We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
$126
$80
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
410
80
17
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
80
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented campour waitergame drivesthe riverour tour guidebow and arrowwake up callbefore dinnertent attendantevening talksdouble sinksfantastic guidethe reservecomfortable tentsresident naturalistgame driverassistant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 511 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently returned from my holiday in Kenya. Stayed in Samburu Intrepid tented Camp for two days, What an amazing experience.The place was beautiful,the rooms were gorgeous, but the most impressed is the service. All staff are friendly and with charming smile. The guests are treated as Queen and King. Our group was arranged a surprised breakfast at the river bank. It's really touched everyone's heart. They treat guest as the one you love,not only provide the standard service, but also make the surprise to please her or him. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimond06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Intrepids_Mgr, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad that you had such an amazing stay at Samburu Intrepids. We take a lot of pride in our staff because of the extra personalised care they take when offering services to you. It is very kind of you to mention them in your review.
We are also proud to here that you were all touched by our breakfast surprise. It is very encouraging to know that you appreciate our efforts.
Thank you for your wonderful recommendations and do have a Merry Christmas!

Best Regards,
Samburu Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is the 2nd tented camp (after Mara Siria & before Sweetwaters) - and it is a lovely oasis of a camp near the river. The welcome reception was very refreshing with a cold towel and mango juice. There were 30+ of us international travellers and we all got allocated our luxury tent on a wooden frame - ours was facing the river. Btw there was this huge owl sitting on the ground outside our structure and we almost walked right past it too. The inside of the tent was most comforting - and they even had hot water bottles under the sheets at night - very nice & warm till the morning! Meals were buffet style in the dining lounge - open air. Spotted a resident genet handing around the rafters! Sundowners were accompanied by a star talk one evening and a Samburu presentation the second evening. The safaris were awesome - in fact we saw an ostrich and an elephant before we even left the compound!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayTee369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Intrepids_Mgr, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids. We are glad that you enjoyed both our facilities and services that we offer at the camp. It's quite amazing that you were able to spot an owl, a genet cat plus see an elephant and our resident ostrich from within the camp.
We hope that you will include Samburu Intrepids in your travel itenerary as you plan for your next safari holiday.
Kind Regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This property is stunning. Florence, the assistant manager, ensures that all staff follow her lead with regard to service, excellence, and conviviality. The tents are beautiful, the food is excellent, and the staff make sure that your every need is met. They offer daily naturalist programs, and astronomy walks, and overall, you could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OaklandVisit2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank for choosing to stay at the Samburu Intrepids. We note that you were delighted with the services and the personnel and this is good news to us.
We do look forward to hosting you again in the not so distant a future.
Kind Regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I simply love this hotel. The grounds are very pretty, the rooms are stunning, beautifully appointed, the staff is attentive and friendly and the food is delicious. The property sits on the Samburu Reserve. The animal viewing is fabulous and we were able to come within close proximity, making the whole experience memorable. I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you visited the Samburu Intrepid. We further appreciate that you have taken time to post on the Tripadvisor forum. This is truly appreciated.
It is clear you enjoyed your stay immensely and all the Bouquets you have passed on to us have been shared with the Team members.
Allow me to mention that we run an incentive and the persons mentioned many times qualify for some special awards and goodies.
The Team in Samburu looks forward to hosting you again in the near future. Send your Friends and Relations too.
We are glad you came,
The Samburu Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This camp is so lovely it spoiled us for the rest of the trip! The "tents" are beautiful, with wood and tile flooring, modern fixtures, beautiful netting and bedding. The staff were so friendly, warm and personable - Flo and Tilas answered our unending curious questions with joy. The dining was delightful, a small menu selection for dinner was very elegant (compared to most with buffets). Delightful people, delightful camp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Samburu Intrepids Club. We note that you were by and large elated and that's good news.
It is nice you mention about Food. The Heritage Lodges all have a plated meal for Dinner as we believe Guest need at least one meal where they sit down and are spoiled with service.
We are happy you enjoyed it.
We all look forward to having you visit us again soon. Send you friends too.
The Samburu Intrepids Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews