We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first trip to Samburu after many trips to Maasai Mara and Tsavo, and I was very impressed by the variety of animals. Intrepids is a mid-range tented camp, and is a good value for the money. The food was inconsistent, ranging from okay to excellent. The camp is run on generator power and they post a regular schedule which provides plenty of opportunity to recharge batteries. I read all other reviews and the Heritage website before going in an attempt to find out if there was internet access available at the camp but could not find the answer anywhere. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that there is free wifi access available near the reception area. The speed was not adequate to upload any photos but it did allow me to stay in touch via email and facebook.

The camp manager, Richard, went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met; and his attitude toward customer service is reflected in his staff. Everyone from the receptionist, Doris, to the dining staff to the driver/guide went the extra mile to provide an excellent experience. If you have time, be sure to schedule a massage; Salmah is an excellent massage therapist!

The highlight to any safari is the wildlife, and we saw it all. Our experience started as we traveled from the airstrip to the camp and the driver spotted a cheetah ready to hunt. We sat for about 10 minutes then saw the cheetah bring down an impala and stayed to watch the whole process. We also saw lions and a baby leopard, along with many elephants, giraffes, and a wide variety of antelope.

In short, Intrepids was a very comfortable and affordable base and the staff did everything possible to ensure we had a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you had a WOW experience in Samburu. We shall be honored to host you again soon. I have taken note of your kind words on the Team.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    73
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
156
160
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Samburu area is definitely beautiful, but this is an old lodge in need of some renovation. Specially the common areas ( lounge, restaurant, swimming pool, shop) of Intrepids lack charm and are outdated. It seems therefore not correct to call this a "luxury camp"....
The rooms/tents have been renovated and they are ok.
We did a nice bird walk, and guides were good.
The management of the hotel is not so active, and in the way out we could not settle the bill and no solution was provided.... spent one hour at the reception and everybody seemed to be just sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Samburu Intrepids. I have taken note of all the comment raised and will work on them. Further i will certainly contact you and update you on my findings.
As you may have noticed i do respond to all comment posted on this Forum and i must confess the last two have been very unsatisfactory an indication that something may be a miss and i will undertake to establish what this is.
I am so glad you visited and took time to post feedback.
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Its a good location in the national park. But is a DISASTER SERVICE. Takes them 2 hours to prepare dinner. Then both the days in the morning, there was no water in the camp and no way to communicate with the reception. One has to walk down to the reception (1 km walk). And then ask them about the problem. They know. But wont do anything till the individual guest walks to them. It is simply lackadaisical attitude. Now that you have paid them the money, they don't care. The food quality was bad, the presentation was good. But....
I will never come here again. And I don't recommend anyone to come here too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandymadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Allow me to start by apologizing for responding to your comment late. I have taken note of your comments and clearly something went very wrong. I am in touch with the Unit and will revert to you with a full explanation shortly.
I am so glad you raised this matter .
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Walking up to the rooms, I was excited to zip up the opening to walk through and amazed at the luxurious rooms. We stayed here two nights. I highly recommend those travelling through Kenya to make a stop in the Samburu area (and stay here). The elephants were incredible, more than anywhere else on our 14 day safari. We saw many animals and had fantastic game drives. This camp isn't far away. The food and service were stellar. The new manager is doing a good job of meeting and talking with guests (he had supper with us one night) to find out what they're doing well on and what needs improving. This was our first stop and was memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar , some you walk to a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpolinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for staying at Samburu. We do appreciate the special bouquets posted on the TA.
Regards,
The Samburu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I stay somewhere on a full board basis (especially when there really aren't many, or any, other options for food), that tends to be my basis for any rating. The food at Samburu Intrepids is at times excellent and exactly what you expect from a luxury property and at times disappointing. They score big points for providing some tasty appetizers before dinner while you sip your post-game drive drinks at the bar. Most of the meals, especially breakfast were outstanding. One night we had risotto that was more just rice with mushrooms and onions, not really what you expect when you order risotto. The next night I had one of the tastiest and most perfectly grilled steaks I've had in all of Africa (all that I've visited, anyway). The desserts were the most hit and miss, with a chocolate mousse that was frozen, grainy and devoid of most flavor.

Otherwise, the tents are fantastic with excellent amenities. The surroundings are gorgeous and the talks before dinner each night are informative and well done by a couple of local Samburu naturalists. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same with views of the Uaso river and a mostly private, peaceful feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for this feedback. I take note of the comment on Food and will try to establish what happened as normally the Food in Samburu has always been splendid.
We are so glad you visited and took time to send your post.
Kind regards,
The Samburu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights here. The rooms were outstanding. The staff were fantastic. The food was absolutely outstanding. Above all the game runs exceeded anything we expected. Stay here.

The animals were incredible. It was the best place we stayed in our week long safari. There were so many animals to see. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay immensely.
The Samburu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just got back from a Kenya safari a few days ago. Our travel companies, Gate 1/ Vintage Africa chose Samburu Intrepids and we were glad they did. My wife said she would never camp in a tent, but that was before she had this kind of experience. The first of our two nights we were the only guests, and boy did we get the royal treatment. The staff was so friendly and kind, from our server to the naturalist who took us for a nature /bird watching walk. Did I mention the food was incredible - appetizer, soup, sorbet, choice of a couple of entrees, desert, and coffee well prepared when we were by ourselves and when we were joined by a larger group on the second night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tours2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello Guest,
Your wish is our command. So glad you had a Ball
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
356 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing