We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better”
Review of Sasaab Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samburu National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sasaab Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My wife and I have been fortunate to have stayed in some wonderful places in our lives and I can honestly say that Sasaab ranks near the top. From the facilities, to the location and service, everything about Sasaab is top notch and done with incredible eye for detail and style. Our hosts, Ali and Tony, were simply wonderful. Tony's passion for the wildlife surrounding the lodge was infectious while Ali's menus were always something to look forward to after a game drive.

During our stay, we enjoyed multiple game drives with Tony, David and our two wonderful spotters: Samuel and Onesmus (sp?). We encountered some truly fascinating wildlife -- some of which only exist in the Samburu region. We also mixed in some other activities such as drinks atop a nearby rocky outcrop at sunset and a visit to a local village.

Sasaab is a special place ... we will never forget it

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrudelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

Although in the middle of nowhere, this was a wonderful place and the best place to be if you love nature and wildlife! services provided was of high quality, foods and rooms are excellent! The location is just awesome, facing the Ewaso Nyiro river!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenialainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We dropped off some friends who had booked to stay at Sasaab and liked it so much we stayed the night. It is a beautiful place, with a very open design overlooking the river and plain below. We were very impressed to see Ralph Laurens compliments in the guest book; he had stayed with his family a couple of weeks earlier.

Ali and Tony run the place with a gentle and confident style. Tony grew up in Africa and they are both ex British Army.

Our room was down by the river: It was a huge open thatch structure with low walls around the bathroom. We loved the openness which gives a strong feeling of connection with the environment. It may not be for you if this would make you feel insecure.

The food they serve was the best we had in Africa, and the informality of the place meant that we enjoyed the company of the other guests.

Ali and Tony cultivate very good links with the local Samburu people. If you visit the local village with them they have made sure that you are not hustled, which can be a problem elsewhere. Apparently guests regularly choose to help in the school that they support.

The lodge is just outside the park so it is easy to go on walks from the hotel. We went out with Tony, who was an excellent guide, and a very handsome Samburu warrior dressed in his gear.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomwiseOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I'm a little puzzled why more people don't know about this magnificent lodge.

My wife and I stopped at Sasaab as the first section of our honeymoon to Kenya. We were picked up from the airstrip by our guides who were dressed beautifully in their traditional Samburu attire.

We were driven through the reserve on the way to the lodge, and saw so much on our first game drive. Lion, Elephant, Buffalo, Crocs, Giraffe etc etc.

When we arrived at the lodge, we were met by our always friendly, and chatty hosts Tony and Ali. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The lodge is beautifully appointed, with magnificent views over a river (which is dry at various times of the year). Our "tented" room (which is actually a permanent, thatched construction) was so luxurious and had it's own plunge pool.

The food was excellent and plentiful, with a good selection of house wines included.

Sasaab is not your average game lodge. It is located outside of the reserve, but don't be put off by this (which a number of travel agents tried to do) as this confers many wonderful benefits.

Firstly, the camp is not fenced, meaning animals can roam around the camp. This is perfectly safe, as any time after dark, you will be escorted by an "Askari". We found a family of warthogs grazing on our veranda one afternoon!

Secondly, you can do walking safaris - something that is not permitted within the reserve. We tracked a herd of 15 bull elephents one morning - this was a completely different experience from viewing the elephants from the comfort of a 4 x 4! Amazing. We also did a camel safari at sunset which was fantastic fun and truly romantic.

Thirdly, the drive into the reserve from the lodge was always fun. You drive past Samburu villages, and as soon as the children hear your 4 x 4coming, they sprint to the road to wave!

I can't recommend Sasaab enought as a safari destination. The food, drink, accomodation and hosting are all first class. You don't get the same density of game when compared with the Mara, but likewise, you don't get the same density of tourist. If we saw 2 other cars on a whole day of game driving, we'd consider it busy! At one point we were lucky enough to view 2 prides of lion within a few yards of them with no other jeeps around. I understand that is very rare in the Mara.

Finally, I'd recommend Sasaab as it contributes much to the local community. Staying at the lodge means that you will help to fund education and healthcare in the area and a visit to the local village is highly recommended - don't worry about being hassled for money etc, as the villagers know that they are supported by Sasaab and therefore they are appreciative of that.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequenttraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AriStid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTSC, Manager at Sasaab Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
24.9 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
367 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
490 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
313 reviews
12.1 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sasaab Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sasaab Lodge

Address: | Westgate, Samburu National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: $545 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sasaab Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Westgate Community Conservancy west of Samburu National Reserve, Sasaab is a nine room lodge with unparalleled views across the Ewaso Nyiro toward Mt Kenya. Each of the rooms is over one hundred metres squared in area, with a private plunge pool in which to cool off and enjoy views of the landscape and wildlife around the lodge. Enjoy the luxurious Spasaab. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sasaab Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Sasaab Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing