We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back Soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Going Back Soon”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was our first safari and so did not know what to expect. We were extremely impressed with it all. From the greeting on arrival of the plane by the driver and the greeting at the camp. We did not know what to expect of the " tent " but could not fault it. This certainly is not a relaxing holiday as you have two game drives a day and have to fit in the meals and extra activities during the day and evenings. The food was great, but too much at times- my own fault as it buffet style service.
We had a guide called Sebastian who like others managed to show us every animal possible in 2 days except the Leopard-which we then saw within 10 minutes of arriving in Masi Mara. We could not believe how close he would get us to some of the animals and was so informative of the animals and birds. We really were spoilt. Possibly due to the time of year or recession or maybe always like this, but did not see as many other other Jeeps out on safarias we thought we would.
We celebrated a wedding anniversary whilst here and the staff made it very special by singing and dancing to us whilst presenting a cake they had made.
We then went of to The Great Rift Valley and The Masi Mara but definatly preferred Samburu.
All the staff at these camps were polite and helpful and were always willing to talk about the lives which was very interesting

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keef211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
I do take note of your kind review and the many accolades particularly for Samburu. I have advised the team and they are so happy to be edging there sister Units. I am also buying them a drink to appreciate the Good Job
Nice Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    73
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
155
156
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Mom, Dad and our 9 year-old daughter had a wonderful vacation here. We booked 2.5 days with Intrepids here, then moving on to Intrepids Maasi Mara. From the moment we were picked up at the air strip, in our open-air landrover, we had a very pleasant and warm reception from the staff, as well as from the other guests. Faciilities are excellent (excellent accomodations in picturesque four poster beds in luxury tents; excellent food & service)
Activity wise, there is lots to do: 2 game drives a day, plus educational opportunities, children's activities, swimming in the pool, hiking, educational slide shows in the evening and star-gazing at night. Our guide was a gentleman named Dimisinalo and a trainee name Fabiola, whose mission were to teach and show us about all there is to see in Samburu. And for the record we had three excellent drives seeing everything but the leopard. In addition, their are excurisions - we decided to visit the Samburu Village as well as see the Samburu dancers - a wonderful experience, especially with Jelly and Francis as our guides. In addition, Francis is a Samburu tribesman who leads the education sessions and participates in the drives - all in order to educate the guests about his tribe, the Sambura region, the constellations- you name it. We had a wonderful time and throughly recommend it for families as well as for couples old and young. Big fans of Samburu Intreprids

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iac5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
We thank you for this Review on Samburu Intrepids in the tripadvisor. It is the first one for us this month and I have taken a glass of Champagne to celebrate
I do take note of your kind remarks about the Associates and I will advise all of them how happy you were with the Camp and the services
It was our pleasure to be of Service and we look forward to seeing you soon again.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff! I especially liked the staff escorting us to the room to guard against elephants and monkeys. The tent was an amazing family tent with a double bed on one side, two single beds on the other side and a lovely lounge area in the middle. Overall, very nice and spacious, comfort and luxury at its finest. The location of the lodge and rooms by the river bank is amazing, it feels very one with nature. At night, an elephant would come and graze nearby which is an out of this world experience. I liked best the wake up call with tea/coffee and cookies in the morning before the game drive, I loved the game drives, very knowledgeable and patient driver, and I liked the rooms.
I did not like the food in the restaurant, it could be much better.

Room Tip: Tell the staff exactly what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you the wonderful review on the tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Unit and liked most of the things that went with it.
We note you did not like the Food, which is quite unusual as our Food is rated very Good. However the team is checking what may have transpired so it is corrected.
We look for ward to hosting you again soon.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were some of the first residents to use this camp after the floods of 2010 washed away much of the camp, and Kuoni were not sure wether it was ready or not?
They shouldnt have worried, the camp was absolutely perfect, beautiful scenary, clean tidy tents and the most pleasant staff you could wish for.
One night we were the only residents and yet they got the balance right between service and not being intrusive, the chef even came out and asked for our requests for the following 2 meals - real personal service.
The safari drivers did an excellent job and we saw all we could have imagined, the hotel staff couldnt do enough for you and a level of politeness most UK hotels could learn from.
The foof was a real revelation, absolutely top london quality and really fresh and tasty, Paul the chef is a magician.
As you can probably guess my wife and i loved this camp in every aspect, and the Samburu national park is much more compact than say the Mara, so you never have time to rest before the next aniaml appears. This is not a restful holiday as you are always on the go, but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neandethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your Tripadvisor Review. We note the kind comments on Paul and we are happily sharing with him the same.
We look forward to hosting you again and the many other people we believe you will send over to us.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molo
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

As seasoned travellers in east Africa we have not experienced this level of comfort, service and sheer pampering before.
The staff were genuinely attentive but seemed to instictively know when to appear and when to fade into the background.
The family tent was perfect for us with the added luxuary of our own sitting room overlooking the river.
As always with the Heritage Hotels group the food was super and every effort was made to accomodate special dietary needs.
A definite re-visit spot

Room Tip: The family tent was perfect for us. Three tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsMolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
it is my pleasure to acknowledge the review you posted on Samburu Intrepids. You will notice this is the first review this yaer and since we reopened after being washed by Floods.It naturally means a lot to me and the team.
We appreciate all the kind words about the staff and Unit in general. These will be posted on the "Wall of Fame" so all the associates can share them.
We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The tents are lovely, and the staff incredibly warm and welcoming. Our guide, Sebastian, was first-rate. Francis also took us on a great tour of a local village. The Samburu landscape is beautiful and varied. You do have to look for the animals, but that is part of the fun.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at Intrepids with 2 boys aged 9 and 15 in a family tent - ie. 2 tents with a common area in between. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the staff to be lovely and helpful. Ken our waiter was delightful.

The food was ok but nothing special. There were also renovations going on around the decking area which didn't look particularly appealing but did not disturb either. The boys only swam in the pool once.

Francis, the Samburu warrior, was funny and spent quite a lot of time with the boys teaching them how to use a bow and arrow as well as the slingshot. He did the evening talks about the animals & culture of the Samburu.

There were very few guests with only about 3 or 4 of the 25 tents being used. This was the case everywhere we stayed. January is not high season but it usually doesn't get quiet until April so this would be disturbing for the camps.

Overall though we did enjoy our stay here. Probably would not drive from Nairobi again as this is a full day (not 5 hours as we were told).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
352 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#7 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing