We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond Among Emeralds & Pearls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Diamond Among Emeralds & Pearls”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This is much more than a "tented camp!" The tents, which serve as cottages, are extremely elegant and well appointed. It's not a luxury hotel room, but it's as close as you can get and still retain the rugged outdoor appeal of the Samburu National Reserve. The staff is superb and extremely friendly and attentive - you'll want for nothing!

The food is quite good and a very varied menu is offered. Don't miss getting a massage after the main event - a few days of scouring the park seeing the breathtaking animals and landscapes!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Allow me to borrow from you and indeed agree that Samburu Intrepids is "A Diamond among Emeralds and Pearls"
No better definition. We are so glad you liked it.
Kind regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    68
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
149
148
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited Kenya last week and my first stop was the Samburu Intrepids Tented Camp. It was magnificent! The "tents" were gorgeous, clean and right overlooking the river. The food was amazing, the staff excellent and they even washed and ironed my clothes for practically nothing!! The baboons were fun to watch over the river, but they would not cross for fear of the crocs. The monkeys are hilarious to watch-but be careful to zip your tent or they will come in and tip over your stuff and reek havoc!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful...but if you have any limitations on walking, ask for a room close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddccoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I agree with you that one should not miss Samburu Intrepids. The only other very good Camps and Resorts if you allow me to mention with humility are the ones we manage within the Heritage Hotels portfolio. Mara Intrepids Club, Maasai Mara; Voyager Safari Camp, Ziwani, Tsavo East; Kipungani Explorer, Lamu; Mara Explorer, Maasai Mara; Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort and the Voyager Beach Resort in Mombasa.
You will never go wrong with these units. I write without prejudice
Kind Regards,
Group Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to Samburu Intrepids as the first stop on our Honeymoon. Having been on safari I already new what to expect and Intrepids exceeded my expectations. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend staying here I can guarantee you will love it.

My new husband was worried about snakes and spiders but his doubts just disappeared on arrival as the tents are so clean and beautifully decorated.

The staff couldn't do enough to please us and the food was amazing.

Jelly our driver was very knowledgable and good fun.

We went for the wildlife but fell in love with the people.

We can only dream that we will go back so if you get the opportunity just do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea13Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in all the anniversaries to come
Kind regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Samburu Intrepids was just about perfect. The tented accommodation was great, food excellent, service better than excellent and location wonderful. Its quite a few years since I've been to Samburu but I'll be returning as soon as possible. The wildlife was incredible on this trip - huge herds of elephants crossing the river, lions hunting, cheetahs, leopard, the beautiful grevys zebra and more dik diks than you could wish for!
Also worthy of note at Intrepids was the starman - a very well educated Samburu warrior who took my friends and I out gazing at the night skies. A wonderful experience.
All in all I just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Samburu. It is nice you had time to do star gazing something which to the best of my knowledge is done within the Heritage Hotels only.
We all look forward to see you in your next visit which we hope will be soon.
Kind regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't be fooled by the "tented camp" - these are wonderful accommodations right in the heart of the action! We had a wonderful stay at Samburu. While there was a mix-up with our reservation when we first arrived, the staff absolutely made up for the error by moving us into our room the next day and offering plenty of free "perks" (massages, free drinks, complimentary upgrades). We really enjoyed all of the food, the swimming pool, the amenities as well as the kindness and professionalism of the staff. We have highly recommended Intrepids to our friends and families and would certainly stay here again on our next trip to Kenya. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Guest,
I must start by apologizing that initially we got your reservations wrong. I am happy we recovered and the rest of the stay was awesome.
We are truly honored that you came to stay with us in the Samburu Intrepids. we cant wait for your next visit and please send your friends too.
Kind Regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We returned to Samburu Intrepids on 8th October. Don't believe any bad comments.We found everything 110% I cannot think of one minus point. Tents first class, food fantastic, location wonderful, all staff friendly, helpful. Lodge grounds very well kept. Lovely early calls with hot chocolate. .Everything clean and well cared for. Tillas great naturist. Fantastic game drives.Guide Jelly very knowledgeable. We enjoyed every second!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I have almost nothing to add to this review other than agree with you that Samburu Intrepids is fantastic. We intend to continue working towards being the BEST. We look forward to your next visit and the review that will come with it.
Kind Regards,
The Samburu Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a free upgrade to our itinerary but we were so impressed. The luxury tent was beautiful and the food here was divine. There are monkey's galore and a lovely pool. The staff were very nice and pointed out a croc resting on the bank of the river during the hot afternoon. Safari in this park was also top notch. A great place to spot leopards! This was my favorite piece of Kenya!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIRLEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
WE are all so glad you enjoyed immensely. We are truly honored to have been of service.
The Samburu Intrepids Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing