience some wonderful game viewing and bird life. Samburu Game reserve has a lot to offer especially if you consider the “special five” which are only found in the Northern part of Kenya.

Thank you once again and I hope that you will plan to visit us again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    73
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
156
160
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place was heavenly!! The tents were over the top luxurious and the staff were exceptional!! I was able to observe Tilas & James do an evening presentation on the Samburu culture as well as the special 5 species to see at this individual reserve.

We had a special experience of having two elephants feeding outside I out tent balcony ~25 yards away. So special !

Food was great. Wake up call was special with coffee/tea/biscuit delivery.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank druzzo5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

“Heaven on Earth” is the most majestic description for any place. The team here at Samburu Intrepids Camp is very humbled by the excellent review you have posted about your stay. Tilas and James are very precious to employees to us because they add so much value to the guest stay. I am glad that they made a good impression on your experience as well.

The joy of a safari is definitely to see the wildlife up-close and for you I think this was an added bonus; to see the elephants so close to your tent. Thank you for taking time to send this review and we hope to see you at Samburu Intrepids again for a repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights in April and had a great time. The animals were plentiful and the staff was excellent. Dom, our guide, was very informative and knew the park well.

I would recommend this for families because of the kids club. The food was ok but besides that the trip was awesome.

Room Tip: Plan on having about $150 USD (13,000 KSH) for tips for a 2 day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinoOdjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the camp and on the game drives as well. I wish to thank you for mentioning our very experienced guide Dominic. He is one of the best at what he does and he is always focused on his job.

As you have rightly recommended, Samburu Intrepids Camp is ideal for families since we have a very active kids club. The attendants at the club are very friendly with the kids and they have a host of activities which keep the kids busy, happy and educate them at the same time.

Thank you once again for taking time to write this review and I truly hope that you will visit us again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Having read all the positive reviews of Intrepids, we choose Intrepids over other excellent lodges in Samburu. We had a nice stay but expected more.
Price was good but a couple of things made us think it was a bit average. First of all, the lodge is located in Samburu at the river bank but at the other side there are human settlements with cattle. Some of these cows have bells around their neck. Also at night. So you can imagine...
The dining area is also very dark and you do not have a clear view on the river. A pity, especially when the weather is beautiful.
Service was very good and the people of Intrepids did everything to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to send our special greetings to you and thank you for having chosen to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp during your recent safari holiday.
I would like to appreciate your positive feedback on your experience at the camp and I am glad that the service offered by our team left a good impression on your mind.
Please allow me to comment on the shortcomings that you have highlighted in this review. I agree with you that it is common to see cattle being brought to the river by the locals to drink some water. This is mainly because the land across the river adjacent to our camp is community land. The river acts as a boundary between the game reserve and the community settlements. Initially when we built our camp the population in these areas was very small but because of our efforts to continually support the community mainly by providing medical services from our clinic the numbers around us has increased over the years.
Our ultimate goal would be to see these areas converted into conservation land for preservation of nature and wildlife and to this end we are committed to working with the county government and the local community leaders to make this happen.
The other area of concern is the dining room lighting. Our lighting system works on dimmer switches and since we do candle lit sit down dinner menus in the evenings we prefer to dim the lights to create that elegant effect. Otherwise it can easily be adjusted on guest request.
As for the view of the river, I can say that we do have a lot of brush growing along the river banks. These can sometimes conceal the view while the guest is dinning in the restaurant. We tend to trim it and create viewing windows but we try not to cut them down because we want to avoid any form of erosion. Since the rains are with us now we will embark on trimming them immediately to get that very important view of the river.
Finally please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused by the above mentioned issues. We truly hope that this will not dampen your enthusiasm for the Intrepids brand and we look forward to your repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

An excellent lodge. Located within the reserve, arriving was an exciting game drive in itself. The tents were luxurious, spacious and clean. The food was great and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyPaavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some precious moments of your time to post this very excellent review about your stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. You have really captured the essence of our hospitality very well in your narration and we are most grateful that you chose to spend your safari holiday with us. We are happy that you mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the great meal experience. Thank you for adding the stunning tent photos as well.

We hope that you will visit us again when you plan for your next holiday.

Best wishes,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I were part of a travel group that stayed here. We thought the tents were great! We enjoyed that experience. The breakfast and lunch were buffet. The evening meal was from the menu. The food was good. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. There's even a nice little gift shop. The staff was cordial.The Samburu Game Reserve was awesome - the wildlife abundant. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. I am glad that you took time to post this nice review and to mention some of the highlights of your visit. We always strive to make sure that all our guests get the best of the services that we offer and this has been made possible by the professional team of employees who work at the camp. Thank you for commenting on their courteous service and we hope to meet with you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This tented camp is vey good located in Samburu park itself. This makes game drives easy and interesting. The capacity of the camp is relatively large more than 20 tents/rooms. That is reflected in the capacity of the dining and recreation area.
Meals are either buffet or a la cart depending on the number of guests. The food is average of quality (perhaps with a slight improvement when the number of guests allows for buffet).
The accommodation is very tasteful and spacious. The rooms/tents are clean and give privacy and a nice view of the river. The park is teaming with animals, mammals and birds.
If traveling with kids this might be your perfect choice, not stuck up or over te top luxurious.
Nice pool area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this very good review of Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very privileged that you chose our property as your safari destination.

As you have hinted we have 28 luxury tents with a medium size restaurant and our tents are all well secluded to offer enough privacy for all guests. Our standard of service in the restaurant when we have good occupancies is a full buffet for breakfast and lunch and then a 7 course sit down dinner menu in the evenings with different choices.

We have a very popular kids club at the camp which is very important for families travelling with children. Our two attendants who are also qualified Naturalists keep the children busy while the parents relax and enjoy their holiday.

I truly hope that when you plan your next safari holiday you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
357 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing