We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish Lodge and rubbish service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at Ashnil Samburu Lodge after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The only thing nice which I can say is the room was nice with a view. However, the service we received was very poor. Our waiter Daniel was good and the old bar man was great but besides that we did not get any good service. We did not feel welcome at all at the lodge.

The food was very poor and it seems like the chef's do not know much to prepare. Compared to other lodges we have stayed, it was totally disappointing to see the quality of Ashnil Samburu. I would not recommend anyone to stay at any of the Ashnil's lodges.

Further more, Ashnil Lodge is not located in Samburu national park but in Buffalo Springs. We were told by staff that as a marketing tool, they say it is in Samburu. To go to the Samburu game park, takes an hour or so to get there. That is a bigger park more animals spotted there.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Third visit , camp is beginning to feel its age but the warmth of the welcome and the great staff make up for it ( as does the location ). Food could be a wee bit more African and a lot less Indian .
Ahmed , the huge bull elephant who was a regular visitor has been lured away by another camp using sugar cane -- dastardly ! There are still other elephants who visit and there are also monkeys and a Hornbill who nests every year.All in all still a delightful ,tranquil camp well worth a visit ( or 2 or 3 ) !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay at Ashnil Samburu, part of a 4 stop safari arranged by JT Safaris of Mombasa.
Overall this was our favorite lodge. The friendly welcome and service could not have been better. The tent (sorry I still struggle to describe it as a tent) amazing, comfortable, well equipped, brilliant view overlooking the river with elephant coming down to drink and bathe. Where else can you lay in bed and look out at elephants bathing at the bottom of your garden?
Food wise the best we experienced anywhere and the best service too.
Samburu perhaps not quite our best Reserve but pretty close, in particular if you are wanting to see elephant. Some great game drives including lion and their cubs and leopard.
We loved the place, will return and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonRlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Ashnil is a very well run safari camp with spacious tents situated facing the river. You can watch numerous birds and indeed elephants right from your tent. The shower & flush toilet facilities mean you do not have to rough it, camping in comfort is the rule here. Food is mainly buffet style and we had many tasty treats.

As we flew in from Nairobi we had the benefit of the local driver guide Shukri, he is very knowledgeable and it was exciting following lion tracks through the scrub and finding a lioness with her 2 nearly grown daughters playing under the trees. The game is harder to see here than in the Mara conservancy we went to later, but in many ways the searching is just as exciting as the viewing. Especially when my husband was complemented for his good spotting!

The swimming pool is very welcome as this area can get hot and it gives you chance to relax in the daytime between drives.

If you can take the opportunity to have a walk with Johnson the Masai nature guide. He can show you details you can't easily see from a vehicle and he has a great sense of humour so you will laugh as you learn.

All in all we were very pleased with our choice of this camp.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkSpinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were here for two nights at Ashnil Samburu Camp. The tents are great with comfy firm beds and a great shower. We had single beds for the three of us.

The staff is very friendly and efficient. The food was good and fresh. The buffet had a good variety and even our picky eater of a 10 year old found enough to eat.

The elephants came right up to the camp fence and we had a good view of them from our room. We also took the nature walk with Johnson, a Massai. He took us outside the fence and showed us many things that you won't see on a game drive. It was well worth it.


Note: Power is supplied by a generator. If you use a CPAP machine or any other electrical medical device, let the reception know so that they don't turn off your electricity at night to your tent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The camp location is amazing. When we arrived we were offered 1 double bed and 1 single for us and our two daughters aged 7 and 8. The staff seemed surprised that we wanted two single beds (or at least another double for our children). Another bed was however provided but made the tent very cramped. The camp was clean and the pool was nice. Food was fair but plentiful, lots of fried potatoes, meat and sausages suited our fussy eaters. Charging for three dollars for water to drink with your meals seemed a complete rip-off when you have paid for 'all inclusive'.

Staffs were very friendly and eager to help, our guide was really nice and good with the kids. Lots of game around, and feeding Kenneth the friendly wild elephant with nuts over the fence was amazing.
The 'cultural visit' to a Masai camp was awful, it was more like a squatter camp. At one point they sat about 10 small kids under a tree and said it was the school and we need to give them money to educate the children. They gave a really hard sell for a handout at least five times. I would recommend avoiding this trip (we did another one a Mara, which was infinitely better).

Overall, aside from the cultural visit, a very positive experience with only some minor annoyances. I would recommend it, but probably only for two or three days max to avoid the little ones getting bored.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waramaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff members are great, and with Livingstone as a chef in the kitchen, you can never go wrong. Totally relaxed atmosphere at all hours, in the main area, as well as in the tents/bungalows. Waking up to seeing an elephant up close to the fence and blue bell monkeys everywhere. Would recommend it to everybody!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. They even have a small swimming pool, lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
3.2 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
377 reviews
13.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
499 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
27 reviews
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
355 reviews
11 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Samburu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Samburu Camp

Address: | Buffalo Springs Reserve, Samburu National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: $190 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Samburu Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashnil Samburu Camp sits in Buffalo Springs Game Reserve which takes its name from an oasis of crystal clear water at the Western end of the reserve. It is separated from samburu National Reserve by Ewaso Nyiro River and is less hilly and dense yet equallly very attractive. After a gruelling game drive you can take a dip in our pool which is a wonderful viewing deck of the Ewaso Nyiro River and laze around in the calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashnil Samburu Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Samburu Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Ashnil Samburu Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing