We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samburu Simba Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
$171
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
$130
$80
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
$44
Travelocity
View Deal
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
69
35
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
35
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolbuffalo springsresident crocodilerooms are bigbeautiful hotelgame drivesceiling fanan enjoyable stayviews are amazinggame reservethe staff were extremely friendlylovely poolgreat safarispecial thanksoverlooking the riverewaso nyiro riverbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 115 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I went to this lodge in November 2010 with my girlfriends, this was our first stop on a 10 day trip accross Kenya. The lodge was nice with friendly staff, spacious rooms and a great view of the park. I wasn't a huge fan of the 'english food', but the Indian food was very tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Samburu Simba Lodge for 3 nights in October 2011 during our 3 week African Adventure holiday.

We travelled by road from Nairobi which takes approx 5 to 6 hours. Upon arriving at the Lodge we were greeted by the staff with some refreshing hot towels and cool fruit drinks (which was a welcoming touch).

Our room was spacious and modern and decorated in African décor. Each room has a large balcony looking out to the reserve.

The meals are served buffet style with a large variety to choose from each day (and the menu changes each day).

You are allocated a waiter for your whole stay so the atmosphere in the dining area is friendly and relaxed. This gives you the opportunity to get to know your waiter a lot more than if they changed each day.

The only tip we would suggest is if you are travelling from Nairobi, fly into Samburu rather than travel by road. It’s a fair distance and is a lot quicker by Air (although you are restricted to 15kg’s of luggage each)

The Game Drives are very good with a lot of animals to see (although they can be quite well spread out in the Park).

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our first Safari experience in Kenya and our stay at Samburu Simba Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySKI_ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Outstanding service and staff. Excellent brand new and clean accommodations. Nice open big deck with well stocked bar. Elephants stroll within 50 yards. All meals were very good and served buffet style. Lots of options. Went here as part of a 2 week safari and it was definitely in the top 10% of places stayed.

Room Tip: Top rooms have excellent view of the water and animals.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the first lodge we visited in east africa.The moment we set foot in the lodge I was amazed by its cleanliness & beauty.The staff was very friendly. They served us with wet towels & welcome drinks. The rooms were spacious & clean. The toilet was modern. It looked like the lodge was newly renovated. The pool at the lodge was refreshing.The view from the balcony in the room was great. We saw herds of elephants passing by from the balcony.The food was very delicious with lots of varities. Altogether the two night stay at the lodge was excellent. We saw many rare animals in samburu like orix, reticulated giraffe, gravy's zebra, kudu, nile crocodiles etc. We also saw many elephants, cape buffellos, dikdiks, gazels, many varieties of birds like the mara bushstork, red beak hornbill & two leopards from up close. There is a resident nile crocodile & a resident hippo in the waterhole of the samburu simba lodge.The ambience, rooms, food, gift shop, hospitality, cleanliness, decoration& view from the lodge was incomparable. In one word the stay in samburu simba lodge was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonale19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we were simply blown away by the view from our room, looking across the small lake (with a Crocodile) we saw antelope giraffe and elephants, all in a vast open plain. and then the baboons came! rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly, the food was good. And the infinity pool is a great place to cool down while you watch animals roaming the plains as nature intended. I could have stayed there forever ;o)

Room Tip: rooms on the other side of the pool from the main bar restaurant area all face the best view in the world!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews