We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to our Safari holiday,what a place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to our Safari holiday,what a place.”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here as the first leg of our Safari holiday. There were five of us 4 adults and one 16 year old. It is the most amazing place and we were treated like kings. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. Sebastian our guide was excellent and found us all the game we could hope to see and such a variety. Francis the Masai warrior here was helpful and informative and good fun. We were all sad to leave this magical place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    73
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
155
156
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the moment our group of 18 arrived we were treated as welcomed guests. The staff could not do enough for us, they were fantastic with the 6 children in our group party, playing football and waterball games between game drives.
Jelly was our driver for the 3 nights, we saw 4 of the big 5 very quickly plus view of the special 5. We gave helots car the nick name of the jellymobile. His sense of humour was amazing he even put up with our new list of the imaginary five. ( White tiger, bed snake,Sussex penguin, horse cockroach and grizzly bear). Our night with the bush dinner is one I will always remember with fond memories.
Samburu is a great place to start a safari trip we will be bsck.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex_Ashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I travelled to the Intrepids at Samburu as part of our Honeymoon, staying for three nights, and our stay exceeded our expectations in every way. Having flown in from Nairobi with Safarilink we were met by our guide “Jelly” who looked after us while we were there. Thoroughly attentive throughout, he made each game drive (two a day) an experience in itself and managed to get us repeated viewings of the “Samburu 5” (including the Wild Dogs!!).
The camp itself is breathtaking. Before travelling I was confused how the words “luxury” and “tent” could find themselves in the same sentence but I now truly understand the concept. The accommodation was immaculately maintained both inside and out. Beds are made up every day, and are then turned down for you in the evenings before you return from your drive. The little attentions to detail are all there as well, for example, I carry a bottle of water that is attached to my camera bag, and this was replaced every day along with the bottled water in the tent.
The food was of a very high standard. Suffering from IBS I was never sure that Africa was going to be a top destination but my wife had insisted, and I need not have worried. Our waiter for our stay (Eric) was excellent throughout, as were the hotel staff Miriam, Martin and Faith to name a few.
Despite being full, you are never really aware of there being more than a handful of guests present, which lends itself perfectly to the ambient environment. At no extra cost (as standard) we were treated to an evening bush dinner in the desert and entertained by the local Samburu tribe. In the evenings, a local warrior named Francis would give short, interesting presentations on the history of the area and the people, and his knowledge of astronomy has to be heard to be believed. On his recommendation Jelly took us to the local village (20km) away which was worth travelling all the way to Africa to see on its own. A truly humbling experience of the local people and the local school, who were more than happy to receive us.
All in all, I couldn’t recommend Samburu enough, and having also visited its sister site in the Masai Mara I would say that Samburu is the superior location by far. I only wish that we didn’t have to leave.
Asante Sana!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHFiBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I have posted it on the wall of fame so all Associates may read what you felt about your visit.
We do joke that Maybe when God Created the World he was in Samburu. It is simply awesome even for us who work here.
WE hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The luxury tented rooms in this facility are unbelievably nice. Imwouldnsay theynrank up with most 4 star hotels in the United States. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The facility's on site naturalist Francis was extremely knowledgable and gave two excellent talks on the Kenyan tribal way of life and the animals that reside in the Samburu game reserve. This was by far the best accommodations I had on my entire trip!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Has42379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We acknowledge your kind feedback. We are so excited you had a Nice time. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

From the moment we arrived we had a warm and friendly welcome from professional,well informed staff.Everyone greeted us around the camp and helped us to learn Swahili.
Our tented room like all the others overlooked the river and the beautiful four poster bed was very comfortable. The showers were good and we even had his and hers washbasins.I can't think of any way they could improve these arrangements.
The camp has an abundance of birds and monkeys wander around freely but did not bother us. We saw a family of baboons across the river,playing near the water.A local Samburu villager walked his 3 camels with clanging bells on the opposite bank.
As the camp is in the Samburu Reserve you are never far from wildlife.We were lucky to see cheetah,lion with their kill and lionesses looking for prey.We saw the Samburu Special Five except the ostrich was the female not the male with the blue neck.We took the opportunity to go out with a bird expert who ponted out many birds around the camp.
My lasting memories are of delicious buffet breakfasts on the airy verandah while David ,a local Samburu villager played haunting music on his flute. In fact all the food was good. In the evenings we had a film show and talk about the local wildlife by Frances (in native dress) another Samburu villager who works at the camp.What did I like least? Getting up at 6am for 6.30am game drive but worth it once you see all the lovely animals.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hepzibah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The luxury tents are very well appointed, thoughtfully done up. The staff are very well trained and are ever attentive and forever smiling. Excellent warmth and care indeed, well done . The manager Mr Njenga went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Our game guide Sebastian who drove us around was a pleasure to be with, deeply knowledgeable, and very punctual always. He managed to take us to all parts of the area and we saw the rarest of rare - a pack of wild dogs too ! The food is well presented, the bar very good, the overall layout and facilities well designed. Everything worked like clockwork and we were delighted we chose this holiday. We shall certainly recommend this to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamjiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
What a beutiful review? Thank you for mentioning Names of the Associates who excell in services delivery. You will be happy to know that they automatically qualify for an incentive that we run in the Group.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family has just returned back from visiting Kenya, and our children (7,10) are already planning our next visit to Samburu. We spent 3 nights at Intrepids and have unanimously declared our stay there the highlight of our vacation. We were warmly met at the airstrip by Sebastian, who patiently guided us to the hotel smiling each time our kids wished to stop for every dik dik and impala (this amounted to stopping every few meters).
The tents were magnificent - spacious, beautifully decorated, and private. We enjoyed watching the vervet monkeys lounging on our balcony each day. Duncan made sure our family tent was beautifully organized and clean.
The food could not have been any better - excellent selection and variety of fresh foods. The dining staff were attentive and friendly.
The kids club was held after the morning game drives and after lunch. Fabiola and Francis were excellent with the kids, and did crafts, sling shot competitions, wild life tracking, and nature walks.
We would highly recommend visiting the local school and village for an afternoon. If possible bring books, crayons/pencils as their supplies are limited, and donations are very appreciated.
We leave the best for last: our guides Sebastian and Francis, a Samburu warrior, are what made our experience at Intrepids above and beyond our expectations. We were fortunate to have both guides with us for each game drive, and I am thankful that our laughter in the vehicle did not inhibit the animal sightings! Both Francis and Sebastian demonstrated a wealth of knowledge in the local animals, birds, and flora, and were able to answer our many questions with ease and confidence. All the five special animals unique to Samburu were seen multiple times, as well as cheetahs, lions, elephants, leopards, and wild dogs. In addition to the game drives Francis and Sebastian introduced us to the Samburu community and spent much time with us explaining their culture and traditions.
We were all sad to leave Intrepids. When asked by people what their favorite part of Kenya was, both our children declared Samburu, and especially Francis and Sebastian.
We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
I thank you for this review. I remember reading it earlier and thought had responded as I do with almost all comments posted on the Tripdadvisor. My apologies.
We are glad you had a nice time and are indeed making a plan to visit again. We have taken note of your comments on Sebastian and Duncan who both have worked with us for a long time and are part of the Foundation of Samburu Intrepids Club.
Just that you know the fact that you mentioned them in the TA means they automatically qualify as entrants in our incentive scheme that we have and are most likely to win as they have been mentioned by other Guests.
I am also posting this comment on the wall of fame so it can shared amongst all and used as a basis to make the Unit better than it is.
I am glad the Children had a Ball and we all look forward to hosting them again soon.
We wish you all well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
352 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#7 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing