We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ashnil Samburu Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sentrim Samburu Lodge(Samburu National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$147
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samburu Riverside Camp(Samburu National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$78
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Umoja Camp Site(Samburu National Reserve)
$29
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Elephant Bedroom Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
$805
$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
$155
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Saruni Samburu(Samburu National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samburu Sopa Lodge(Samburu National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Larsens Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
415
81
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
81
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented campour waitergame drivesthe riverour tour guidebow and arrowwake up callbefore dinnertent attendantevening talksdouble sinksfantastic guidethe reservecomfortable tentsresident naturalistgame driverassistant manager
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 518 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited Samburu as part of a 6 night flying safari in February and had an amazing stay. Our 'Tent' was first class and very comfortable. We didnt get invaded by monkeys as we observed the rules of shutting the tent properly to stop invasion! It was good to have a torch on hand in case of waking in the middle of the night when there is no power. The Baboons had a little party while we there in the middle of the night but the security guards shoo them away so you do feel safe! The hotel pool was very welcoming inbetween Safaris but beware of the monkeys, they will come and take fruit from your drink by the pool!! I recommend a Dawa cocktail...just ask for one. The restaurant was lovely, the food very good and the cultural talks at sundown very interesting. Our guide Dominic was brilliant, checking every time what we wanted and hoped to see...and generally finding it for us. I didnt want to leave Samburu as I loved it but it was time to move on to the Great Rift Valley. So off we headed for the local landing strip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hello Guest,
So elated you had a nice time. All of us look forward to meeting you again soon.
Regards,
The Samburu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The trips to and from airstrip and the lodge (1 1/2 hr) were safaris in their own right. The service we received from the personal welcome through the lodge care and restaurant service to the departure couldn't be faulted. The restaurant food quality was good at every meal. Of the three National Parks we visted this holiday (Samburu, Lake Naivasha and Maasi Mara) we thought the Samburu was the best. This was enhanced by our excellent safari guide, Jelli, who revealed to us the Samburu special five and lots more. We did have the unfortunate experience of our Land Rover being stuck in the mud from the first rains of the season but the rescue team ultimately got us out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello Guest,
We are so glad you had a nice experience in Samburu Intrepids. We look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards,
The Samburu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first trip to Samburu after many trips to Maasai Mara and Tsavo, and I was very impressed by the variety of animals. Intrepids is a mid-range tented camp, and is a good value for the money. The food was inconsistent, ranging from okay to excellent. The camp is run on generator power and they post a regular schedule which provides plenty of opportunity to recharge batteries. I read all other reviews and the Heritage website before going in an attempt to find out if there was internet access available at the camp but could not find the answer anywhere. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that there is free wifi access available near the reception area. The speed was not adequate to upload any photos but it did allow me to stay in touch via email and facebook.

The camp manager, Richard, went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met; and his attitude toward customer service is reflected in his staff. Everyone from the receptionist, Doris, to the dining staff to the driver/guide went the extra mile to provide an excellent experience. If you have time, be sure to schedule a massage; Salmah is an excellent massage therapist!

The highlight to any safari is the wildlife, and we saw it all. Our experience started as we traveled from the airstrip to the camp and the driver spotted a cheetah ready to hunt. We sat for about 10 minutes then saw the cheetah bring down an impala and stayed to watch the whole process. We also saw lions and a baby leopard, along with many elephants, giraffes, and a wide variety of antelope.

In short, Intrepids was a very comfortable and affordable base and the staff did everything possible to ensure we had a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you had a WOW experience in Samburu. We shall be honored to host you again soon. I have taken note of your kind words on the Team.
Good Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Samburu area is definitely beautiful, but this is an old lodge in need of some renovation. Specially the common areas ( lounge, restaurant, swimming pool, shop) of Intrepids lack charm and are outdated. It seems therefore not correct to call this a "luxury camp"....
The rooms/tents have been renovated and they are ok.
We did a nice bird walk, and guides were good.
The management of the hotel is not so active, and in the way out we could not settle the bill and no solution was provided.... spent one hour at the reception and everybody seemed to be just sleeping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Samburu Intrepids. I have taken note of all the comment raised and will work on them. Further i will certainly contact you and update you on my findings.
As you may have noticed i do respond to all comment posted on this Forum and i must confess the last two have been very unsatisfactory an indication that something may be a miss and i will undertake to establish what this is.
I am so glad you visited and took time to post feedback.
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Its a good location in the national park. But is a DISASTER SERVICE. Takes them 2 hours to prepare dinner. Then both the days in the morning, there was no water in the camp and no way to communicate with the reception. One has to walk down to the reception (1 km walk). And then ask them about the problem. They know. But wont do anything till the individual guest walks to them. It is simply lackadaisical attitude. Now that you have paid them the money, they don't care. The food quality was bad, the presentation was good. But....
I will never come here again. And I don't recommend anyone to come here too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandymadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Allow me to start by apologizing for responding to your comment late. I have taken note of your comments and clearly something went very wrong. I am in touch with the Unit and will revert to you with a full explanation shortly.
I am so glad you raised this matter .
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews